B-e-a-utiful Day!

It’s such a beautiful day outside today! I’m about to go take Niko for a walkie:D

Body pump kicked my boo-tay this morning! I haven’t gone in probably a month, as I’ve just been lifting weights on my own, and I forgot how strenuous endurance strength-training is every once in a while 🙂 I needed it, because there was an abs session at the end, and I’ve been slacking on my abs. It’s pretty much an awesome hour-long weight lifting class that focuses on every muscle in the body. It rocked my socks off.

When I got home from class, I made some eggs in a hole toast to refuel.


I used hemp bread, and had a very delicious breakfast.

I kind a had to scarf it down, because I was meeting a friend at the Farmer’s Market soon.

It was her first time there, and she was amazed at how huge it was. I took some pictures of some cool veggies and pretty sunflowers while I was there.

and bought a HUGE squash.


And sipped on some Honest Tea while we browsed.


Yum, yum!

We had to split afterward, and I headed to the grocery stores. Ugh. People were so annoying today, and I totally went over my $100 budget. Oopsie. Well, at least I know I’ll use the ingredients, thanks to my new meal planning system (I’ll have to show you all the system soon!)

I got a crap ton of groceries, but here are a few things I’m extra-excited about that I bought:

Granola, Bees Knees, Honest Tea, Baybel cheese

Raw almonds to make almond butter


Peanut Butter filled pretzels from Naturally Yours


When I got home and put the groceries away, it was time for lunch. Since the hubski was busy working on his car, I made some burgers on the GF grill. I used cow burger for Shane’s, and turkey burger for mine. I seasoned them each with a mix of jalapeno pepper, cumin, pepper flakes, and garlic powder.


Then placed a bella mushroom on top (and some baybel cheese under the shroomie) and grilled some more, and then topped it with ketchup and mustard.

Ahhh this burger was SO good. I was very proud of my grill masta skillz, haha.

Not sure what we’re doing tonight yet. I’ve mentioned seeing the Time Traveler’s Wife to Shane a couple times, but he didn’t seem to in to it and hasn’t mentioned it since, so we’ll see 🙂

Question: What’s your favorite way to make something out of a butternut squash?

15 Responses

  1. SO glad you had nice weather today!! We had tons of rain 😦

    Favorite way to prepare butternut squash = roast it!

  2. I love Babybel cheese! There is just something so satisfying about opening the wax wrapping.

    I love to roast butternut squash.

  3. Roasted butternut squash fries are amazing!

  4. I used to do Bodypump twice a week for years, then just gave it up. I should give it another go though 🙂 it really is a great class.

  5. i went to the FM today too! oh, i never have made BN squash believe it or not. weird, right? i LOVE anything with cumin, those burgers look great!

  6. Lindsay – there is! This was my first time trying it, and I thought the exact same thing! hehe

  7. I LOVE butternut squash fries! They are so so easy! You can make them how you want..you can sprinkle them with cinnamon sugar or more of a spice flavor (garlic, cumin, red pepper, etc!). You don't be disappointed. I normally bake them at 425 for about 30-45 mins.

  8. That Bear Naked granola is SO good. Very addicting:) That burger looks amazing mmm

  9. Those peanut butter pretzels sound so good!!! Honestly, peanut butter goes with anything and everything 🙂 And your burger looks delicious.

  10. Mmmm, all your food looks amazing! Especially the egg in the toast.

    Butternut squash fries are definitely my fave way to eat it.

    I still have not tried the babybel cheese, I will have to pick some up next time I go to the store!

  11. I like acorn squash better than butternut; I bake it or microwave it and add butter and brown sugar. Yummy.

  12. Hemp bread sounds SO good! I've seen it in stores before, but I just never bought it. I think this post convinced me. 😉

    I'm going to be so sad when farmer's markets are done for the summer. I just love all the amazing produce!

    I have to admit that the only way I've ever made butternut squash is roasted "fries." I sprinkled on some cinnamon and spices and ate them with ketchup and mustard. REALLY good!

    Just a side note… I've decided to restart my blog! 🙂 Be sure to check it out again!

    xxoo
    Heather

  13. Hooray for pump! I think I am getting certified this fall- can't wait. Glad you had fun at the market and got great stuff. Yummy din din. I like butternut squash baked with just a little brown sugar or honey

  14. Thanks for all the suggestions about the butternut squash 😀

    Heather – yay! That's awesome 🙂 Maybe you just needed a little breather.

  15. Grocery budgets are definitely the hardest for me to stick to! That squash is epic, love it!

Leave a Reply

