Squash it into Soup!

Goood morning! Happy Thursday! I can’t believe we’re rounding the corner to the weekend already! Hooray:D

Last night after taking Niko for her nightly #2 walk, I started on dinner, while watching last season’s finale of Gossip Girl. I still haven’t watched my TiVo’d eppie of the new one, so I thought I’d take a refresher course. I’m glad I did because I forgot a lot of it! So while watching GG and finishing off the rest of my Pinot that I’d opened on Monday, I cooked a little din din.

On the Menu…

  • Stuffed Peppers
  • Squash

For my squash, I made this soup out of the Food You Crave Cookbook:


Here’s the ingredients all sweatin’ it out in the hot tub:


And all swirled together!


It was…OK. I think I put WAY too much curry powder in it, because it was a little overpowering. Light hand, Paige, light hand. I actually only ate about half of it. But that was OK, because I made stuffed peppers for Shane, and I made 3, while he only eats 1-2. Muhaha.

Peppas:


Mmm! They needed a bit more rice, though. I had a bit of a cooking disaster cooking this simple, 5 minute brown rice. I usually use Kraft but this time I used a different brand. Who knew they’d cook so differently? I burnt it a wee bit. Oopsie!


I still stuffed my face, though πŸ˜€

I saved the other half of the butternut squash to make butternut squash for Shane. It’s one of his favorites. I filled in the cavity with butter and brown sugar.


And he devoured it like the growing boy he is πŸ˜‰

The work out didn’t get done last night. But that’s OK, it’s race week, and I need to be rested for my 10K. Though in the future, I need to make strength training a priority again!! I *can* be passionate about more than one thing, I can! Right now, it’s running, but I needs to pump ze iron!

After a little America’s Next Top Model and Real World, (and a few less brain cells) I called it a night. One good night’s sleep later, and I woke up feeling refreshed! I also woke up to a glorious surprise!

Shane: “Oh, I forgot to tell you! You got something yesterday!”

Me: Jumping off the couch, “I did?!!? What?!” (I love getting mail)

Shane: “Look in the fridge!”

Me: *stares then runs to fridge*


I couldn’t believe he forgot to tell me, as much as I looove getting packages! Though it made for an awesome Thursday morning πŸ˜€ Vitalicious sent me some of their products. I saw them on a number of blogs, namely Christina butter’s, and I knew I had to try them – they looked awesome. I’m so excited to try them out and let you know how they are. I even packed a couple in today’s lunch!

Ok, I must cut this post short so I’m not late today, but I hope you all have a wonderful Thursday!!

Question: What product have you seen floating around the blog world that you can’t get your hands on but are dying to try? I can’t wait until I find the new Chobani yogurt flavors!

20 Responses

  1. yay for Thursday! I love that cookbook ,but haven't tried that soup yet. It's on my list πŸ™‚

    ooh ,vitalicious! I havent' tried any of their products since I can't find them here.

    i really want to try those artisana nut butters!

  2. Yay for vitatops! I can't wait til you try them! The triple chocolate ones are the best and I highly recommend a brownie sundae using a vitabrownie πŸ™‚

    I'm with Brandi on wanting to try the artisana nut butters. They have so many flavors – I need to try walnut butter!

  3. Mmmm your stuffed peppers look WAY yummier than mine! lol I think I need to add more cheese too!
    I looooove VitaTops, enjoy!

  4. you are so lucky!!! i have yet to try vitatops and i want to sooo bad. i'm also hankering to try springhill bars, fage, artisana nut butter, and more. what can i say, i love food-lol. those peppers look really good. i am totally blaming ANTM on my current lack of sleep.

  5. So jealous of your package I want to try those!
    Great soup and stuffed peppers, I order them at restaurants but homemade looks way better!

  6. Just saw your ? on my comments, yes I always work second shift at the Hospital! I'm more of a morning person, but got offered nights at my iterview last month and was told I would get more per hour if I did nights, and I love it!!

  7. I still can't find pb&j larabars!! I keep meaning to talk to my grocery store manager to see if they can order them, but haven't yet!

  8. I can't get my hands on the new lara bar flavors, barney butter, vita tops, chobani yogurt.:(

    Your meal looks awesome.

  9. Yum, those look good! I am excited to hear if I need to try them. I have to admit that I have not tried almond butter yet, but I might have to give it a try based on all the buzz.

  10. Christina and Brandi- I've heard of those, but am not quite sure what it is! I'll have to search the blog community!

    HealthySD- yours looked great! I find a good marinara in the mix does wonders for the taste.

    Leianna, I'll bet I would like that too. I'd just have to DVR my shows! Haha

  11. Lifeofalli- you haaave to try AB!!!

  12. Hi Paige!

    Thanks for the comment the other day; love your blog!

    And how exciting is that VitaMuffin package?!? I'm extremely jealous…

  13. P.S. I also cannot get Barney Butter! I'm always on a search for better almond butter…something I'll have to write about soon!

  14. Yummy!!! Hope you enjoy πŸ™‚

    I cannot Naturally Nutty butters. Gaaah I want to try them SOOOO badly, but they sell them no where around here. So sad 😦

  15. I love that all the fall squashes are making blog appearances!
    I cannot find the new Chobani flavors anywhere near me – I've even emailed Chobani and my local grocery store with no luck. 😦

  16. The stuffed peppers look great! I watched the same TV last night so we lost the same number of brain cells, haha.

    So many – lots of TJs stuff like peanut butter filled pretzels, Thrive cookies, barney butter and Pure bars. Sigh

  17. Everything looks so good! Butternut squash has been on my mind a lot lately, I might need to make some tonight! Thanks for showing that recipe!

  18. I wanted to turn my leftover bnut squash into soup last week but I couldn't find a recipe that sounded great. I considering just pureeing it and throwing some creamer in…

  19. I have a tendency to get a little heavy handed with the spices too …whoops πŸ˜‰ The peppers look awesome! Hooray for vitas- they are so delicious. Hmmm products I want and can't find- the jars of Justin's almond butter. I can only find the packets

  20. I LOVE getting packages too! So fun! I also cannot wait to try the Chobani!

    Loving all the squash, perfect for fall!

Leave a Reply

