Is my Quinoa Clean..wah?

You know how I’ve written off quinoa?

Well I read an interesting article on the proper way to cook quinoa. Some of you let me know on your comments that it needs to be washed thoroughly in order to get rid of the bitter taste. I really think this is a major reason why it just didn’t taste good to me. I don’t think I’ll be able to convince the hubsky to give it another try, but I might just brave it out one more time.

Hey, it’s only been two strikes, right?

According an article I read in Clean Eating Magazine, washing the quinoa is key to eliminating that bitter taste. Here’s what it says:

“The bitter coating on the surface of quinoa is called saponon.
Washing or soaking the seeds before using them can easily remove saponin. Simply
place the dry, uncooked seeds in a fine mesh sieve and rinse well under cold
running water. The presence of saponin will cause soapy bubbles to appear at
first, but keep rinsing and soon the bubbles will disappear as the saponin
coating is washed away. Then cook as directed.”


Ah-ha!
So quinoa- sans-saponin – will supposedly be much better tasting than quinoa with the saponin attached. It also says you can try and toast the quinoa first for a nuttier taste. I’ll try this method, but if it doesn’t taste good this time, I’m done!

I also didn’t know that quinoa isn’t a grain, but a seed; a Chenpodium or goose-plant seed to eb exact. This seed packs more protein that any grain. And the protein in complete protein. There are all 20 amino acids in quinoa, and it packs in the calcium, vitamin, B, E, and iron! Ok, these seeds are gaining back some of their credit in my eyes.

I think one night when Shane is busy, I’ll give it another try. Have any of you tried a recipe for quinoa that you love and want to share?
Sorry for the short post. I have a super short lunch break today. I’ll post again when work is done for the day 😀

One more last, but exciting, note! Today is my blog’s one month blogversary! I can’t believe it’s already been one month and 66 posts since I started blogging. Time flies. To celebrate, I’m soon going to have a giveaway. It will probably be a 75th post giveaway, but we’ll see. It’s going to be an exciting new product giveaway too!

I hope everyone’s having a terrific Tuesday!!

11 Responses

  1. I'm glad you are open to trying it again! Rising is important! This recipe is AMAZING: http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=1545726

  2. Washing of the quinoa DEFINITELY helps. I used to hate it until I rinsed it…now, I think it's pretty good! Not gonna say it's the best thing I've ever had, but I definitely enjoy it.

  3. Happy blogiversary!

  4. Thanks for the recipe, Eve. Looks good!

  5. Aww, happy blogiversary! Exciting times!

  6. Good luck with testing out quinoa again – it's my favorite grain! I also cook it in veg broth to make it a little more flavorful.

  7. Aww, I heart quinoa! Your post totally inspired me for this week's BSI – I'm going to make a quinoa dish w/lime later on this week! You'll have to check it out 🙂

  8. Will do, Karena!

  9. Happy (belated) blogiversary!!

    I've never rinsed it but I LOVE it – I cook it with chicken stock – here's a recipe I love:

    http://fittingbackin.blogspot.com/2009/07/day-312-new-recipe-new-dresses-awesome.html

  10. I tried this recipes from 101 cookbooks, delish (and I'm having it today for lunch, yum!)http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/quinoa-and-grilled-zucchini-recipe.html

  11. Thanks so much for visiting my blog!

    I just had to comment and say how much I *love* Clean Eating Magazine! I seriously have every issue since and often go back to them when I need a new recipe or just general motivation to continue eating healthy food.

Leave a Reply

