Nice Relaxing 5k

Hi all! The race went fabulously. Since I wasn’t running it for time, there wasn’t any pressure to try and get a certain time. My friend, Debby, and I decided we would just run it, talk it, and enjoy it. My friend Debby is the wise one who taught me all the calories leak out of chocolate when you share it with someone πŸ˜‰

The scenery was gorgeous for this race. Luckily, my papperazi dad volunteered to take pictures so I could show all of you πŸ˜€ Here we are pre-race, stretchin’ it out.

Annnnd go!!

Just a note: I’ll be laughing in every single picture I post. We’d be running, and my dad would literally jump out of a bush to take an action shot LOL. Let’s just say, photography is his hobby, and he loves his daughter very much.

It was on a trail that most mostly lined with trees, so it was super shady, however, it was only 60 degrees out! It was pretty chilly until we started running.

It was also a fairly hilly 3.1 miles, with one hill that was very steep – but luckily it was also a short one.

We had a great time, but it was predominantly high school-aged kids running, so I felt all of my 24 years this morning running with them.

You can tell we’re both cracking up here! We were being stalked by the paperazzi haha!

We ended up finishing at an easy time of 30:20. With this time, we didn’t bother with sticking around for awards. Besides, right as we were crossing the finish line, the lady holding everyones’ bib tickets, dropped them all!!! There was no way she got them back in the right order. Yikes…

And I’ll leave you with a picture purely for your viewing enjoyment:

It says, “Shut up and Drink Your Beer!” bahahaa

Next up: 10k on September 19th πŸ˜€ I’m super excited for this one. I’ll be running this race with Debby also.

Do you like running with a friend or by yourself? I enjoy both, depending on what my goals are. If I have a goal, I like to go it alone, but if I’m just in it for the fun, than I like to run with a buddy!

11 Responses

  1. I walk/run now, but when I did races (mostly in Iowa) I ran with friends and talked. However, I always ran alone in the Bix, a seven mile race that begins with a steep, long hill up Brady St. in Davenport. It is quite a challenge because after the big hill, there are about 3 to 4 more hills before the end. I don't punish myself any more with that one:-)

  2. Great pics! It's nice that you were able to have a relaxing, fun race instead of stressing about time and other things. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  3. Congrats on your race!! I am totally in the mindset that not every race and every run need to be your best time. It's great that you could run with a friend and just enjoy yourselves!

    Your race pics are really making me excited for my next race, which still seems so far away!

  4. Haha, you're dad is awesome! Looks like you had a blast1

  5. I prefer running alone usually because I like to keep my own pace. I can see how running with a friend would be laid back though – It looks like a fun race!

  6. Great HAPPY pictures and race report. Way to go Photog Pops!!

    I will be running my next 5K with my husband and I can hardly wait. Generally I run alone because I want to go my pace…but I think I would enjoy everything more if running with a friend or partner

  7. Congrats on the race!! I laughed a lot when you said that your dad was jumping out of bushes to take pics of you! haha

  8. haha i love the title. a nice and relaxing race! that is the best! great job paige πŸ™‚

  9. Sometimes I want my "me time". This all depends on mood. Other days I need a running buddy to get me going. Sadly, I am lacking one at the moment.

  10. What a fun race! Haha, Debby is definitely my kind of gal… her chocolate theory is, in fact, one of my own as well. πŸ˜‰

    It really depends on my mood as to whether I like to run by myself or with someone else. In most cases, I find that running on my own really relaxes and provides a mental benefit for me. However, running with someone else can motivate me to keep going and push my limits.

    xxoo
    Heather

  11. […] in multiple 5K’s, with a best time of […]

Leave a Reply

