Creamy Quinoa Surprise!

Good morning! So I decided to give Quinoa another chance. Sure, it was mediocre the first time I made it, but I was a quinoa virgin back then!

Tonight’s recipe was from a Betty Crocker cookbook I have (of course, with my own tweaks!) The dish is called Creamy Quinoa Primavera:

Ingredients:
  • 1 cup of uncooked quinoa
  • 2 cups of chicken broth
  • 1 carrot, 5 asparagus stalks, one tomato
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 2 tbs butter
  • 3 oz of cream cheese and goat cheese (or any other soft cheese)
  • 1 tsp basil
  • shredded parmesan cheese

Recipe:
  • Boil 2 cups of chicken broth with 1 cup of quinoa

  • Once boiling, cover, and turn down the heat. Let simmer for 15-20 minutes (or until broth has evaporated)
  • While simmering, chop up veggies

  • Eat a carrot with some hummus (totally optional ;-))

  • At about 5-7 minutes until simmering time is almost done, melt butter in a nonstick pan at medium heat; brown garlic
  • Put chopped up veggies in the pan, and cook for 2-4 minutes

  • While veggies are cooking, stir in the cheese and basil into the quinoa mix

  • Pour the quinoa mix into the nonstick pan with the veggies and garlic; dump on sprinkle with paresan cheese:



  • Serve alone

  • or with crackers!


Voila! Creamy Quinoa Primavera.

Now…drumroll pleeeease….THE VERDICT!

I’m very saddened to tell you it was, yet again, mediocre. I don’t know if I’m just not making it right, or if you have to have a certain taste to like quinoa, but I just thought it was kind of meh. Needless to say, there won’t be an attempt #3 – at least not with me as the chef.

It’s OK though, because I had two On the Glo bars for dessert 😀

What do you think? Was there a step I was missing? Or is quinoa just not for everyone??

On a better note, I’m so excited to go up to Chicago this weekend with my girl, Kim to see our girl, Destiny! We’re pretty much a trio, and haven’t all played together in a long time 😀 I wonder what shananigans we can get into this weekend 😉

8 Responses

  1. Well, at least it looked pretty! Those On the Glo bars look great, too, I might have to give those a try! Have a great time in Chicago!

  2. Aw, I'm sad you didn't like quinoa 😦 Did you rinse it first? I think I read somewhere that it takes away some of the bitterness.

  3. I've never tried quinoa! I wonder if I'll like it…

  4. Aw… I'm sorry you didn't like it! I love quinoa… there is a site, http://www.danispies.com... she uses quinoa for quite a few things… if you do decide attempt #3, maybe start there?

    Have fun this weekend!!!! I love girls weekends… haven't had one of those in a LONG time!

  5. Yes, you must rinse it first! This is a crucial step to take away the bitterness. Now there's a chance you still may not like it, but I would definitely try rinsing!

  6. Christina and Eve, I rinsed it a little, but not thoroughly! Maybe that would help. Thanks!

  7. holy smokes that quinoa sounds delicious!! sorry to hear it was kind of a miss though :\

  8. Last time I cooked it (last weekend) I found I needed to cook it for longer, more like 40 – 45 minutes before it lost the "crunch" and was soft and creamy. Looks nice though with the vegies!

Leave a Reply

