Fresh Market

Hi guys! Happy it’s-already-Thursday πŸ™‚ I hope your week’s going well!

Well, the muffins I brought to the office were a hit! I didn’t say anything to anyone about them being healthy except for one person. He’s on weight watchers, and was sulking because he couldn’t have any of the food anyone brought it (trust me, everything but the muffins were absolutely sinful!) I let on to him that he could have a muffin, so he grabbed one up πŸ™‚

THIS is what I had:

hoooooooly yum. It’s a blackberry rhubarb bar from Great Harvest Bread Company that the birthday girl herself brought in πŸ™‚ It’s was pure heaven in a bar.

Work was work. I did manage to sneak in an Amazing Grass Peanutbutter Chocolate Bar after lunch:

Verdict: it was pretty good! I was hesitant when I opened it and saw a chocolate coating – usually that has been a sign that the bar tastes artificial in my experience. However, when I took my first bite, I was pleasantly surprised! I was also pleasantly surprised to see…

It was green on the inside! It had 10 grams of protein and the same ingredients the amazing meal powder has in it, so that was pretty impressive πŸ™‚ All in all, I’d most likely buy it if I saw it in a store, and it’s better than a lot of other protein bars I’ve tried.

Work ended up being pretty busy again, so I was glad to get out of there!

However, I’m very proud to say that I went straight to the gym to pound out a personal time record! I ran a 5k in a sub 9 minute mile pace! I finished at 27:09! I’ve never run a 5k this fast. Hopefully I’ll be able to run this fast (or faster in Saturday’s 5k.) My HR was pretty up there though… Average HR was 172 and max was 188. Yikes! Tomorrow’s workout will be elliptical and then I’ll rest Friday for Saturday’s race.

Directly after leaving the gym I went to:

!!!!!! Today was the first day it opened, and it was nuts in there! I wanted to go over lunch, but had an impromptu meeting, blech. But oh my, this store will be the death of me my wallet.

I loved it! And I pretty much squeeled when I saw my own personal unicorn:

BARNEY BUTTER! I’ve searched high and low for this stuff, and haven’t been able to find it annnywhere. But, I found it! Here! Wahoo!! I’m trying it with bananas on hemp bread for lunch today. Can’t wait.

Other goods:

If that’s not a big container of greek yogurt…

I don’t think I’ll be buying produce here, as it was pretty expensive. However, I will definitely be buying specialty items here. They also had an awesome meat and seafood section!

Oh, and they also had a make-your-own-almond butter station, which I thought was just the best thing ever!

Dinner was on the run. Shane wanted take out (though I was tempted to pick up some sushi from FM) so I stopped at Moe’s on the way home.

I got the the Close Talker with tofu and guac:

Mmm mm! So tastaayy!

Question: What’s your favorite health food store? (TJ’s, WF’s, FM, local health food stores, etc)

20 Responses

  1. Great Harvest–oh my goodness–you are the reason I discovered a Great Harvest close to me. I do not know if I want to thank you or be mad at you because bread/sweets are my downfall. I am obsessed with Great Harvest–do you have one of the bread cards? Next time I go (which will be Friday) I get a free cookie! I have been going on Fridays to bring a loaf of bread with me wherever I have been going on my weekends. I am excited about all the apple goodies they are featuring. Bring on the pumpkin in Oct/Nov!!!

    Favorite health food store: Trader Joes and Earthfare. Trader Joes is cheaper and has a bigger selection–and Earthfar is just so beautiful inside and they have the best homemade honey roasted peanut butter. So it's a tie! πŸ™‚

  2. Well done on your PR, your going to kill it in the race for sure!! We don't really have the equivalent of Whole Foods etc. in Australia. A lot of our supermarkets have organic sections but that is about it :(. There is 1 store in Perth I love called The Boatshed but it is really just a produce store with nice bakery, deli, fishshop and butchers. It is also very exxxy!! Have a great day πŸ™‚

  3. i'm glad he was able to have a muffin πŸ™‚ I love bringing in good healthy stuff so everyone can enjoy, too!

    I would have to say my favorite place is TJs even though I've only been once. I know! But I get to go in a few weeks when I visit my parents. We don't have one here.

    We do have a Fresh Market, but it's an hour away, and like you said…a bit expensive.

    We have 2 small health food stores in town that are okay. They have some stuff that I can't get at regular grocery stores, which is nice, but they're pretty expensive, too.

  4. I am so excited to hear that the Health Foods store had opened in bloomington, because I have been out of town for a while and I cannot wait to go shopping there when I get home!!

  5. I've never tried WF/TJ/FM – they don't have them here! 😦

    So by default my fav health food store is a local place. LOL

  6. BLACKBERRY RHUBARB? Okay, send my way now please!
    hm must be a new flav of amazing grass bar! i havent seen it anyway yet. coolies!
    grats on your run time.
    fresh market! that looks amazing! is it expensive?
    we only have a wf here and i love it. esp the huge fage containers that i found there too πŸ™‚
    i like the local markets where i go to school bc they have things i haven't found in omaha yet (i commute to lincoln) so yeah. i dunno. lol.
    -muffy

  7. woohoo! holler on that pace! lmao "my own personal unicorn" one reason i keep coming back for more.. that is the best line ever. i may steal it, you are hilarious. i have that big fage in my fridge now! love it. fave store is for sure TJs but alas, i don't have one in utah. i always visit the ones out of state though!

  8. Madison- I hear you on GHB. Such a bittersweet discovery πŸ˜‰

    Learning- yay! A fellow Normal-ite! (Normalion??)

    Buffy- yes unfortunately it was pretty expensive!

  9. Janetha- haha glad someone got a kick out of it:-) steal away!

  10. Good to see that BB is working its way across the country. One day soon it will hit the east! I can feel it!
    I am in LOVE with Whole Foods… I can spend hours there. I just wish it wasn't so expensive. But it is always a treat when I shop there.
    Awesome run by the way!

  11. That's awesome–I've been searching for Barney Butter as well and haven't been able to find it!
    Congrats on the run!

  12. I loove that you didn't tell anyone in the office that your muffins were healthy πŸ™‚

    The new Fresh Market looks awesome, I'm so jealous πŸ˜‰ that's first Barney Butter store spotting I've seen

    And most importantly, congrats on your new 5K PR–you go girl!

  13. Ooooh that place looks great!! Just like a Whole Foods?? I personally LOVE TJ's just because it has good deals. Whole Foods is fun to look at all the stuff, and has some good finds, but it also pretty pricy. I really want to find a Fresh Market or Fresh & Easy!

  14. Wow your grocery adventure looks amazing! We have no cool health food stores here. I've only been to Whole Foods once and none of the others, so it's hard for me to say.

  15. Umm… WHAT! They had BARNEY BUTTER!?!?

    I am so sad, I just ran out of Barney Butter. I mayyy just have enough left to make oats in a jar!

    My favorite grocery stores are Whole Foods and Trader Joes!

  16. LOVE Great Harvest…one of my favorite places!

    Congrats to you that you ran a 5K with sub 9-minute miles; that's pretty darn impressive!!! If I ever do that, you'd better believe I'll be screaming it from the roof tops…

    My favorite health food store is Whole Foods. So predictable, I know πŸ™‚

  17. Wowza that rhubarb bar looks amazing! The only health food store in Gainesville is a place called Ward's. It's all local produce and full of tasty treats. Have a great TGIF tmrw!!

  18. Sooo jealous of your Barney Butter find!

    I was in love with my Whole Foods in Pittsburgh but now that I have to go to one in Jersey I think I like Trader Joes better. The Whole Foods is just too big here – It takes me hours to shop!

  19. Oh my…I totally covet your Fage!!!!!!

    One big thing I'm missing about living in the Chicago area (or really, anywhere that isn't the UP of Michigan), is that we don't have many places to shop for natural foods. We do have a co-op, at least, but it's pretty small. The grocery stores also usually have a small (REALLY small) section of organic/natural products. Can't wait to visit Chicago again soon and stock up at TJ's! πŸ™‚

  20. Oh my gosh, I've never seen Barney Butter in a store before, that is awesome!! And your salad looks absolutely delicious!

Leave a Reply

