The Last Training Run

…before the “big race.” Today was it. My last chance to run before the Lake Evergreen Race on Saturday. Hopefully it prepared me. It’s about 85 degrees out there (at about 5:30 p.m.) so hopefully at 8:00 Saturday morning, it won’t be as hot and humid.

I came straight home from work and got on my gear. While at work, a couple hours before I got off, I downed a banana with peanut butter, because I knew I’d need the fuel to power me through the run.

Perfect pre-run snack! (Not very pretty though..) It was only a 3.1 mile run, but I wanted it to count, baby!!

I was super excited

I set out on my run, and in a way, it was a little more difficult than the longer runs I’ve been doing. I haven’t set out to run just 3.1 miles in a while. I’ve always aimed for at least 4 miles, and then even seven this past Sunday. I guess I expected it go by super quick, because it was only a 5k, right?

Well, 3.1 seemingly longer than anticipated, hot, humid, and sweaty miles, and 28 minutes later, I was a one sweaty beast:

haha.

Other stats:

And since I was taking the HRM pics while in our bedroom, I thought I’d share with you the beautiful artwork above out bed:D

You know, thinking back, I shouldn’t be saying only three miles. I actually can’t believe I’m saying that right now, when in April, I coudn’t even run one!

To think a second go around at Cool Running’s Couch 2 Five K plan would change my relationship with running (forever, hopefully.)

I sure hope I enjoy racing, because I’ve already signed up for two more this year! haha – think that’s a little premature? Nahhh!

The next one is a 10k in late September in a couple towns over for a Pumpkin Festival. I’m running it with my friend, Debby. Then today, I signed up for another 10k in October in Oak Brook (Chicago.) I’m suuuuper excited for this one, the Frank Lloyd Wright Run, because it goes by EIGHT FLW houses. I’m a huge FLW fan. Anyone in the Chicagoland area and want to run this with me? Currently I’m going it solo.

I’ll also be doing a 3 mile Walk for the Mind in September. My cousin, Beth, has brain cancer, and we’re all walking in it for her. This girl is SO amazing and strong. She’s so beautiful, too, on the inside and out. She was also my maid of honor in my wedding 😀

Challenge

Up until Race Day, I’m challenging myself to only have foods that will help my body better prepare and fuel itself for the race. This basically means:

  • no alcohol
  • no super sugary stuff
  • limited caffeine

The first one’s going to be pretty tough tonight, seeing as I’m going out to eat with the fam at one of my favorite pizza joints! I’ll be strong 😉

I’m pretty sure my eats today didn’t cross any of those boundaries either:

Breakfast was 2% fage, blueberries, and granola:

I’ve been having a hankering for Panera, so I grabbed a couple of friends and ordered a half of a Fuji Apple Chicken Salad and a half of a Mediterranean sandwich (with whole grain):

Oh it was SO good. And we sat out side and gabbed it up while absorbing lots of Vitamin D!

I love Panera. I try not to have it too often, though, because I like to bring my own lunches to work to save money.

What’s your favorite meal from Panera?

12 Responses

  1. hahah you cracked me up with one of the goals you have there! Good for you for setting all those realistic goals for yourself, I espeically love how it's "no SUPER sugary stuff"…meaning sugary stuff is ok huh? 😛 I'm totally the same way! You gotta give yourself a little wiggle room right??

  2. I love Panera's soups! Glad you had a great run! And Fage + Blueberries is one of my favorite things ever!

  3. I love Panera! I haven't had it in soo long but I used to always get the mediterranean veggie sandwich – it's seriously one of my favorite sandwiches ever, that tomato basil bread is amazing!

  4. luckytastebuds – LOL yeah this girl needs her sugar. I guess I should have clarified that I meant no natural sugar. Dark chocolate, fruit, etc totally OK! heheh

  5. Glad the run went well! It was super humid/hot yesterday! I could feel it during my run also. Your bedroom is very pretty-LOVE the artwork. Favorite food from Panera? Hmm – their black bean soup!

  6. I love your goals too. Wow favorite pizza place and no beer! You go girl. I love FLW also. One of my friend grew up in a FLW house in Peoria. I think it's the only one in Peoria?? Her dad still lives there. She actually took some of her students there on field trips. Good luck on all of your races:-)

  7. glad you had a good run – that's so exciting that the race is so close! you're going to do great!

    I love the strawberry poppyseed salad at Panera and anything with their whole grain bread. yum.

  8. 3 miles is great! I've never been a runner so I'm always in awe of those that can do it. I like how you took before and after shots of yourself 🙂

  9. Three miles is awesome! It's funny: I think no matter what mileage you came from, you will always view something as not a long run. When I was training for my half I thought a 6 mile run was no big deal when a few months before that 2 miles was long!

    I LOVE the artwork above your bed! Sorry if I missed it in a previous post, but is there some place I can find that?!

  10. Love the pic above the bed! Gorgeous!

    My fave panera meal … well I recently tried the Mediterranean sandwich and i loved it. without onions and such.
    -muffy

  11. That sandwich is my fave too!

    I just started C25K and love hearing other people's success with it- helps me keep going!

  12. You're going to love it, Rebeca!!

Leave a Reply

