Managing Stress…

When your schedule is jam-packed?? How do you stay calm when your schedule looks more like your 8th grade history notes than a calendar?

I’ve just been babbling about my day-today life lately, and thought I should bring you all to speed on the exciting things that I’m experiencing lately! Let me tell you…my calendar is packed to the max this month. And I’m going to need to practice my tactics for keeping myself stress free.

I’m in a 5k race this Saturday! It’s in my hometown like the last 5k I ran.


I had forgotten all about it, too. My mom used to send me mail all the time, with comics, recipes, jokes, money, etc. She hasn’t sent anything in quite a while, so I was surprised to see mail from her yesterday. Inside was a post-it that said, “5K race this Saturday – me and you!” Doh! Totally forgot about it. (sorry mom) Hey, I’ll take a race and a free T-shirt any day! Plus, I’ll be running it solo (mom is run/walking it) so I can go for a PTR!!! 😀


On the 19th of this month,
I’ll be running in my first 10K!!!!It’s for the Pumpkin Festival in a nearby town. See what you’re missing here in Central Illinois? 😉 I’m so excited. I was kind of going to use this Saturday as my last long run day, but it looks like that’s really not going to happen now, since I’m in a 5k. Oh well…impromptu taper week! I’m so excited for this 10k 🙂

Then…yesterday I came home to this box:


And opened it and was stoked to see Amazing Grass products! Not that this makes me busy or anything, but it’s still something exciting happening this month! Amazing Grass sent me these samples to try:


Including some of their new bars:


I’ll let you know what I think as I consume 🙂

The LAST weekend of September, I’ll be participating in an event called, “Walk for the Mind.” I go with ALL of my family to support my beautiful, cousin, Beth. She has brain cancer, but it SUCH a strong and BEAUTIFUL person. If you didn’t know she had, you honestly wouldn’t be able to tell. I love her so much and am so happy to support her.

Lastly, also the last weekend of September is Shane and my 1 year anniversary!!! 😀


Aww…first dance. *tear* This year has gone by the fastest of any I’ve experienced yet, and I’m so blessed to be spending it with the love of my life.

This is all among 5 different friends’ birthday’s to celebrate, and a bunco night thrown in the mix.

Phew! September is a busy, busy month.

So how do I stay calm when my schedule is not? I have a few different tactics…

  • First and foremost, I keep up with my workouts. Yes, I know, this seems like just another thing to keep up with, but it keeps me sane. As I’m sure you all agree, working out is a HUGE stress reliever, and I’m a firm believer that exercise is what makes me happy on some days. This isn’t to say hat I might skip a day – if I do, I just don’t stress about it

  • I keep up with my day to day tasks. This is a hard one, and it’s easy to let this one slip. However, if I start to fall back on something like laundry (I do 1-2 loads a day, because as I said when I first started this blog, laundry doesn’t deserve its own day) it mounts up, and just weighs on me. So I take the extra 15 minutes to do a couple loads. I’d rather give up the 15 minutes than have the stress and pressure of knowing there’s a mountain of laundry in the laundry room rather than just a steep hill 😉

  • I also carve in time for laziness. If I don’t have anything going on on a Wednesday night, and I’ve caught up with all of my “must-do’s” (vs. my “to-do’s”) I fully enjoy some horizontal time on the couch guilt free.


What are some ways you stay sane and stress-free when you just seem to be on the go-go-go?

11 Responses

  1. I want to try Amazing Grass. I can't wait to hear your thoughts!

    You and Shane are adorable by the way :).

    I am right there with you on keeping up with my workouts and carving in time to be lazy. I also allow myself a little bit of a splurge, like a small piece of cake. Sometimes a girl just has to do what a girl has to do!

  2. a busy month indeed! can't wait to follow you on the race, that will be fun 🙂 and hooray for an anniversary! when i am busy.. i just put house cleaning aside 😛

  3. Those are great tips! I really should do laundry daily…

    I try to make sure to carve out some 'me-time' to destress – watch a little tv, play on the internet and do nothing whatsoever productive. Which then makes me more productive 🙂

  4. The hubs' family is from Peoria/Pekin – how weird! Also our one year anniversary is next weekend, hooray for September 2008 anniversaries!

    I try to drink a cup of tea and take some time to prepare it to stay stress free!

  5. Jessica, that's crazy! Such a small world 🙂

  6. I'm all for carving in some laziness-time! I need it to keep me sane, honestly. Good luck at the 5K this weekend!

  7. For some reason some of the words in this post aren't loading for me??? Good luck at the 5k! Love all those amazing grass bars- yummmmy! Great tips. I think being organized is the only way to make it through crazy/busy times!!

  8. Ugh…I just saw that, Erica. I have no idea why, but I think I've got them fixedd now!

  9. It seems like there's always at least one month of the year where every day seems scheduled and busy. That was my August. I try to find one day where I live completely off schedule and do all kinds of indulgent things like give myself a pedicure, watch bad TV, take a long bath, etc. It keeps me sane. Good luck with everything and happy early anniversary!!

  10. yeah … my schedule feels like a set of calculus notes. lol.
    good thing i enjoy math?
    anyway, gosh now a berry amazing grass bar too? dang it. i want to try these!
    -muffy

  11. How do I go about getting samples to try from a healthy company as you did here? I keep seeing this rave about different powders (hemp, flax, chia, etc) and this superfood and I was going to buy some, but if I can try free samples and blog about it, well that would be even better? If I can’t do it then i will still buy them, try them, and blog them. I am just curious 🙂 thanks.

Leave a Reply

