Post-Workout Primp Tips

As you probably know, I love working out. I especially love running. After a typical workout, I am a sweaty beast, and I love this too. My appearance, however, does not. So how does one keep up their appearance when they’re working out 6 days a week? Well, I try my darndest to “groom myself” so I fit in with the not-so-sweaty beasts in this world. Thankfully, I have a team of products to help me – without breaking my budget.
Dilemma # 1: I know it’s bad to wash your hair every day, but when I’m done with my workout, my hair’s gross, and I need to take a shower, so I have to wash it, right? Wrong! I wash my hair every other day, even though I’m a workout fiend!

First off, on days where I can help it, I’ll wash my hair when I know I’ll just be doing strength training, and thus won’t end up a sweaty mess. When this just isn’t an option, I take out my secret weapon:

Dry shampoo!

I use it like this: Monday morning, wake up, workout and get gross, take a shower and wash my hair. Then, Tuesday, I’ll repeat, except I’ll put my hair up when I shower. After showering, I’ll blow dry my hair (since it was wet from the sweat.) Now, I’ll still have sweaty hair, even if it’s dry now, which is when Batiste comes into play. After a few sprays of this stuff, my hair smells and feels like new, and I’m ready to face the day, without stripping my hair of its natural oils. Sometimes I can go three days in a row if my Wednesday workout is a light one. Usually not so much.


I use Batiste, as mentioned below, which I can buy at Sally’s for just a few bucks. I believe Sephora sells a couple higher quality (and $) brands if you’re interested.

Dilemma #2: I get acne because I go to the gym straight from work, and don’t have time to take off my makeup. The solution for this one is easy. Simply slip a travel sized container or face wipes, and wipe off your makeup when you get to the gym, or even at a stop light!


Voila! No gross runny makeup face 😀

Dilemma #3: When I finish working out, my face is covered in sweat, and I’m beat red.

Whenever I’m at the gym and this situation occurs, I bust out my facial mist. I currently use this Kinerase Hydrating Antioxidant Mist:


But I also have one from Wal-Mart that works just as well from Aquafina.


You could also simply use rose water. Ahh…so refreshing!

One thing I don’t skimp on after workouts is taking a shower(unless of course I’m just making a quick stop home before the shower.) If scaring off others with a post-sweat session stench isn’t motivation enough, just think about all those toxins that you just sweated out that you’re now just basting in! Eeewww.

Consequently, another thing I won’t do is work out over my lunch hour. Unless I’m able to have time to shower, I really wouldn’t want to sit there for the rest of the afternoon being a smelly, sweaty, beast.

What post-workout primping tips do you have to share? Is there anything you just won’t skimp on regarding post-workout grooming?

10 Responses

  1. these are wonderful tips!!

  2. Good stuff!

    I always workout on my lunch hour – but then I am also blessed to work at home during the day. It's the best time for me to fit it in and I work alone – so I don't mind if I smell funky! 😉

  3. Thanks, guys!

    Trish – haha I guess that's an exception. Reason # a bajillion why I'd love to work from home!

  4. Good tips!!! I also don't skimp on the shower…it's a necessity, because like you, I sweat a TON!

  5. Great tips, Paige! I never skip the shower either, toxin basting is never good, LoL!

    I'll have to give that dry shampoo a try though, it sounds awesome!

  6. All good tips! Instead of washing my hair each time I'm in the shower, half the time I just wet it and use a little conditioner!

  7. Wow! What a great post! I work out at often as you do and often go places straight from the gym! This is especially good because I'm starting classes in a week and am going to need to shower at the gym instead of at my apartment!! Thanks for the awesome tips!

  8. THANK YOU so much for posting this! I'm also a "every other day" hair washer, but it's so hot and humid out that I've found myself feeling the need to wash every day. Now I know what to use instead and am totally running out to get some this weekend. Great idea about the make-up wipes too!

  9. I have to try that dry shampoo too.

  10. Thank you for the tips! I've really been meaning to find a dry shampoo to use.

Leave a Reply

