Overnight Oats and a love for Alton Brown

Hey hey hey! How’s everyone doin? I, for one, am thrilled that it’s Thursday and the work week’s almost over:D Only one more (half) day to go! Whoop whoop!

Today followed the trend and passed like molasses. However, I can’t kick. No one would listen any way 😛 (My Papa always used to say that, hehe)

Last night before I went to bed I started my breakfast. Yep, last night. That’s how I rolled last night.

Alton Brown’s Overnight Oats!
(And while that’s how I rolled, these oats were not rolled)

Have I proclaimed my love for Alton Brown enough yet? Well, I love, love, love him! These oats were made with steel cut oats (omg, love!) and a crock pot.

All I did was mix 1 cup of steel cut oats (or pin head oats as Altie Alton calls them,) 4 cups of water, 1/2 cup of almond milk, 1 cup figs, and 1 cup of mixed dried fruit (I used mixed berries.) Stir all those friends up, and set your crock pot to low.

Go to sleep.

Wake up.

Stir, then add White Chocolate Wonderful Peanut Butter (or whatever floats your boat.)

Devour.


Holy yumtopia! Ok, I know the picture doesn’t look awesomely appetizing, but please, take my word for it.

I actually had to put my serving in a tupperware container because I was late for work (shocker, I know.) And, I didn’t have a great feeling about them because the right side of the pot had burned them a little. So I left the rest of the batch on the counter in the crock pot, to wait to be washed until I got home from work. However, when I took my first bite, I knew I made a huge mistake!! I could eat this for days!! It was SO good. Luckily, Shane saved the day by taking PT early on in the day, and put a batch in the fridge for me. 😀 All is well in breakfast town.

I found that this recipe held me over longer than my usual creamy oats (or it could be that I didn’t workout this morning like a crazy person…) But I wasn’t starving like I usually am by lunch.

However, I had to eat lunch early anyway, because I had a noon meeting. Lunch was tilapia with roma tomatoes, with a side of marinated veggies.


The veggies were freakin’ awesome! However, there’s something left to be said about the tilapia. It wasn’t bad, but it didn’t wow me. I guess the greek dish I had the other day for lunch set the bar a wee bit too high. haha

This left me wanting MOAR, so I tried to dig into my Braeburn apple I had packed.

But alas, it was mealy. Do you spy something yellow and filled with potassium?

That’s what I had instead. yum!

Snacks were a Tropical Fruit Tart Lara Bar (unpictured,) perhaps a chocolate chip cookie that were free at my nooner meeting, and a juicy mango!


And I’ll leave you with a beautiful picture – some banana ice cream the hubski and I made last night.


Made with these ingredients:

And tonight I’m SUPER duper excited because my friend, Kori, from Orlando is coming to see me!! She’s a college buddy that took off after college (while I still remain in the city I went to college.) SO excited to see her 😀 We’ll be going out for dinner and drinks with her boo and Shane.

I hope everyone enjoys their last weeknight of the week! Hooray!!! 😀

12 Responses

  1. Your eats look SO good! Sorry the tilapia wasn't as good as the Greek dinner – but the little veggie bowl looks fab! Happy (almost)Friday!

  2. I have tomorrow off and it would be so nice to wake up to oats all done! I am definitely going to try it. Love your blog!

  3. I'm SO with you on the love of Alton Brown! He's just so fun and energetic!!!

    OMG that mango looks fantastic. Such a perfect summery fruit.

    Have fun with your friend tonight. Definitely a great way to break up the week!

    xxoo
    Heather

  4. I love Alton Brown too, I like to watch him while I'm on the treadmill, he makes the time go by faster! The oats in a crock pot is such a great idea! I will definitely have to try that, as I am a complete oat fanatic these days!

  5. oh man, your banana ice cream sundae looks so good!! Have a fun weekend dear!

  6. It's been way too long since I've had banana "ice cream." I want some!

  7. Yum Paige, wish I had a slow cooker. They aren't that expensive over here so I should invest :).

  8. alton brown is pretty awesome. i haven't made steel cut oats in awhile, i should revist them!

  9. Mmm – those overnight oats look AWESOME. Gotta love that Alton.

    And yummy banana soft serve!!

  10. I've never made overnight oats, but I'm going to have to try them now!! LOVE ALTON! Love him!

  11. Oooh the crock pot idea is genius! Especially when it's gets cooler again, that will be wondyful!

  12. Crock pot is a genius idea- how many servings is this?

    deb

Leave a Reply

