A New PR for a 5K Race!

Hi Bloggy friends! Sorry I haven’t been able to post my race re-cap until now! My busy Friday has overflowed into today, and I haven’t had a moment to sit down and blog!

Race Re-Cap

This morning I woke up around 6:00 a.m., regretting the 2 margaritas I had last night at bunco. I also had day one of the visitor who lets me know I’m not pregnant. Race Day. Ohhh race day.

After getting over it, I made my way to kitchen for coffee and copious amounts of water and some breakfast.


I smushed a banana with some Barney butter and spread it on a Flat Out! wrap. It was sooo good. I can’t believe how awesome these wraps are. Best thing since sliced bread, hands down. πŸ˜€ And P.S. look at this CUTE “banana keeper”


It’s from Tupperware, and it’s going to make taking bananas to work SO much easier-and cute πŸ˜‰ I just had to share it with you guys πŸ˜€

Since the race was in my home town, and I was running with my madre, I stopped at my parents’ house before going to the race.


No, no dad popping out of bushes to snap pictures this time. This time, he and my brother came out to support me by being innocent by-standers.

I pounded out the first mile quick. Hearing the man with the stop watch announce “8:14!!!” as I sped by, rocked my world! At first. Then I started to panic that I would wear myself out after a bit. And I looked down and saw my heart rate was already 181. Yikes.

So I paced myself a little better for mile two, but I was still going strong. My heart rate was in the 180’s for a good portion of the race. Oops. My max HR actually ended up being 193 – not good.

Once I got to the third mile, it was smooooth sailing. That is, until my side decided to tense itself up as hard as it could, and nearly made me double over in pain. I was seriously only a tenth of a mile to the finish line, but I felt like I was being stuck with a knife with each step. But I used the mantra that “I AM A MACHINE!” and trucked it to the finish line, making a personal record of 26:46! Holler!!

Obviously I was so excited that I beat my best time of 27:00. However, when I crossed the finish line I definitely didn’t look happy. A few minutes later and the pain was gone. Pain is fades, but personal records are with ya for the long haul! Well, until you broke them again I suppose πŸ˜‰

And the best part!

πŸ˜‰

After the race, I took my dad and big bro up on an offer to get some grub at a little place in Pekin called Cobbler Corner:


It’s a little mom and pop restaurant that’s always packed with patrons!

I had the veggie omelet – light on the butta, with some homefries – heavy, I’m sure, on the butta. Oh well, I ate em anyway πŸ˜€


And they were delish! My brother, dad and I always used to go out for breakfast growing up, so it was nice to do that with them:)

Next Race: Next Saturday’s 10K. This is my first 10K, so I’m SUPER pumped! My friend, Debby will be joining me for this running extravaganza. Woop woop!

Runners: Do you set personal goals when racing? Are they always time-related?

Non runners: What’s a family tradition that you had growing up, that you still carry on today?

11 Responses

  1. Congrats on your PR!

  2. I set a new PR on August 30th for a 5K, 23:46 and last May I set a new 10K record of 47:??. Love challenging myself like that!
    Great job on your PR and good luck on the 10K!

  3. Congrats on the race! It's never fun to have side pain while you're running, but it's such a great feeling to work through it and know that you were able to overcome it!

    xxoo
    Heather

  4. Barney Butter, how I miss thee 😦 I ran out.. total sadness the past few weeks in my house!

  5. Congrats on your PR! That's awesome! And that race shirt is cute πŸ™‚ I love it when you get good shirts! I definitely set personal goals when I'm racing. They're mostly time related, but not always. Sometimes I'll focus on hitting negative splits, and sometimes I'll try to run it with a feeling in mind–like, I want to be breathing a certain intensity, or something. Then I also have a goal to not burn out halfway through!

    Good luck on that 10k! I'm sure you're gonna rock it πŸ˜€

  6. That is an awesome time, you should be so proud! Congrats and thanks for the workout inspiration today πŸ™‚

  7. A banana keeper! that's nifty, I do like. Congrats on you race to.

  8. congrats!! you rocked it!

  9. […] Raced in multiple 5K’s, with a best time of 26:46 […]

  10. […] been reading the blog for a while, you’ve probably seen one of these make an appearance from time to time For those who haven’t, it’s a cute little yellow banana shaped container that makes […]

  11. i am gonna watch oth tonight I did not see the last episode

Leave a Reply

