Good Mood Monday after a Squash and Pepper Dinner

Get ready to fake it until you make it! At least that’s what I’m doing today. Since Mondays get such a bad rap, I’m forcing cheerfulness upon myself. One of the ways I do this, is to count what I’m thankful for today:

  • my coffee, as always
  • that even though I’ve been slacking in the going-to-church dept., God still lets me and loves when I pray
  • my staycation this past weekend, which is allowing me to be extra relaxed today
  • almost having the laundry done!

One thing I’m looking forward to is having dinner with my parents tonight! I haven’t seen them in a couple weeks (which is a long time for me!) and it will be nice to hang out.

Workout slackage

Well, I guess you could call it purposeful slackage. I decided to skip my workout this morning. Partly because I’m so sore, and partly because it was an elliptical workout, and I have an easier time skipping non-run workouts. No biggie πŸ™‚ Tomorrow’s a run day, so I’ll get it then πŸ˜‰

Dinna

Last night’s dinner turned out to be AWESOME! I made stuffed peppers and butternut squash. Since I didn’t post play-by-play of how I made them, I’ll just post the couple pictures that I did take.


I stuffed the peppers with brown rice, lean ground beef (was going to do mine with turkey, but got lazy,) tomato sauce, jalapeno peppers, and onion. When they only had 15 minutes in the oven to go, I topped them each with habenero cheese.


They turned out SO good.


The squash was good, too, but didn’t turn out like spaghetti. I think I either roasted it too long or added too much water, but it just didn’t want to make noodles when I scraped it with a fork. Noodle form or not, it still turned out yummy! πŸ˜€


I hope everyone has a great day today. Try to be cheerful today even though it’s Monday. Try to spread your cheerfulness around to as many grumpy people as possible!

Question: What’s one way you pull yourself out of a foul mood?

8 Responses

  1. dinner last night looks great!

    I do the same thing to get me out of weird moods: think of all the things I'm thankful for, do something I love (even if it's something small like taking a walk, having my favorite snack, talking to a friend).

    i hope you have a GREAT monday πŸ™‚

  2. We had stuffed green peppers last night too! We had sweet potatoes as our side dish though. My husband wasn't crazy about the ground turkey in the peppers tho':-(
    I agree with Brandi about some sort of exercise, especially a walk/run, to get out of a low feeling or mood. If I am working early on a Monday, I do some sit ups, stretches, something at home and PROMISE myself to do more later.
    Have fun with your mom and dad tonight:-)

  3. Your stuffed peppers look amazing!! So yummy!

    For me, a glass of wine or two always works for a grumpy mood! Haha! And for times when I can't just break out the wine–I try to just figure out what is REALLY causing the bad mood. Sometimes for me, just identifying and acknowledging what it is allows me to move past it. But the wine option is preferred! πŸ™‚

  4. That's great! Mondays do for sure have a bad rep, but it couldn't hurt to be more cheerful and make it better since we know it will soon pass and be the weekend again! HA Coffee is something I'm always very thankful for on Mondays!

  5. Looks delicious!!!! I have a hard time pulling myself out of a foul mood. often shopping helps but when i dont have any money… well. lol.
    -muffy

  6. Spending some time with my dogs always improves my mood. Shopping also helps!

  7. What an awesome dinner. Sorry the squash didn't go as planned, but it still looks delicious!

    I have to say that the best way to pull me out of a negative mood is just to go for a long walk outside. Whether I'm upset, angry, or just not in the right mood, I always get a sense of relaxation and enjoyment from simply breathing in the fresh air and taking some time for myself!

    xxoo
    Heather

  8. your stuffed peppers turned out bangin!

Leave a Reply

