Quinoa Challenge


Hi there! Sorry it’s been such a long time in between posts…tonight’s been quite the night…

Anywho, I hope everyone had a great Tuesday! Mine was great – I managed to keep my mood upbeat and positive all day long. For some reason, that started to change after work. A couple things didn’t go as planned, and all the sudden, I’m in a foul mood, snapping at my mom when she called, and then my husband. Yikes :-/ …but I digress…

Before I begin rambling about my day, I just want to say thanks so much for the well wishes for me to feel better from everyone. That was really sweet and made my day 😀 Unfortunately though, I do think I’m feeling the beginning signs of a cold. Crap! Well, I guess I haven’t had one really all year, so I should count my blessings.

Eats:

My green monster I had around 6 this morning held me off for a good few hours before the tummy started rumbling again. I decided to have a bow of strawberries before lunch to calm the beast.

It worked 😀

Lunch was with Shane, at the cafeteria. I had my usual crazy big salad with spinach, broccoli, egg, chickpeas, sunflower seeds, tomato, and olive oil and balsamic vinegar dressing. It was fantastico!
That held me over for a few hours, when I decided to have some fage + Kashi Heart to Heart.

It was a good combination, but it could have really used some honey!

As I mentioned before in my morning post, I was going to try out a new recipe tonight for din. It didn’t really go as planned…too much quinoa, not enough shrimp, DH didn’t like half the ingredients in it, and so on. But, it looked pretty and I liked it! 🙂

I thought it was pretty good! Shane said it was edible. Meh, ya win some ya lose some, right? Oh wellll…
I was planning on following the quinoa dish with some yummy banana ice cream 😛 However, after the night I made for myself, er I mean, had, I needed something a little stronger.

A glass of red (as I’m writing this post!) sounded much better. It’s really going to take some time to get used to this new schedule of working out at night. It throws everything off, and I need to learn that that’s OK.

Even though I think I’m coming down with a cold, I think it’s going to be a head cold, so I stuck it out and did some cardio at the gym. In my personal opinion, I think it’s OK to workout if one’s sickness is above their chest. Anything chest or below, should require a rest day or a very light workout day. Don’t worry though, after using the machines I sanitized the heck out of em!

Stats:
Treadmill:
5 minute warm up and cool down, then…
3 miles @..
9:40 pace
– I’m not sure of my cals, because I forgot my HRM

Then I did the stair climber for 15 minutes and called it a day. Tomorrow’s a strength training day. I’m excited because I’m going to be trying some of the new machines at my gym 😀

Oh, and after working out, I downed some Emergen-C to try and ward off this cold.
I’ve never had it before, and was pleasantly surprised at the taste! I also thought it was cool that it replenished electrolytes after a sweat session. Double bonus!

How do you decide if it’s OK to work out when coming down with a bug?

3 Responses

  1. I usually do lighter workouts when I have a cold and I don't workout at all if I have a fever, nausea, or body pain! It all depends on how I'm feeling.

  2. wow your lunch salad looks really good!
    I usually just do weights if I am sick.

  3. Working out is definitely great for your immune system, but intense workouts can actually weaken your body's natural defenses. If I have a bit of a cold, I might just do some hill walking on a treadmill, the elliptical, or a lighter 3-mile jog. No intense speed workouts or anything. And I would never work out if I had a fever, nausea, dizziness, or body aches.

    Oh! And definitely make sure to take a few rest days during the week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

