STOP.

…and enjoy the moment.

I love, love, love summer. If I had my way, it’d be summer all year long. Unfortunately living in Central IL, that’s just not a possibility. I especially love summer in the middle of February when my car door is frozen shut and I can’t begin to try to unfreeze it because I’ll slip on a patch of ice in the drive way (ew!!)

It just passes by way too quickly. I feel like if I make myself stop what I’m doing, and take a mental photograph, I won’t feel as bad in the winter.

I’m such a summer lover, that I think the hubski gets tired of hearing me take a deep breath and say “I love summer!” But I do. Let me count the ways…

Today, I made myself STOP, and take a moment to appreciate:

the flowers I planted in early June that are all abloom.

The hydrangea I planted in early June, that’s just now sprouting a new bloom!


The fresh cut grass, that my husband just finished tending to:


Niko, so eager to go on a nice long walk on a warm, breezy, summer evening:


The huge blue sky that we walked beneath:


But the thing I appreciate most about the summer, is something I couldn’t take a picture of. I LOVE summer air, especially during the evening, when you can go outside with short sleeves and shorts, and not be too hot, nor too cold. Ahh I love it.

Because I love it so much, I’m going to try to get outside every night for the rest of the summer. No matter if it’s a nice long walk with Niko or just for a couple minutes to water the flowers.

What do YOU love most about summer?

9 Responses

  1. I love the evenings too! I love not being sweaty but being able to wear short sleeves and shorts! I wish I lived in Florida or southern California so I didn't have to deal with winter!

  2. Me too! My goal is to move to a hot southern state 🙂

  3. I love every season except for winter. One time, my car door handle was frozen and I ripped it off by accident. Needless to say, I was screaming and freezing in my driveway for 15 minutes!

  4. I love summer evenings. There is just something magical about being outside in the summer.

  5. oooh your grass looks fab, as does pupper – cute!! I'm not a summer gal (allergic to grass) but I DO love being able to lay out/read. I'm a winter girl though because i'm rarely if ever sick in the winter! Happy Friday!

  6. Aw I love summer too…especially in the evenings it's just so perfect!

  7. I love the heat. I love laying out in the sun. I love summer. If i could live by the beach my life would be complete. 🙂
    love running on summer evenings.
    winter sucks!
    -muffy

  8. I LOVE everything about summer also. This summer in IL has been especially cool, so exercising outside has been wonderful. And when it's hot enough, we have a pool, so what is there to complain about? In winter, driving is the worst, like the morning I did a 180 because of ICE!

  9. I would give anything to have summer all year round. Living in Wisconsin, I know just how you feel. Simply being able to walk outside without worrying about grabbing a jacket or freezing to death is so wonderful! It's so fun just to sit outside, soaking up rays, and truly feeling relaxed! I wish it could stay this way forever. 🙂

    xxoo
    Heather

Leave a Reply

