Raw Granola Bars and Loong Runs

I hope everyone’s Saturday is going swimmingly! I have a couple extra hours to myself today than I had planned, and it is fabulous.

I decided to go to the gym instead of run outdoors. After taking Niko for a quick warm up walk, I knew the heat and humidity would fight me, and I wasn’t feeling great anyway. So I trucked it to the gym, and to my surprise, I finished the entire 4.5 mile run!

Stats:
Pace: 9:30 (ish)
Time: 44:45
Distance: 4.5 miles
Cals burned: 521
Max HR: 185
Avg HR: 165

I was super proud that I finished, and am now looking forward to tomorrow being a rest day. when I left the gym, I had a few errands to run, so I stopped by the store to get some post workout coconut water and a Lara Bar.

I’ve never tried coconut water, but have heard it’s really good, and it’s an excellent substitute for a sports drink.
Well, excellent substitute it is. Check out these stats:
The taste was just mediocre at best, but after reading that, I didn’t really care. This might not be a staple for me, but it’s great for those hard workout days.

After getting home, I concocted a smoothie with a taste I didn’t really care of.
Into the pool went:

1/2 avocado
lime juice
a tbs greek yogurt
pineapple and some pineapple juice
ice

It just tasted kind of blah. I was hoping it would take on a tropical type of taste. It looked pretty, though!
Finally, I made something with a totally awesome taste! I was reading recipes from Oh She Glows, and found these Raw Granola Bars. They looked super easy, and I actually had all the ingredients! I’ve been baking a lot of healthy/low sugar sweet treats for my dad lately. He just got diabetes and it’s been a tough transition from an “I’ll eat anything if it’s fried or has a pound of sugar in it,” to a “no, I can’t eat white bread or fried foods” type of guy, but he’s done SO well. He’s also lost over 40 pounds. I’m so so proud of him. But I digress…

I switched up just a couple of things….

and started with the wet ingredients:
1/2 c raw honey
1/4 c grape seed oil
1/4 c of Dark Chocolate Dreams PB

and added it to the dry ingredients:
2 c rolled oats
1/4 c ground flax
1/4 c pumpkin seeds
1/4 c whole flax seeds
1/4 c unsweetened coconut

After the Kitchen Aide Mixer performed its magic….
I put them in an 8×8 dish, and stuck em in the freezer! They turned out delish.


I can’t wait to see what my dad thinks of them. (I’m going to see him in a couple hours)

I’m posting my butt boosting moves next post, I promise!

6 Responses

  1. It's so sweet of you to bake those for your dad! I've been meaning to check out that recipe, but didn't have hemp seeds on hand, so maybe I'll try your version 🙂

    The smoothie does look lovely, but sorry it didn't taste too good. I find that a banana makes any smoothie good!

  2. wow that is one great run girlie!
    Im sure your dad appreciated you baking for him.

  3. I tried that coconut water a week or so ago and really did NOT like the taste. However, I totally agree that the nutrition is exceptional! Definitely a good substitute for a sports drink!

    OMG, I seriously JUST made the On the Glo bars from Angela for my dad last week. Haha, I know he loved them (and I did too!). 🙂

    xxoo
    Heather

  4. Those raw granola bars look amazing! I'm sure your Dad will love them. I'm so jealous you have a Kitchen Aide mixer. I've wanted one since high school foods class!

  5. healthhappiness – that's so funny! My dad ended up liking them, too! I gave him one, then saw him back in the fridge getting another! haha.

    Christina, I love the mixer – it's great for making pizza dough!

    Hearts – Thanks for the tip – I'll try it with a banana next time.

  6. […] Add in one long run. On the weekends, usually Sundays, I’d begin to run one long run each week. I followed the 10% rule. I’d only add 10% of the distance I previously ran, starting with 3 miles. So my very first “long run” was 3.3 miles! In this post, I considered my loong run (with two o’s!) 4.5 miles. […]

Leave a Reply

