A Green Monster for a Green Monster

As usual this week, after I got ready for work this morning, I blended up a GM. Today’s was pretty awesome. It contained:

2.5 c spinach
a pear
a peach
a carrot
1/2 frozen banana
1 tbs of ground flax
1/2 c of unsweetened vanilla almond milk
5 ice cubes

It was up there with the best I’ve made:

I was dishing out more silliness than usual this morning, and before I made it, I mentioned to Shane that I could be a Green Monster myself, (I’m sportin’ all sorts of green today!) and did my best “Green Monster pose.” LOL- Shane said, “You should put that on your blog.” I think he was joking, but I took him up on his challenge: a Green Monster for a Green Monster?

LOL wow…I wonder about myself at 6:00 in the morning! After he took the pic, he goes “Aww you look cute..I mean, scary! You look scary!!” hahaha

Ok, back to to business. Then I had to leave to go to that place called my job, and be serious until about 11:00. Around 9:00 my tummy started to rumble, so I had my breakfast cookie I made last night. It was SO good. My “mix-in” was a wee bit of agave plus slivered almonds. Yum-topia.

Since yesterday was my rest day (my abs are awfully sore for an off day, though! :-P) I came straight home and headed outside for a four mile run. I could not believe I was going for a run at noon in July in Central Illinois. It was only 70 degrees outside, and aside from being pretty windy, it was perfect weather for a run. Of course, before my run, I had to do a quick warm-up walk with the Nikomeister:

The run was a success! I paced out at a little under 10:00, but I think the wind slowed me down some. The last leg of the “square” I run, the wind was blowing directly towards me.

Shane was home cleaning while I was out! He did all the “back-burner chores,” as I like to call them like cleaning out our junk drawers, pots and pans cabinets, storage room, etc… He did a fantastic job!!

I rewarded him with a little ABJ love (he grabbed it before I could take a picture! – cleaning makes him hungry I guess!) And for myself, I had a salad with: tuna, hummus, chickpeas. lemon juice, spinach, cucumbers, goat cheese, and balsamic vinegar. It filled me right up!

In other exciting news, Health, Happiness, Hope is having an awesome giveaway going on until tomorrow – well if you like nut butters and bars, that is πŸ˜‰

Now it’s off to run a few errands before coming home to chill. Tonight was supposed to be movie night with the girls, but now I think we’re having a cookout tomorrow night instead – where hubskis are allowed. Actually, it might end up a night in. Shane’s been trying really hard to get me to try Indian food, and tonight might be the night I’m no longer an Indian Food Virgin. Although – I have no idea what to get.

For those Indian Food eaters: What’s a yummy but healthy choice? Any suggestions are very much appreciated!!

I hope everyone’s having a fabulous Friday so far!

9 Responses

  1. haha Love the green monster pic!
    I've never had Indian food either, I've been wanting to try some! Let us know what whatu think.

  2. I'm basically an Indian food virgin too besides a boxed mix I've tried once. Can't wait to see what you end up getting!

  3. hehe love your green monster squared ppic! Hilarious!! Fitnessista goes for Indian a lot – check out her blog and see what she chooses! (i've never been!!!)

  4. I've had chicken vindaloo and chicken makhani before. Delicious, but probably not the most healthy options!

  5. Good idea, fittingbackin!

  6. Niki, Thank you for the recommendations!!

  7. Hey! I'm glad you found my blog!

    Love the green monster pic…you are adorable! Oh, I mean scary. πŸ˜‰

  8. What an awesome green smoothie!!! Loving the neat additions. I'm definitely going to have to try a carrot in mine sometime.

    Thanks for the shout out hun!

    xxoo
    Heather

  9. Hii! I think I might try your recipe when I make my first home made green monster! Now I know what to do with all the extra bananas we seem to have at the end of a week πŸ™‚

    Totally late on the indian food post since you already went, but usually tandoori anything is your best bet since it's typically baked in a tandoori oven and not doused in sauces like other dishes.

    My old roommate's mom used to make this crazy good potato dish omg. I neeed to find the recipe. It was pretty mild tasting, but delish! Love indian food…also, since there are a lot of lentils and chickpeas you get full pretty quickly on a small amount of food that's packed with flavor!

Leave a Reply

