The Best Wine I Ever had: Anniversary Trip Part 3

The third part of our anniversary trip was spent with extreme gluttony! Right after we got done hiking, we made a bee line to get our wine-drinkin’ on. We ended up deciding on going to August Hill Winery, and boy oh boy, am I glad we did! Keep in mind I’ve never been to a winery outside of Illinois, but this winery had THE best wine I’ve ever tasted in my life. And believe me when I say I’ve drunk a lot of wine.

 

IMG_1997

We started out with sampling, of course. We each tried 7 wines plus 2 port wines.

IMG_1992

Honestly, out of the nine (eep!) wines I tried, not a one of them disappointed me. They were all absolutely fabulous. The connoisseur who was helping us was extremely knowledgeable, and helped us pick a few out.

Shane is more of a <s>beer drinker</s> sweet-wine drinker while I like the dryer wines. Surprisingly, we found a pinot noir that we both thoroughly enjoyed! We ended up buying a bottle to split outside at the winery. However, Shane was the driver, so it was more like Shane drank 1.5 glasses, while I drank the rest of the bottle.

  IMG_1994         

Drinky drinky! We had a wonderful time, just the two of us, talking about the past year and our wedding, while enjoying the fabulous wine. Honest to God, this Pinot was the best wine I’ve ever had in my life. It had prominent notes of bing cherry, and was phenomenal.

After a while, it started to rain, so we brought our wine inside to finish it off.

IMG_1998

On our table was some playing cards, so made ourselves at home and played some two-handed Euchre.

IMG_2001

I won…I think? At this point, I don’t even know if I was playing it right. But I sure had fun! 😀

IMG_2003

 

Obviously we had to buy some to take home. We of course got a bottle of Okeye, the Pinot we drank a whole bottle of, but we didn’t stop there! Shane found a lovely sweet wine, called, Niagra (It tasted a bit like Muscato,) and then we got an amazing, unique-tasting champagne, that we plan on drinking tonight while we watch our wedding DVD, that’s an Almond-Infused sparkling wine. I know you foodies just swooned. Don’t lie 😉

IMG_2004

The hubski spending all our moneys on wine. So worth it.

We then <s>stumbled out</s> left the winery, starving, and looking for somewhere to eat in the small town of Oglesby. We found a mom and pop Italian restaurant, where we both stuffed our faces until utter discomfort. It was awesome. No pictures, though, because I was purely exhausted by now!

Shane really out did himself with this one. It really turned out to be an awesome first anniversary (surprise) trip. It had all elements of a perfect trip: romance, outdoors, physical activity, wine, and each other! OK…sorry if that was a little too cheesy for some of you, but I had to gush! 🙂

OK – I gotta get back to concentrating on this Bear’s game we’re watching right now. Currently is 17-16, Bears. GO BEARS, GO!! After the game, we’re going to watch the wedding DVD and drink our almond champagne! SO excited 😀

Question: Are you a wine drinker? If so, what’s your favorite type? If not, what’s your favorite beverage? I like pinot noir in the winter and chardonnay in the summer. Obviously you know what my favorite brand is after last night 😉

8 Responses

  1. Sounds like fun, never been wine tasting before. Never really had wine before, not really a drinker:) The almond one sounds amazing!
    My husband is a die hard Bears fan too, so glad they won or hes crabby!

  2. How fun!! I want to go to a wine tasting – looks like my kinda place! I like chardonnay when it's warm, and Cabernet sauvignon when it's cold!!

  3. Sounds like a fun time! I love almond sparkling wine. I had it at a place in Chicago when I was visiting my Mom and I seriously dream about it!

    I love wine! My favorite is chardonnay when it's warm and cabernet when it's cooler.

  4. Looks like a great time! I love to just grab a bottle and share :). My fave is Sauvingon Blanc from New Zealand – Isabel, Montana, Oyster Bay and from the Barossa – Shaw and Smith! Grab one and try if you ever seem them at the shop :).

  5. Robert Mondavi Merlot is my favorite, but Mich Ultra is my beverage of choice. When I was working my way through college though, Boone's Farm did just fine. So, what winery makes Boone's?

  6. H*A*P*P*Y A*N*N*I*V*E*R*S*A*R*Y!!!

    Sounds like an absolutely fabulous day! What a hubby you have there. 🙂

    We are big on chewy, full bodied Australian reds around our house. FH is quite particular, while I like a little more variety. We both agree on Katnook Estates Shiraz and Cab Sauv for a yummy bottle around $20. (Although we can't buy it where we live now!! Booooo!!)

  7. I'm glad you guys had a great Anniversary weekend. It sounds perfect!

    I love wine, but I'm not very good at picking it out. I just like drinking it, haha.

Leave a Reply

