My First Zumba Experience!

Hi guys! Wow what a jam packed Friday! And it as even my half day today at work! It was jam-packed with fun-ness though:D
After work I decided Niko needed a little spiffing up, so I took her to the groomers. Poor little girl was shaking like a leaf 😦 No matter which groomer I bring her to, it seems like they never treat her well enough. Then again, no one’s good enough for my little Nikster 😉 I came to get her a little early and they were just finishing up.

The finished product:

AWWWWWW. Daddy was sure to have the bows out in no time 😉 He wants Niko to be a tom-boy, haha.

While she was getting prettified, I was out spending teh moneyz. First I just had to go to the Naturally Yours health food store to use my newly realized employee discount. But that only took up about 30 minutes. So I headed into Borders and looked at a couple cook books:

I have an obsession with Alton, and I really want this book in the future. I like him so much I left an Operation Beautiful note in it, and then left it out on a table in hopes that someone would open it up and see it today:

Then…I did it! I bought the cook book I’ve been wanting for-ev-er!

I was going to wait, and get it on Amazon for cheaper than $28, but I managed to sweet talk the cashier into giving me a 30% discount 😉 Score!! I think it was my karma payback from leaving an OB note, heheh
Naturally, I went next door to Fresh Market to pick up ingredients for two meals I want to make from the book this weekend. And I did what I said I wouldn’t do yesterday:

I bought over-priced produce from FM. But it was all organic!! I also found another unicorn!


I had actually gotten in line, having given up on finding them, and then I spotted them in the lady ahead of me in line’s cart. Obviously, I said, “Where did you find those Flat Out wraps?!” She then pointed me in the right direction, and I got out of line to grab them up. Can’t wait to try ’em!

I love that all their meat is all-natural or organic. Buying sketchie meat makes me nervous.
After a short nap, it was time to ZUMBA it up!!! I met my friend at the gym and there were SO many people that attended. The energy was awesome, and the cause was even better. They had raised so much money for Ovarian Cancer before I left – and there was still an hour to go then!
I zumba’d for about an hour before I had to go. Honestly, I wasn’t prepared for it to be such a work out! I wore my Polar F6 HRM just because I was curious, and let me tell you, zumba burns some serious calories when you get into it! I think it said I had burned about 390 in 45 minutes? I’m not quite sure..but it was up there. They had all of their instructors take turns, too, so it was neat seeing all of their personalities. I really liked the ones who got into the most and looked like they were having a blast. It pumped me up!
Pre Zuma fuel:

Then it was off to BUNCO, where I brought the aforementioned birthday cookies. No, unfortunately I can’t say I made them (I wish I did!!) I bought them from a local bakery that is famous in this town for its sweets – Grove Street Bakery.
Bunco was a ball as usual. The group of girls I play with are simply great. And good news!! I won money!! Ten dollas, baby! I haven’t won yet in 2009, so maybe it’ll be a winning streak 😉 It’s $5 to play, so I won $5 for the most “baby buncos.” If you have never played bunco, you should seriously get a group together to play! Has anyone never heard of it?

And after ALL of that stuff, this post also serves as a Race Eve post. Yep, tomorrow morning I’m running a 5K! And it’s in a city 45 minutes way at 8:00 a.m. I forsee a nap in my future tomorrow. Ok…must go to bed. Good night, all 😀

Do you have a scheduled “girls night” every month/week? What do you get together and do?

13 Responses

  1. the niko photo didnt show up for me 😦 i have heard of bunko but never played. us girls try to get together for dinner twice a month. have a great race!!

  2. Good luck at the race! Have fun! 🙂

  3. I love Borders and cookbooks. Your dog is adorable. I just tried the garden spinach flat out wraps and love them!!

  4. Niko is just too precious 🙂

    ROCK OUT THE RACE!!

  5. Sounds like you really did have a busy Friday!!! But what a great way to spend the day. Niko looks ADORABLE, and the Zumba class sounds like so much fun. I've always wanted to try Zumba, but there hasn't been one in my area yet. I'll have to do some searching! 🙂

    xxoo
    Heather

  6. I need a girls night, sounds amazing!
    Cute doggy with the bows!
    I just bought flat-out wraps for the first time ever and wrap everything now, love it!
    Good luck on the 5K!

  7. awww Niko is a cutie! I've only done zumba once and loved it – nice calorie burn girl!! 10 dollas?! woo! haha We're bad at girl nights!! We do have the book club which is helping, but it's only once a month. It's hard to get those together!

  8. Love that cookbook! What two meals are you going to make from it this weekend??

  9. Zumba sounds so fun. I've always wanted to get into a new exercise like that. But never was brave enough or had the chance. I'm glad you won money!! Yay! 5 dollas! Treat yourself to a pumpkin spice coffee now 😉 I don't have scheduled girl nights, but I've been wanting to start. I think I'll try and set one up with my old roommate this year. I never see her and it's sad!

    I know you ran your 5k this morning and I hope you did wonderful!! Can't wait for the recap.

  10. Jenna,I'm going to make the Flank Steak salad and the apple slaw pork chops! Mmm. 😀 Do you have any favorites?

    Taylor – that sounds like a fabulous way to spend the $5! 😛

  11. Flat out wraps are the best for any meal. I love doing girls night outs with friends. We usually go and see a movie, get our nails done or eat anc chat!

  12. Oh wow I've been wanting to do zumba for the longest time! There is little to no availability in my area which stinks!

  13. […] and then jumped on the new arc-trainers at the gym until Zumba at 10:00. Zumba was OK…I liked the first zumba class I went to a while back at Four Seasons gym more. Better music, better moves, better instructors. It […]

Leave a Reply

