Saturday Mischief

Saturdays are the best. I’ve gotten so much done today, and it’s only half over! Plus, I got in some good eats.

I intended on waking up and going straight to the gym, but the lazy side of me wanted to make oat pancakes instead. The latter won me over 😛

There’s a lot of oat pancake recipes floating around the blogosphere right now, but I got this one from Oh She Glows

They were super simple to make, and turned out wonderful. I had mine with some Mighty Maple Peanut Butter and some pure maple syrup.

Of course, I enjoyed my breakfast with a cup of joe.

MMmmm. Next time I’ll be brave enough to be a little more creative and add in some mix-ins.

After inhaling breakfast, I met up with my friend, Carmody at the Farmer’s Market. I swear it seemed even bigger this week than the last time we went. I think the cooler weather brought out double the amount of people, too.

There was TONS of cool produce that I had no clue even existed. Like Squash Blossoms?

Apparently they are edible flowers that can either make prettiful garnishes or be stuffed with cheese and fried up, as they are quite bland alone.

Another one was lilac peppers. I thought these were SO pretty in color.


I was completely out of honey at home, so I got super excited to see this booth:


I ended up getting the second from the left. And yes, the only reason why is because it was shaped like a cute little bear! 😛

In addition to food, the Farmer’s Market also has on display all kinds of art work from hand-made purses to glass blown jewelry. Today one of the vendors was actually blowing the glass here at the market.


It was really cool to watch him melt and mold the glass in such awesome jewelry.

Leaving with 3 bags full of goods, I ended up spending more than intended – as usual!

Once I got the goods home and put away, it was gym time. Today I took it pretty easy:

  • 10 minute warm up walk on the treadmill at 6.5% incline
  • Weights – which included the Pull Muscles: Bicep curls, modified bicep curls, lateral pull down, straight arm lateral pull down, row, and reverse crunches on a stability ball
  • 10 minute cool down walk on the treadmill at 6.5% incline

I left feeling like I had a good workout, but not wore out. However, I was starving again. Lunch was BBQ! I went out to eat at my favorite BBQ place here in town, Bandana’s. As usual, I ordered the pork plate. For sides I got green beans and a baked potato. It also comes with garlic bread, of which I had a couple bites.


As you can see, the pork on my plate is naked. But don’t worry, I didn’t let it stay that way! I gave it an assortment of sauce 😛

And had an Iced Tea to wash it all down.


Now it’s time for a little relaxing before beginning part two of Saturday. Tonight, my good friend Kim and her BF and coming over to play. I’m sure we’ll be up to no good! 😛 They’re from out of town, so they will probably end up staying over night here. If so, this will probably be my last post of the day, so I hope you have a great part two to your Saturday, too!

9 Responses

  1. Thank you for commenting on my blog!!! I am happy you found it. I really like your blog too and will be adding it to my daily reads.

    AND I also like that you got an assortment of sauces for your BBQ. 🙂 Heck YES maam!

  2. What a great farmers market! It's like 10 times the size of the one I went to today. I'm very intrigued by those squash blossoms – I wanna try them!

    Have fun tonight!

  3. love that you added mighty maple to your pancakes! yumm!!

  4. Hi! Just stumbled across your blog from Val's (I think…I lost track w/all my blog hopping this evening haha) and that BBQ pork looks delicious! It's my weakness hehe. Looking forward to reading more!

  5. I love your blog! Your eats look delish. I also love finding random produce at the farmer's market that I never heard of. I'll be stopping back 🙂

  6. Sounds like a fun Farmer's Market. It looks quite amazing!

    And I love your plates!! So cute!!

  7. Your Farmers Market totally puts mine to shame… I'm so jealous! I checked out the pancake recipe and it looked delish. I think I know what I'm having for breakfast tomorrow!

  8. That looks like such a great Saturday! 🙂

    I've only ever tried Kath's pancakes before, but now I want to try Ange's as well!

    Love the black canisters…I'm totally envying them 😉

  9. What an awesome Farmer's Market!! I've never actually seen squash blossoms before. Sounds like you got a good haul! 🙂

    xxoo
    Heather

Leave a Reply

