Training for 10k’s

A couple of you have emailed me asking about how I was going to go about training for my two 10k races coming up in September and October.

Well, I’ve created a training schedule for throughout October to help me best prepare. I researched 10K training plans at Hal Higdon and Cool Running, and incorporated a little Running Around Normal (hehe) and came up with a plan to fit my needs. Of course, it isn’t set in stone, and I’m sure it will be tweaked from time to time depending on what my body is telling me. Anyway, here is what I’ve created (click to enlarge:)

August


I’m taking it a little easy this month, as I want to work my way up and avoid injury. August focuses on gradually increasing my mileage on Sundays, which are my long run days, while incorporating shorter-distance maintenance runs during the week. It also incorporates strength training and cross training (along with every month( for a little variety and for me to be in my best shape without overdoing it.

September


The long distance runs keep on increasing, while the maintenance runs pretty much stay the same. This goes on up until race day. My goal for my first 10k is to simply finish and feel damn good while doing it. As you can see, after the race, the training gets a little more intense. This is because my goal for my second 10k is to finish with my best time. I was to be speedy!

October

The training continues to become more and more intense, peaking at an 8 mile run for my long run Sunday. I also continue to incorporate speedwork into my training. The final week before the 10k, the mileage decreases to allow more rest before race day.

So there you have it, my workouts in a snapshot for the next three months! Hehe

What do you think about them? Is there something missing that you think I should be incorporating as well? I’m new at this, so I’d love to hear your suggestions 😀

8 Responses

  1. I've never trained for a marathon so I can't help, but it looks like a great plan to me 🙂
    Good Luck and I look forward to reading about your training and how the race turns out!

  2. Looks like a great plan! Can't wait to read how you do with it!

  3. Great plan! I'd add a few more abs days in though because having a strong core is really important for runners.

  4. Thanks for the tip Christina! Maybe I'll add in "planks" to my bi's and back day.

  5. Looks like a great plan! I haven't even run a 5K yet so can't help ya but this will be good for me to look back at if I ever train for a 10K!

  6. Hey congrats on the 10k training! I just registered for my first one EVER, a week from this Saturday. Yikes! You completely have the right idea to increase your mileage gradually. good luck!!

  7. i think they look great! I really need to find some races around here, but this is nearing the end of race season here…boo.

  8. I'm running my first 10K in October! It will be the farthest I've ever ran though so my training plan is pretty basic compared to yours. It looks like you're going to do great!

Leave a Reply

