Good Mood Monday and Zucchini Pasta Recipe

Hey hey! Happy Good Mood Monday! I really, really wanted an extra weekend day this week, so this is hard for me to be super positive right now, but I’m trying 😀

Today I’m thankful for:

  • Being able to do fun things like go to Cubs games
  • My legs that carried me through my awesome run yesterday
  • Time spent relaxing with my husband
  • Time spent chilling with my girls
  • Already getting in my workout!

My workout, by the way, was 40 minutes on the elliptical along with some bicep and back work. Felt great!:D

Now I’m enjoying a green purple monster with blueberries, mango, banana, GREEN Superfood, and water. Mmm mmm.

Yesterday continued on to be a pretty awesome day. I didn’t get everything done that I wanted to (hello, dirty floors!) but I had a fun time procrastinating.

I made some black bean burgers for Shane and I for lunch around 2:00 after doing some laundry I made them like the last time, but omitted the corn meal and doubled the flour. I also added hot sauce, soy sauce, onion, and green bell pepper to the mixture.

They turned out even better this time around! On top was some guac, ketchup, mustard, tomatoe, and pickle.

mmmmm!

After some more laundry and being shamelessly lazy, I rolled out my yoga mat to do some yoga from On Demand. As soon as I set my mat out, Clarabelle came over and did her best cat stretch! I SO wish I had my camera in hand.

It was great to roll around the floor with the pets do some yoga again. However, Niko and Clarabelle wanted to get in on the action too. At least one of them was on the mat the entire time I was practicing. No joke. It was still fun though 😀

Dinner was a new recipe I conjoled together. I’m not sure what to call it yet, but we’ll start out with shrimp and baby bello squash pasta.

I just sauteed some frozen shrimp, asparagus, portobello mushrooms, tomatoe, and spinach in a pan with some garlic and EVOO. Next, I peeled half of a summer squash and half of a zucchini for my “pasta.” At this point, I was wishing I would have told Shane to order me some pizza when he ordered his. I wasn’t too sure how it’d go, but I continued on.

Finally, I added some salt and pepper and tomatoe sauce, and heated everything up in the pan.

After adding a little parmesan cheese, I had myself a damn good meal!! I couldn’t believe how well the zucchini and squash substituted as pasta. I will definitely be making this one again.

On the side, I had some of this:

With a little of that on top:

It tasted…OK. I’m not sure if the hemp bread is an acquired taste or what, but it’s very different. I’ll eat it again, but it’s not my favorite. I was surprised too, because I like Ezekiel bread so much. The sunflower butter was kinda “meh” too. Maybe I just need to try another brand, or just give it another chance.

My favorite nut butter by far is plain old (MaraNatha) raw almond butter. What’s your favorite nutt butter?

Also – I survived the night without dessert!! It was pretty hard, especially around 9:00, when I remembered I had Annie’s Bunny Grahams in the cabinet, but I prevailed 😀 Only 6 more days of hell to go!

What are YOU thankful for today? What’s one thing you’re looking forward to today?

13 Responses

  1. favorite nut butter = almond butter or that cinnamon raisin pb

    sounds like a good weekend! glad you got in some yoga, even with the pets 🙂 my cat always bothers me while I'm doing yoga, too.

  2. I'm going to have to try your black bean burgers!! Yum! I'm thankful for having a rest day today :). Couldn't pass up dessert though… but well done to you!

  3. I am thankful for: being able to live comfortably and afford the foods I love. So many people out there do not know when their next meal will come.

    I am looking forward to: giving my family friend, Blake, a tour of campus and the city today. He is a freshmen and needs to get to know the area a little better. Should be fun!

  4. haha anything that resembles a teddy graham is the death of me. you are strong! keep it up! my goal is to have a good drive back home today without fighting with the boyf lol.
    one thing im looking forward to is getting back home for sure.

  5. I'm thankful for having the life I have! 🙂 looking forward to another great day ahead~ 😀

  6. Where did you find that hemp bread? I've been seeing hemp bread and bagels all over the blog world but not in any of my stores 😦 I had this hemp granola once and absolutely loved it so I really want to try the bread.

    Try the sunbutter again, I swear it grows on you! And that squash pasta looks delicious 🙂

  7. Christina, I found mine in the freezer section at my local natural food store. I'll try the sunflower butter again. Mine didn't have the seeds in it like yours dis though 😦

  8. ohhh i dig your blog! love the positivity you are spewing even on a monday 😀 the burgers and shrimp dish both look yum. i use the sun butter to make homemade hummus instead of tahini. i have never used the seed butter in place of nut butter on toast or anything. i can't say that i would prefer that over a nut butter, seed butters are good but i prefer them mixed into things (like the hummus) rather than on their own. with that said, naturally more PB is my fave! i wish i could find some naturally more almond butter. added you to my reader. stoked!

  9. Thanks for visiting my blog and the nice comment!
    My favorite nut butter is PB & Co White Chocolate Wonderful, but Naturally More is a close second.

  10. Today I'm thankful for my job that let's me work at home in my skimpiest outfit on a hot Summer day. 🙂

    you know, after trying a whole load of different nut butters due to the food blogsphere (well, the small variety we get around here!) I learned that I really just love a good old fashioned natural PB.

  11. Today I am thankful for my job, for my friends and for family. I am thankful for my loving husband whom is just downright amazing. I'm also thankful for my pets; I adore them so much.

    As for what I'm looking forward to today…getting home from work and completly vegging on the couch. I. can't. wait.

  12. Ahh, I'm sad I just read your Good Mood Monday post now that it's Tuesday morning. Yesterday morning I was still in a bad mood (I think it's gone now…fingers crossed, haha), and I know this would have cheered me up and made me think of my own list of things I'm thankful for! 🙂

  13. I'm a peanut butter gal, but I love almond butter in my green monsters!

    The "pasta" dish looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

