Take that, 5K!!!

I finished!!!

I finished the race in 28:45, and my goal was to keep a 9:20 pace, so I’d say I rocked it!

Ok, it’s safe to say I LOVE RACES. All the people there, the adrenaline, the team work, the endorphins! It was just a wonderful experience. And I got it all on my camera because my husband is AWESOME and woke up super early to be Missy and my paparazzi LOL.

I was nervous the whole ride there, and then as soon as I got out of the car, got my race packet, and pinned my number on, my nervousness shifted into complete and utter excitement.


Missy and I warmed up, and then got in line when the 5 minute horn blew.

Look at her posing LOL she cracks me up!

Right before the race started, Shane goes “Ok, when last picture of you two with smiles on!” hahhaa

The race course was SO pretty. It was an open road race, but it was surrounded by trees and the lake:


It was an out and back race, which surprised me, but it was fine. It went by so quickly. It felt like 10 minutes instead of 28:45 hehe. I couldn’t believe when we passed the first mile marker.

I finished strong, and felt like a warrior.


I think one of my new favorite things is passing people during races, btw. SUCH a good feeling LOL.

Since I didn’t stop for any water breaks, I headed straight to the big plastic pool of sweet nector from the gods.

And Shane was wrong about the last picture being the last one we’d be smiling in, because I had the hugest smile across my face when I passed the finish line. And my ankle wasn’t even hurting much! The outside of my right ankle has been bothering me for some reason, so I was a little worried :-/ I’m still a little worried, and might make next week a predominantly cross training week and take it easy on the running. It would not be good to get injured after only my first race!!

However, it’s definitely safe to say I love racing, though. I can’t wait until my 10K next month.

When we arrived back home, I showered, devoured two Super Charge me Cookies, and passed back out. Shane did the exact same. Being a camera man is exhausting too, ya know 😉 After we woke up, I had a second breakfast fage 2%, Bear Naked fruit and nut granola (awesomeness in a zip bag, btw), and a bowl of fruit.

I’m a stuffed monkey. Now it’s time to go and get ready for the Jimmy Buffett concert! What an exciting day!!! I hope everyone has a great Saturday! What are your plans?

23 Responses

  1. congrats on the race! 🙂

  2. MAJOR CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

  3. Atta girl; you are now addicted. I remember the feeling. And about your right ankle, when you run outside, do you run on sidewalk or the road? If you run on the road, do you run with or against traffic? You may just need to switch it up and run against traffic is my guess. The same thing happened to me years ago.

  4. Yayyyy congrats on the great race!!

  5. Congratulations!! I hear races can be addicting. I think I would definitely love running in one. Now all I need to do is start running. haha

  6. CONGRATS 😀
    awesome pace/time!! you rock.

  7. Congrats on the race! It looks like such a pretty course.

  8. Congrats on the race Paige!!! That's an amazing time. You should definitely be proud. And what a great feeling going into the 10K knowing how well you did in the 5!

    xxoo
    Heather

  9. Go Paige! You're my hero! I hope to run my first 5K in the fall! What a great time, too, you should be totally stoked, you rock!

  10. Awesome job!!

  11. Well done Paige! Love 5k's such a great distance 🙂

  12. Thanks everyone!!

  13. Paige, Congrats!!!! That's awesome!!

  14. YAY GIRL CONGRATS!!! You did awesome and seemed to have such a fun time 🙂

  15. congratulations!!!! you did awesome! 🙂 and you got some great pictures!

  16. AWESOME JOB!!!
    your friend has a bodybugg. lol. i wore mine for a year and then decided it was telling me the same thing over and over again, i had my info 🙂
    -muffy

  17. What a great job!!!! Your husband did an amazing job playing photographer 🙂 This is so random but I just had some Bear Naked fruit and granola too! Yum in the tum!

  18. Thanks everyone!

    Buffy- yes she does, good observation! 🙂

  19. sounds like a great run, congratulations. 🙂

  20. GREAT WORK!! I love races…and passing people is a hoot.. Eat up sister!

  21. […] in multiple 5K’s, with a best time of […]

  22. […] ran my first 5k, 10k, and then later half marathon (with lots of races in […]

  23. […] Do you know what I realized yesterday? I completely forgot to write about it in my post, but a year ago yesterday was my very first race! […]

Leave a Reply

