Stuffed to the Gills

Good Morning everyone! I woke up thinking it was Wednesday, so I need some positivity going on up in here. How was everyone’s Monday’s? Did you watch all the awesome TV going on? Seriously, Monday nights are too much to handle now! We got Heros, DWTS, One Tree Hill, Gossip Girl, HIMYM (although I haven’t started watching that one yet.)

Last night my scary run, I took a mega long shower to make sure every trace of gnat/whatever those bugs are were off of me. I didn’t even drink water first, didn’t eat, nor stretch; I just high tailed it to the shower.

After I was so fresh and so clean, I began making dinner.

On the menu:

  • Salmon
  • Fresh green beans with onions and mushrooms
  • Acorn Squash

I set out to make the acorn squash because I knew it’d take the longest. So I chopped it in half,


put it in a baking dish with about an inch of water, and stuck the halves in the oven for about 45 minutes at 350º

At about 30 minutes in, I began making the salmon. All I did was rub them down with a mixture of brown sugar, cumin, chili powder, salt, and pepper (an Ellie Krieger recipe!)


For the second side on the menu, I chopped and steamed some green beans, while I was sauteeing some mushrooms and onions in a little olive oil. Then I added the green beans, along with some S&P to the mix and voila! Another side!

My portion:


But Shane’s turned out prettier. I don’t know why it always does…bigger portions?


This meal so delicious, and left us stuffed to the gills..heh, pun intended. The acorn squash almost acted like a dessert since I put a pat of butter and brown sugar in each. This will definitely be a repeater.

While I was making dinner, my DVR was overload, so I felt bad, and that I should go relieve it a little 😉 Shane and I watched some On Tree Hill and then called it a night.

I hope everyone has a great Tuesday! I’m going to Body Pump at a new and earlier time of 4:30! It will be nice getting home before 6:00 after a workout class.

Enjoy your day, everyone!

11 Responses

  1. Yikes, Body Pump at 4:30? I don't know how you do it, I do good to get the gym by 5:45!!

  2. That squash looks great! I've only had it once, but I want to do it again.

    The bigger portions do look better! He needs a smaller plate I think!

  3. HIMYM was so good! You'll love it.

  4. Yum – those salmon seasonings sound GOOD!

  5. Love the new season of TV, and can't wait to hear how body pump went. What is body pump exactly?

  6. oh my gosh, i just checked out the bug post! that is gnarly!! haha. you are hardcore. have fun at body pump!!

  7. acorn squash is quite filling! i'm so excited it's back in season

  8. ahhh the squash looks amazing! acorn squash is one of my all-time faves…topped with brown sugar, it is bliss!

  9. I need to try acorn squash, it's one of the few remaining varieties I haven't had.

    I would have showered immediately too, glad you got fresh and clean!!

  10. I ❤ acorn squash with butter and brown sugar!

  11. The menu sounds great! I love salmon. Husband doesn't but many Saturday nights we'll have a his and her protein. He will eat steak and I'll enjoy some grilled fish. Salmon is one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

