A Little Liftin’ Lovin’

Good morning! We made it past the hump! Almost TGIF 😀

I ended the hump day with a nice, creamy, delicious bowl of….you guessed it! BANANA ICE CREAM! This attempt was so much more successful than the last. I didn’t add any orange blossom honey – and used plenty of bananas. I did, however, top it with a delectable raw chocolate sauce. Holy yum, this tastes like the real deal 😉

Then, I said, what the heck, might as well add some Mighty Maple Peanut Butter to the mix. I mean, why the heck not?!

Ugh, it was the PERFECT combination. I wanted MOAR!!!

It was so funny though, because Shane and I always watch Good Eats or Triple D in bed, and on Good Eats, Alton was showing us how to make banana ice cream! Cool huh? 😀 However, his version included cream and light corn starch. Not raw, and definitely not as healthy 😉 I’d definitely still give it a try though.

Going with this week’s trend, I whipped up a green monster, which was darker than most of them I’ve been making lately.

I think it was the strawberries and chocolate protein powder that made it darker in color. I also used half swiss chard, half spinach, so the chard might have darkened it up a wee bit. Either way – it was yumtopia.

So about that strength training plan I was talking about last night. Well, I gotta say, workout number 1 sure did its job because man am I sore! -particularly my chest.

Hubski is a lifting fiend, so he helped me devise a plan. According to him, it’s a good idea to do “groups of muscles” on the same day. Let me explain…

Strength training day #1

  • Triceps
  • Chest
  • Shoulders

Do you know why these are grouped together? (Or am I the only one who hasn’t heard of this phenomenon??) It’s because they are the “push muscles.” If you think about it, if you’d be pushing something, you’d be using mostly your shoulders, chest, and triceps muscles.

I did this set of muscles last night on their own (no additional cardio besides the warm-up/cool down) because there’s three different areas involved, and I knew it’d take some time.

Strength Training Day #2

  • Biceps
  • Back

These are the “pull muscles.” I was planning on doing this workout tonight before my four mile run, since there’s only 2 areas involved. But actually now my parents are coming to visit tonight! So this entire workout is being pushed to tomorrow, making today my rest day. But I digress..

Strength Training Day # 3

  • Legs
  • Glutes
  • Abs

I know abs are kind of random in here, but this is where I chose to put them. I really, really need to work on my abs. I genetically have a flat stomach, but that doesn’t mean I don’t need to build stronger muscles in this area. I need to get that through my head!

So, you’ll be hearing a lot more about strength training from this lil’ lady! I have to admit, though, what spurred my interest in strength training all of the sudden, is that I’ve been hearing more and more about how important strength training is for being a good (and non-injured!) runner. I’d been doing strength training, but not as routinely as I should have been. I’d do Body Pump twice a week, and then maybe I’d get in one iron pumping session on my own. Maybe.

How do you split up your strength training so it works for you??

9 Responses

  1. I always do abs with legs and glutes too because I'm least concerned with leg strength training so I can spend more time on abs on those days. I could be totally wrong but I feel like I get a lot of leg muscles from my cardio workouts!

  2. Love your fitness blog- I have to try that shake & ice cream
    http://kellyannstudio.blogspot.com/

  3. your ice cream combo sounds great! i have got to find some mighty maple.

  4. Oh my gosh – that banana ice cream looks amazing! I would've wanted "moar" too! 😉

    So funny about Good Eats!

  5. I did split work outs for quite awhile about a year ago. I actually liked it a lot! I would do the weights first and then would add on some cardio about four times a week. I actually had pretty good results from it!

  6. heck yes for adding mighty maple! It just makes everything taste better 🙂 have a lovely thursday!

  7. Your ice cream looks amazing!! I prefer to do ST like that! If I could choose i'd do chest/triceps/shoulders one day, then back/biceps another, then legs/abs another – but lately i've been cramming all upper body into one day and doing legs/abs the other day – eek!

  8. The ice cream looks awesome!

    The workout program I'm using is a DVD program that uses heavy weights with less reps. MWF are the weigh segments. Legs every day, then one day bi tri, one day chest back, one day the shoulder area. The other 2 days of the week are like HIIT. Then I have 2 days off. I love it!!

  9. FitFoodie, That sounds great! Can I ask which DVD it is? I love heavy weights/less reps and HIIT.

Leave a Reply

