Zesty’s Chicken Asparagus Quesadillas

Tuesday night I made a phenomenal dinner! Both Shane and I loved it. Ihad intended on posting this post yesterday, but was too busy running around like a crazy woman, so without further ado…

Zesty‘s Chicken Asparagus Pesto Quesadillas

I pretty much followed his recipe to a T, but threw in a couple extras of my own.

The only thing I changed was I added sliced white mushrooms.


Then, I served Shane’s with habenero cheese, and structured like a typrical quesadilla. However, I ate mine open-faced, with seasoned goat cheese ๐Ÿ˜€ (Pictured above)

The flavors went together so well, and I’m so glad I tried this recipe ๐Ÿ˜€ You all should try it too!

It was also a wonderful post-run meal. I think next time I might use tofu (tofu virgin here!!!) in the pesto sauce instead of chicken. I bet that’d be good too!

What new recipes have you tried lately that tasted wonderfully?

I’m trying to get inspiration for next week’s menu. I have to plan my weekly meals for next week before Friday, because Friday’s my grocery shopping day this week.

Speaking of, now is a great time to show you my meal-planning system.

It’s inspired by Caitlin!

It’s organized with tabs:

And even has a special section labeled, “Paige” for those recipes I know Shane will never go for (read: curried tofu)

Coupons (in a clear sleeve, to help me remember to actually use them!- I loved this idea she had):

The “meals” tab contains a calendar I printed out, with the week’s dinner meals on them.

I only plan out dinner, because breakfast and lunch are always staple foods on my grocery list.

Next I have a “recipes” tab. This contains meals that I would cook on a typical night for Shane and me. I also have a “sweets” tab where I put recipes such as cookies, cakes, scones, etc..

In the back pocket of the binder, I keep a pile of note cards. Once I pick out my recipes for the week, I take a note card from the back, write down all the ingredients that I’ll need, and stick it in the front pocket to take the grocery stores with me when I go.

So far it’s working out pretty well ๐Ÿ™‚ Now the challenge is to just stick with it!

Do you have a meal planning system? What works for you?

14 Responses

  1. Great system! I love the 'Paige Recipes' lol.

    I use Todoist for my meal planning – I've got lists for recipes I want to make, meals for the upcoming week and my grocery shopping list

  2. Looks delish! Wow…very organized! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. (New reader here!)

    I totally just stumbled upon your blog and WOW, I literally just posted about advice on making a meal plan, and BLAMO -there you have it!!!

    Love the system!!!

  4. I cannot measure up to what you do in the kitchen. You remind me of my sister who always says, "It's easy!" My idea of "easy" is eating out:-(

  5. Wow, I love the meal planning binder idea! I used to plan all my meals out for the week in college when I was cooking for myself. Now that I have no set schedule and I don't eat alone, it's kinda hard to do.

  6. Love the system! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I do something similair, only I keep it all in a looseleaf folder and write my plans on a notebook. I just started doing it this way over the past summer, and it makes me feel so organized. Love it! ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. That really is a genius idea that Caitlin had, I love it. I have yet to put my binder together, but it's on my to do list. Problem is it's like #1,487 on the list! Oh well. ๐Ÿ™‚ Your recreation of Zesty's meal looks so yummy! That guy knows his stuff in the kitchen!

  8. Love the meal planning binder!! The Quesadillas look awesome!

  9. I am TOTALLY impressed with how organized you are in your meal planning! If I was half as organized as you, I'd be pretty darn proud as myself. I think I could learn a thing or two from you!

  10. nice organization! i just plan my meals in my noggin. your asparagus dish looks tasty.

  11. Wow, thanks for all the organization compliments! I've been known as many things in my life, but none too often was it for my organization skills! But I'm trying to work on it. The hard part is actually keeping up with it. Anyone can make a system, ya know?

  12. Wow great system! I really need to try to do something like that too.

    I am also a tofu virgin! I want to try it but I'm so scared!

  13. […] stops at a couple grocery stores, gathering all the necessities. However, I didnโ€™t sit down and make a meal plan this week, so the groceries were kind of haphazard. I also had to make a stop by the Tarjay to pick […]

  14. […] havenโ€™t done a challenge in a really long time on the blog (whether my own or joining in on another bloggerโ€™s.) I figured this month, albeit being a few days in, would be a perfect month to have one since […]

Leave a Reply

