Personal Distance Record, Baby!

This morning I ran the farthest I’ve ever run in my entire life. My goal was 6.5 miles, and I was determined.

To fuel myself before the run, I had a banana dog with almond butter.


And since I don’t have a Garmin or any accessory for measuring distance while I run, I jumped in my car and drove the distance to find my 6.5 mile route. Since it was a bit chilly, I wore my new Lululemon Jacket!

It’s so pretty! I love, love, love it.

After my distance-measuring trip, I strapped on the iPod and headed out. The first mile was the hardest. I looked down and saw that I was almost at 11 minutes for my first mile!! I knew I had to kick up the speed, so I made sure my next mile, and all the subsequent miles were under 10 minutes. At about half way point, I noticed that one direction took me on said-planned route, but the other route went right through my old campus (ISU)! I was feeling pretty good, so I took a trip down memory lane.

Highlights:

  • I saw Fell Hall, the building I spent my first two years at day in and day out pretty much. As a broadcast journalism major, I spent many early mornings and late nights in the basement of this building, producing newscasts. So many great memories.
  • I also saw my old dorm hall, Dunn-Barton or what used to be, and which has since been torn down. It was so old haha.
  • Then I ran by the ISU baseball field and got a glimpse an ISU boys baseball practice šŸ˜‰

That added a wee bit over a half mile to my run I would guess. After getting back on track, I felt great throughout the rest of my run. I ended up completing the seven mile run in:

  • 1 hour, 2 minutes and 40 seconds
  • Burned 750 calories
  • Max HR=180
  • Avg HR=165

I couldn’t believe it. It was like nothing could stop me!! When I finally got home, Shane took one look at me and knew I needed fuel LOL. so he started cooking up breakfast. In 10 minutes I was devouring:

Eggs; he burnt them a wee bit (which was fine, they were still wondeful!)

And two pieces of toast – one with preserves and one with nutbutter.


and washed it all down with some sweet nector of the gods…

My metabolism must have been still on high, because not too much longer I was hungry again, and fed the beast with some fage, blueberries, and Kashi.


I love this combination! ā¤

It was a glorious feast. But then… I hit a wall. Hard. I was exhuasted. I felt like crap and just lay on the couch for a good hour. I believe this was partly because I didn’t drink enough water yesterday at Six Flags. The other reason being this is the most I’ve ever physically exerted myself (except while playing volleyball probably.)

I’m not sure if I pushed myself too hard or not during the run, but I know I’m super proud of myself. I also know tomorrow will definitely be an easy re-coup day, heh. In the future, I might not go for runs longer than 6 miles. It’s not like I’m training for a marathon. The only races I have coming up are my 5k this Saturday (whoop whoop!) and my 10k in September. Why risk it, right?

Do you think doing long runs (more than 6 miles) should be limited unless training to run for a distance that long? I guess there’s always a chance I could decide to run in a half-marathon later this year or early next year, but I wonder if I should finish these short-distanced runs before I even start to think about training for a marathon. What are your thoughts?

4 Responses

  1. Congrats on the 7 miles!!

  2. 7 miles is great! you should be proud. I need to get ready for a 8.5 mile mini run (the apple hill harvest run – cute name right?) in november. i think the farthest i have gone is 6 miles, so ya got me beat :p

    that yogurt bowl looks awesome! i have never tried fage before! i cant seem to find it anywhere around where i live. i did find oikos though, and it is heavenly.

  3. Congrats on the run… that's amazing! And that jacket is just adorable. What an awesome find!

    Hmm, I think you really have to listen to your body on that one. If you can go the distance without exerting yourself, I'd say go for it as long as you fuel up properly before and after. However, if you know you've been pushing yourself lately and your body is telling you it needs a rest, there's no reason to go those extra miles. Obviously, you don't need to start training for a marathon until you KNOW you're going to be in one. I'd say do the random longer run just to keep up your endurance, but do what's comfortable for your body!

    xxoo
    Heather

  4. Congrats on the PDR! Personally, I think it's great to have a strong running base just in case you randomly decide you want to run a race šŸ˜‰ I figure as long as your body is cool with it and you're not doing excessive long runs…and you're gradually increasing your weekly mileage, then it's fine!

Leave a Reply

