Sahale Snacks and Strength Training

Happy Hump Day, everybody. I can’t believe tomorrow is Thursday already! This week is flying by for a change. The past few weeks have seemed to drag, so this is a much welcomed change. Today I have a review for you at the end of tonight’s post!

I started out my day with some early morning strength training. I did:

  • 30 push ups
  • 30 bicycle crunches
  • a few planks
  • 20 triceps overheads
  • 20 chest flies
  • 20 “donkey kicks”

I really needed to get in some strength training, so I skipped my usual elliptical session to pump some iron instead.

I refueled with a little breakfast bowl o’ cereal at work:


Mmm Kashi Good Friends and Peanut Butter Puffins! Always a good combo. However, it didn’t leave me full for long, so I later had some gigantic, unpictured grapes.

I had a meeting over lunch, at which they provided us pizza! Luckily, they had a big veggie pizza, so I had me some slices of that goodness.

Sahale Review!

I had my afternoon snack courtesy of Sahale Snacks today! Sahale uses all natural ingredients to come up with their yummy flavors. Debby sent me two different combinations to try.

First was Glazed Cashews with Pomegranate and Vanilla:


Shane actually got into this bag before I did, and he said, “oh man these things are awesome! They taste like ice cream!” At the time, I didn’t really understand what he meant. However, today when I tried them out, he hit it dead on! These things were awesome! And they did taste like ice cream! haha. The vanilla flavoring they used tastes exactly like vanilla bean ice cream.


Mmm this is the dessert. This type was also named “Best Snack Award” by Shape Magazine this summer. the whole mix contains roasted cashews with pomegranate and apple, along with pure vanilla bean. YUM!

Next up was Soledad Nut Blend:

I wasn’t too sure of the ingredients, but I figured I have concocted up crazier things! So I didn’t judge before trying. This mix packs in almonds, apples, flax seeds, dates, basalmic vinegar, and red pepper.

Isn’t it purrty? See the flax seeds??

I could definitely taste some cumin in this mix, too. It’s got a Mediterranean flava to it. Altogether the flavors worked, but it was a little too complex of a flavor for me. I was definitely fond of it, as it provided both sweet and savory, but I think I prefer the cashews. Obviously a lot of people like it, because it was named “Best Trail Mix” by Men’s Health this summer. And I definitely loved the incorporation of flax seeds πŸ˜‰

I think Sahale Snack mixes would be a great alternative to bars when you’re feeling snacky! I could definitely see myself over-snacking on these bad boys though!

What’s your favorite “snack mix” or trail mix? Or do you make your own?

18 Responses

  1. I like to make my own mix–almonds, dry fruit, some chocolate bits! Yum!

  2. I LOVE picking up the trail mix at Trader Joe's. The PB&J or the Raspberry Chocolate Trail mix is awesome!

    I usually make my own, though… throw in some cereal (usually Kashi honey sunshine or the heart 2 heart, puffins), chocolate chips, dried cherries or golden raisins, and a mix of almonds and cashews!

    I LOVE strength training πŸ™‚ I'd rather do that than cardio most of the time!

  3. A cashew that tastes like ice cream? I'm in! Thanks for the reviews – great ST workout, too! I had PB puffins (dry) as a snack today. I'm not a big trail mix kinda gal – not against it just never crave it!

  4. I usually steer clear of snack mixes. I always end up over snacking!

  5. I love Sahale Snacks! So good!! Your cereal sounds perfect too!

  6. Love that strength session! I alternate strength and cardio days, that way I get to enjoy both to the fullest!

    I use this "fruit and nut mix" from Kroger and usually add cereal to it, so I guess that counts as my own mix?

    Thanks for commenting on my blog!

  7. love that brand!!! they're so different but tasty!my fave snack is banana chips.. but any dried fruit tastes amazing mmm πŸ™‚

  8. I have never tried that brand before. My favorite snack mix is the Kirkland one you can get at Sam's Club, but I also really like the big tubs of Archer Farms from Target – so many different varieties it's hard to pick one!

  9. I love anything with almonds, chocolate and a little dried fruit! Very simple!

  10. hey paige! i am playing catch up. in your last post~that is clever to just photograph your HRM.. duh.. i gotta do that. taco salad is one of my fave go to meals. as far as snacks go, any cereal is my favorite thing to munch on! and PB filled pretzels.

  11. Yay I have those EXACT same nut mixes to try out. I'm glad the cashew ones were good since I'm not a huge fan of cashews in the first place. Thanks for the review, lady!

  12. Man, I hate donkey kicks!! But they are effective so I guess I should do more πŸ˜‰
    I like making my own trail mix: raisins, almonds, granola, and sometimes some chocolate chips πŸ™‚

  13. I love tropical trail mixes- dried pineapple is delish πŸ™‚

  14. those cashews sound amazing!

    I love some of the TJ's trail mixes I've bought in the past, but I like making up my own, too. As long as you have some good dried fruit, nuts, sometimes chocolate, cereal, etc, you can make a great one!

  15. Thank you for coming by my blog πŸ™‚ I hope you become a regular!

    I can't wait to read up on your bloggie!

    Definitely add the choclate chips to your cookie next time. Total winner!

    http://www.foodieinthecity.wordpress.com

  16. Cashews that taste like ice cream? Count me in!

  17. I am a BIG fan of both PB Puffins and anything Kashi!

    As far as the trail mix goes, there are a couple of premade ones from Trader Joe's that are pretty amazing. Actually, I've yet to have a bad experience with anything I've purchased at TJ's.

  18. […] my review of Sahale snacks waaayyyyy back in this post. If you don’t feel like reading, I liked β€˜em – very delicious glazed […]

Leave a Reply

