A Mood Funk

Oh what a night last night was! Part two of Saturday…didn’t go as planned I guess you could say. There was definitely mischief, but I just wasn’t feeling it. I was kinda in a funky mood.

BF Kim and her boy ended up coming over around 8:00 p.m. I wasn’t sure if they had eaten already, so I whipped up a couple snackie foods they could munch on a little.

Just some guac and a cheese ball topped with sweet jalepeno jam.

They loved it! However, they hadn’t eaten dinner, so we ordered a pizza anyway (which was consumed in its entirety by the night’s end :-o)

They are pretty big partiers, so the drinking began stat. At this time, I was still planning on going for a long run today (5 miles) so I took it easy. I had a beer and a vodka gimlet. Then we decided to take our little shindig public and hit up a couple bars.

The first bar was a lot of fun, where we played some darts and I had a gin and tonic. Kim and I got a double bulls eye!


After several games, everyone wanted to dance it up a little bit, so we hit up the next bar to cut a rug. This is where I wasn’t feeling it. I was the most sober of the gang, and just wasn’t into it for some reason. I should have just gotten over it, because it’s not too often that I get to go out with my girl, Kim. Alas, I just couldn’t shake my funky mood. We headed home not too much later, where the leftover aforementioned pizza was devoured. Kim’s boyfriend fried it up on the stove for us! I’ve never thought about heating it up that way. It was much quicker than cooking it the oven, and tasted awesome!

Shortly after pizza consumption, we all called it a night. This morning before they headed back home, we hit up a new-ish diner in town, Wild Berries, for a little breakfast. I had the garden omelet with a side of toast and fresh fruit. It was just what I needed.

And, you guessed it, a cup of joe!

The food was great, but the service was crap. Not only did we wait forever for our food, but when it came out, Kim’s grilled chicken salad was missing its chicken, and Shane’s pancakes came out syrup-less. Oh well – they were super packed and make mistakes like the rest of us.

Needless to say, my 5 mile run didn’t happen today. Oh well – not the end of the world! I’ll just hop on the treadmill after work tomorrow. So far Sundays aren’t working out so well to be my “long run days” LOL. I might end up doing a little elliptical and some legs later, since I don’t feel too bad.

Now I’m about to grab Niko and take her for a walk. The weather today is too great too miss!

I hope everyone had a good Saturday night!

-Paige

6 Responses

  1. Hi Paige! Thank you for visiting my blog 🙂 I'm a 24-yr old newlywed as well, but I haven't round my first REAL big-girl job yet 😉
    Nothing like chips and guac to chase away a funky mood!

  2. Thanks for the comment! The PB&Co flavor you mentioned is a little odd in that its kinda..grainy? It crunches a little, like it were sugar or maybe it's the cinnamon.. it's hard to tell. I imagine the Mighty Maple was better but it's still absolutely delish!

    That garden omelet looks so good. Enjoy your Sunday! 🙂

  3. Glad you're feeling more yourself today! I think we all have those days where we're just not feeling right. Enjoy your walk and the beautiful weather!

    xxoo
    Heather

  4. Thanks for the nice comments! You guys are such mood-lifters 🙂

  5. I didn't get in my 4-mile walk today either and have been in a funk since last night! Weird!! I finally dragged my lazy butt out of the house for Harry Potter but i'm just not feeling it today – I hate funky moods!! (btw – reheating pizza on the stove is brilliant – will def do that next time I drunk eat!)

  6. ah, darn, sorry about the less than stellar day. But that sweet jalepeno jam sounds delish!
    And I hope you had a much better and cheerier day today!

Leave a Reply

