My Journey to Healthy Eating

It took me a long time to be where I am today in regards to eating. I can currently say that I am pleased with not only what I eat, but also my eating habits.

In high school, I had disordered eating during my sophomore year. I got down to a very low weight for my height, and I wasn’t healthy (I won’t disclose as it may be a trigger for some, and this is what I don’t want!) I was obsessed with calorie counting and it consumed me – day in and day out. Kelly made a post a while back about Default thinking. Calorie counting used to be my default thinking.

I also had horrible body image. When everyone else saw super skinny, I saw something else. It was no doubt a control thing.

After recovering, thanks to the help of friends and family, I gained weight and began eating more, but still had those obsessive habits pop up every now and then. I’d either eat a lot, and feel super guilty, or I’d count calories until I was exhausted. Actually up until last year, I still somewhat counted calories – not as extremely, and mostly in my head rather than on paper, but the thoughts were still there in my mind. These thoughts and were constant reminders that I wasn’t completely healthy and I was a prisoner to them.

Now, I guess you could say I’m a very good listener to my body. Our body’s are very smart, by the way. I know not to eat foods that make it mad (junk food, lots of sugar, or lots of grease,) and instead I feed it with fruits, vegetables, healthy fats, lean proteins, whole grains, and legumes. In return, it gives me good skin, nails, energy, and weight maintenance. When I make my body mad, it in return, gives me a stomach ache or gets bloated, for example! haha Obviously I don’t have a 100% perfect diet, and I do have the occasional treat (I ear chocolate once a day!), but overall, I like to give my body what it likes.

I don’t give myself an allotted number of fat grams or calories per day, because that just leads to obsessive thinking. However, just because I eat healthy, doesn’t mean I eat less, though. I do eat more nutrient dense (which sometimes=calorie dense) and healthy-fat foods like nut butters, good oils, and avocados. An avocado’s benefits are so worth the extra fat in my day’s menu.

Basically, I eat the foods listed above when I’m hungry and when I have a craving for something like chocolate or ice cream, I typically give in (I have chocolate once a day, by the way!) I don’t punish myself by constantly thinking about how many calories the food contains and it’s a wonderful thing. Now, I feel free of those thoughts forever!

IMG_1958

Now this isn’t to say I don’t think about what I eat altogether. I mean, I’m a food and health blogger – it’s what I write about! I can say, that while I do eat mindfully, I don’t really think twice about how much fat or calories a certain dish has in it. I know that I eat very healthy foods the majority of the time, so why obsess if I know it’s healthy? Actually, when it comes to eating, I basically have three goals for my daily menu:

  • To get in as many nutrients as possible through whole foods, so I don’t have to get my vitamins in the pill-form
  • To try to only eat one or less meals per day containing meat
  • Try to get in a serving of fruits and veggies at every meal – or if not, then the snacks in between

So I haven’t really gone that much into “my story” on the blog yet, so there you have it. I can tell you it’s been a long, long journey, and not everyone knows this about me (or at least my story about it,) so I’m putting this out there modestly and vulnerably, in hopes that my message helps at least one other person stop the madness of obsessing over calorie counting.

24 Responses

  1. What a beautiful story! I too suffered from obsessive eating conditions in high school and was very ill, mentally and physically. It took many years of counseling and healing to get where I am now, but the journey isn't over. And with my current health conditions the weight issue is a constant battle, and will always be that way. You are an inspiration and beyond brave for sharing this. Thank you!

  2. Thank you for sharing your story, i can definitely relate to the disordered eating. i look forward to reading your blog. I like your daily goals too. very reasonable!

  3. Great post! Love the honesty and glad to hear that you're more able to listen to your body (its funny…its a skill with start with….somehow lose and then work HARD to regain). You're such a pretty lady

  4. Wonderful post. Glad you shared your story.

  5. Thank you so much for sharing your story – keep up the great work and determination.

  6. Thanks for sharing, I'm still in that obbsessive stage and it's wonderful to see someone defeat it and be in a good place.

  7. Great post, and props for sharing all of that! I know it's tough.

    Glad to join you on the "good for your body" food journey!

  8. thank you for sharing your story! your goals are great ones to reach for and it sounds like the hard work has paid off 🙂

  9. Great post! 🙂
    It's wonderful that you're able to listen to your body now and stop counting calories–thank you for sharing your story!

  10. Great post! I am slowly learning how to listen to my body. It's amazing how much better I feel when I listen to what it needs!

  11. Thank you for sharing your story. It really struck a nerve with me…very similar. I'm really proud of you. 🙂 go girl!!

  12. Great job with the healthy eating and listening to your body!

  13. Thank you for sharing your story. Your daily goals are great ones to have and what I also strive for in a day of eating as well.

  14. Thank you for sharing your story. Being healthy is a balance and a challenge. Keep up the good work!

  15. I think you have some great goals for your daily eating habits, I especially like the optimization of nutrients through foods to prevent the need for multivitamins! I am a firm believer in this. Something I always try to do at each meal is include 3 different colors on my plate (excluding neutral colors like white and brown). This way I can be sure that I am including a wide variety of nutrients at every meal.

  16. Thanks for all the positive comments:-)

    Amari-what a great idea!

  17. I can really relate. I have struggled with disordered eating/counting since high school also and can remember dieting back in 5th grade! But I'm finally learning to just trust my body and eat as healthfully as possible and not feel guilty about eating what I want.

    Thanks for sharing your story!!

  18. Thanks for sharing; I know it isn't an easy topic to talk about. Just know that you are not alone in your struggles with healthy, "normal" eating. I don't think someone with an ED ever fully "recovers," but we can learn better ways to cope with our obsessiveness. You are doing a great job and I hope I can keep up 🙂

  19. thanks for sharing! loved hearing of your journey! and love you! love d

  20. Thank you for sharing your story. You are so inspiring.

  21. Awesome post! It was great getting to know more about you!

  22. thanks for sharing!!! it feels so great to find balance, non?

  23. I really enjoyed this post and hope that I can get to where you are one day. Like you used to be, calorie counting is definitely my comfort zone. I know I can move out of it but I really appreciate the structure of it. It would be nice to be able to loosen up though without giving up all control. There has to be a balance!

  24. […] touched on the body issues and disordered eating I used to have in high school, and I can tell you that one thing that has boosted my body […]

Leave a Reply

