Fight the Flattening!

I love, love, love, to run. It’s become my favorite form of cardio, hands down. I also love what running does to my legs – hello shorts season! The only thing I don’t really like about running, is what’s been doing to my back side. Basically, flattening it.

To counter balance the deflation of the bootay, I do 5 main lower body strength training moves. For all of them except for the lunges, I use 15 pound dumbbells, and I do 2 sets of 10 – very slowly. I find going with heavier weights and slower reps, really gets the results I’m looking for in this specific workout.

Oh, and please pay little attention to my looks – this is me on little sleep and little make up!! πŸ˜€

Dead lifts – make sure to keep a flat back and keep your knees slightly bent. It seems I really have to put my mind in the muscle that I want to work while doing dead lifts, because they can also work to tone the hamstrings if focusing on those muscles.
I love these, because they seem so easy while doing them, but then the next day I really feel it!

Dynamic lunges – step forward and lunge with right leg, step back and lunge with right leg – this is one rep. I do 2 sets of 20 on each leg.

Bowlers lunge – This is from Chalean Extreme. These really work the outter glute. Take one leg, and sweep it behind the other like a bowler’s stance, and lunge. Pay extra attention to your knee, and make sure it doesn’t go over your toes.

Standard squat – just make sure to stick your butt way out and don’t let the knees come close to those toes!
One-legged squat – this is probably my favorite. Just stand in your standard squat position, and lift one heel off the ground to really work the other leg. Focus on that leg, trying not to put hardly any weight on the other leg at all. I also frame the leg I’m working with my weights – it’s just more comfortable to me, but YMMV.

Sometimes I’ll just do 2 or 3 of these exercises, mixed in with some other lower body exercises that work different muscles like the quads or inner thighs, but if I’m really wanting a butt-boosting work out, I’ll stick to these five.

I hope you try and enjoy!

What are your favorite lower body workouts?

8 Responses

  1. AWESOME workout ideas! I love getting new exercises to try out, especially ones that will work the lower body with weights for some arm strengthening.

    I love doing donkey kicks for my thighs and bottom. Such an awesome toner!

    xxoo
    Heather

  2. Donkey kicks are great too! I have to remember to do them more. Hey, do you mind if I add you to my blog roll? I frequent your blog and figured I'd ask:-)

  3. Oh, thanks for the tips and pictorial on how-to! I actually really detest strength-training, but I think it's because I just simply didn't know the right way to do it. I would like to try it again soon, though, once I'm stronger. πŸ™‚

  4. This is awesome!!! Thank you for putting that together – I am definitely going to do it this week!!!

    Deadlifts are definitely my FAV lower body exercise! They are killer!!!!

    How tall are you, if you don't mind me asking? You are so gorgeous!

  5. Mandy, I'm 5'10…pretty up there! Haha
    and thanks so much for the compliment; you're so sweet.

    Burp, I know what ya mean. Sometimes I find doing strength training DVDs helps motivate me. I loved Chalean Extreme.

  6. you're welcome! It's the truth!

    Yeah, i'm quite the shorty… I try to get away with saying I'm 5'4… but I'm probably more around 5'3ish πŸ˜‰

    Did you do the whole Chalean Extreme series? I got it… and did the Burn Phase… but honestly had the "dread" factor with them… I went on vacation after finishing Burn… and when we came back, I couldn't get myself to start Push! I don't know why I didn't click with it… what kind of results did you get with it?

  7. Push was soo much better than burn IMO. You should really give the push phase a try

  8. […] I was already a couple months into running when I kicked up my lower body strength training to fight the flatness. This race season I’m kicking it into high gear! I looove running, but I don’t want it to take […]

Leave a Reply

