New Recipe Success!

After a few attempts at new recipes, and getting less than rave reviews, I was beginning to become discouraged, Was I just not meant to cook in the kitchen? Did I just not have that knack? One thing was for sure, I was far from giving up.

So last night I tried my saving grace: Salmon Corn Chowder with a side of Corn Bread!

This recipe was derived from a recipe in Clean Eating Magazine, but I cut it in half, and made a few changes.

Ingredients
Chowder:

  • 1 Russet potato, peeled
  • 1 carrot, peeled
  • cooking spray
  • 1 stalk of celery
  • 1/2 white onion, diced
  • 1 tsp EVOO
  • 2 tsp whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 c. skim milk
  • 16 oz of chicken broth
  • 1 6 oz can of salmon packed in water
  • 1 cup of corn
  • 1 tsp of paprika
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 tsp of minced dill

Put carrot and potato in a medium sauce pan and let boil for 8 minutes


Drain water and let cool under running cold water for 5 minutes, then dice.

Meanwhile, preheat a large stock pot over medium heat and add some cooking spray. Then add onion and celery and saute for a couple minutes.

Then whisk in oil and flour. Add in milk 1/4 cup at a time. Then add the broth and let it cook for about 5 minutes.


Next, add in the salmon, potatoes, carrots, corn, paprika, salt and pepper, and cumin. Reduce heat and let cook for 10 minutes.

Voila!


Ingredients

Corn Bread

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup stone-ground cornmeal
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • cooking spray

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

In a medium bowk, whisk flour, cornmeal, baking powder. Then whisk in the egg, paprika, honey, and milk. Spray an 8 inch baking pan with spray, and bake for 20 minutes.

And there you have it! Last night’s dinner success! Shane couldn’t believe how good either was. I couldn’t believe how good the chowder was. I’m a huge corn bread lover, and prefer the unhealthy kind (heh) but this is a wonderful alternative for cooking at home.

I followed the meal with this bad boy.


Sinful is the only way I know how to describe it, haha. It’s just a whole wheat pita with some Maranatha’s raw Peanut Butter, and sprinkled on top are some dark chocolate chips. I popped it in the microwave for 20 seconds, and then devoured the ooey gooey chocolatey meltiness in about 20 seconds flat! ha ๐Ÿ˜€

Let me know if you try and enjoy! Have you had any new recipe successes lately?
3 Responses

  1. Yum! I love Clean Eating Magazine!

  2. Ooooh that chowder looks AWESOME! And I, too, LOVE clean eating magazine – probably my all time fave. I read your profile; I'm like you…graduated with a degree in journalism but not working in that field at all. Oh well, maybe one day, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. ooooh your recipe looks awesome!! I've never had salmon chowder!!!

Leave a Reply

