From Where You Are to Where You Want to Be

Hi guys! Work today was pretty uneventful, which was actually fine with me today. I did have a couple yummy and new (to me) good eats though!


My first honey crisp apple of the season! Mmm I had forgotten how mouth-watering these puppies are!


Has anyone tried Siggi’s brand yogurt? It’s from Iceland and is lightly sweetened with Agave nectar and real fruit. It also has live cultures in the ingredients. It was so good! It was the perfect amount of sweet – which is just barely

–Initiative–

At the company I work, we get a weekly email from a tip from Dr. Zimmerman. I’ve posted on Dr. Zimmerman before on the blog, and sometimes he has some very profound writings. Today’s tip really hit home for me.

As some of you may have seen from my Tweets lately, I’ve been trying to decide what to do with my life, to put it vaguely. My current occupation is as a Project Planner, and while I’m satisfied in this position, it really isn’t my passion. Not to say that I’m not thankful for my job or my company, as I’ve worked my way up here, but I want more.

More specifically, I want to work in the field of nutrition. I’m not 100% sure where or exactly what I want to do with it, but I know that’s a field I am passionate about. I’m basically trying to decide whether I want to just get certified or whether I want a full out degree in dietetics. Obviously getting certified would be easier to do, especially with a full time job, but getting a degree would open more opportunities for me (most likely.) Anyway, I was tweeting about which one I should do, when I read the Dr. Zimmerman email. It opened with this quote:

“Too many of us are waiting for someone to come along and tell us what to do next.”

And then this phrase:

“He slept beneath the moon,
he baked beneath the sun.
He lived a life of going-to-do;
and died with nothing done.”

It hit home. I do this a lot. I always ask people’s opinions, and most of the time, I take them to heart, but I end up just staying where I’m comfortable for probably too long.

Dr. Zimmerman went on to say how having initiative is one of the critical keys in getting what you want in life.

He lists the following as ways to fuel your initiative:
1. Let Go of Your Past – Love this. I think it’s important that we don’t let what has happened to you in the past be an anchor. Move forward with who you are now!

2. Stay Open to New Ideas

3. Keep On Reading –research, news, books, everything!
4. Do More Than is Expected- I love this one. It’s a great feeling to look haters in the face and say, “Look at me now.”

Is there something you’re mulling over right now in life? What initiatives do you need to take to get you from where you are to where you want to be?

©Dr. Alan R. Zimmerman, 20550 Lake Ridge Drive, Prior Lake, MN 55372. Reprinted with permission from Dr. Zimmerman’s “Tuesday Tip,” a weekly Internet newsletter. For your own personal subscription click here.

23 Responses

  1. Honey Crisp apples are my favorite :). That yogurt looks delish!

  2. mmm i love passion fruit! i've never had a honey crisp apple, but my favorite are pink lady apples…similar?

  3. That's a lovely quote! Also, I've been reading your blog for a little while now and figured I'd delurk myself. Love it!

  4. I love this post! I just graduated and it's so hard to find a job right now so I was thinking of going back to school but haven't been able to make a decision. I really need to take some initiative soon!

  5. I really love that quote. Lately I have been thinking about making some changes, but there's always the little voice holding me back. I need to take the leap, and then that way I won't spend the rest of my life wondering what if.

  6. Karena, they are sweet like Pink Lady's but a tad bit different, you should try them!

  7. I really love that quote. I'm not sure what I want to do… so Stay Open to New Ideas is really important 🙂

    I've never tried a Honeycrisp apple! I'll keep my eye out for them

  8. I love the quotes. Letting go is so freeing. I don't think we realize how much POWER we have over our lives. We chose our situations and our reactions and responses. If we don't LOVE our lives we should change them!

  9. This post for me totally hit home, I'm sort of in the same position you are and am confused and scared to go any further than asking peoples opinions. I have a bachelors degree in Exercise Science, did nothing with it yet and now thinking about going back to school in something I REALLY want!
    Good luck with all your decisions, I know how tough it is!

  10. Those quotes are awesome. I want to do something with nutrition and journalism. I decided to double minor in bio at my school because it's the closest I can get to nutrition. My major is Journalism.

  11. GREAT post! I actually know exactly what I want to do, though. I want to be a journalist, and work for my church!

  12. "we are the ones we've been waiting for.:"

  13. I'm so glad these quotes are helping you guys! You all seems so determined 😀

  14. Thank you for writing about this. The second phrase you quoted should be posted on my door for both my husband and I to read each and every day.

  15. Also wanted to say that, I've just found your blog and love it! Added you to my google reader, so I don't miss anything.

  16. Love, Love, LOVE this! Totally inspiring and definitely offers the motivation to change things. Thanks!

  17. I also love the quote and the comments on this blog! I also liked the one you posted about that book Ten, Ten, Ten, or Will what happens right now matter in ten hours, ten days, or ten years? Both lines of thinking seem related.

  18. This is a really great post, and I am excited to see what the future holds for you! 🙂 Best of luck.

  19. I can completely relate to that quote too. I have so many dreams and plans, but I often stay where I'm out for fear of it going badly.

    Great post!

    I can't find honey crisp apples anywhere 😦

  20. Hi Paige,

    I've had the same quandry over the nutrition certification or going for the full RD! I went ahead and am getting the certification right now. I figured it was a good first step, and I can always go back and do more!

    P.S. I haven't tried Siggi's yet, but am determined to now! Rachel's (rachelsdairy.com) is good also.

  21. Wow – what a great post. Also hits really close to home, as I finally admitted to myself that I am not as passionate about what I am doing currently for a career as when I was first out of school. I felt a lot of guilt about wasting the money and time on school and not wanting to continue the traditional path. I have also looked into a career in nutrition and what it would take schooling wise. I wish you the best! I will be following along to see how it goes 🙂

    Oh and I really liked the Siggi yogurts I have tried to far.

  22. I love this post! It's so funny that you talked about this today because at our Weight Watchers meeting last night the leader opened with the question, "Do you know where you're going", and reading this today totally reminded me of it!

    What an exciting time for you right now! I can't wait to see where the journey takes you 🙂
    Danielle

  23. YAY honeycrisps are MY FAVE! and i really love siggi's yogurt but it is so dang pricey.

Leave a Reply

