Sick as a Dog

but not me. I’ll explain in a sec.


October 1st!

Welcome, October 1st! Does everyone know by now that today is World Vegetarian Day? I can proudly say I’ll be partaking in this “holiday!” And this whole month is vegetarian month! I’m not going to promise I’ll be 100% meat-free, but I’m going to make an effort to eat as little meat as possible.

October 1st also means pumpkin foods are allowed in our house! Shane and I have a rule that we can’t start going crazy bringing home pumpkin-flavored-everything until October. We both LOVE summer and try to eek out every bit we can. Alas, October is here, which just screams fall. You can bet your behind I’ll be bringing home some pumpkin ice cream tomorrow 😉

…Dirty Jobs

Whew. What a night already! I got home from work, and Niko immediately started getting sick. Poor dog looks pitiful when she’s sick. She’s rat-like as it is (albeit the cutest rat you’ve ever, ever seeeen) but when she’s hobbling around puking, she’s even more rodent like. Poor foamy mouth dog. I just feel so bad for her! I even canceled my dinner out with the girls tonight because of it. Am I the only one who does this? I’ve also called into work late numerous time because the poor thing was sick.

Aww…poor doggy woggy.

Speaking of being sick, I felt great as the day went on! I think my being in denial trick worked! haha However, when I woke up today, I had an excruciating cramp in my calf! I could barely walk! And it didn’t even start to feel better until mid afternoon. Unfortunately this put a damper on my 5K speed work session I had planned for tonight 😦 I decided to be smart Paige and took it as a sign to rest. It still hurts to walk.

Then I remembered yesterday between miles 3 and 4, I felt a calf cramp, but just ran through it. I think that might have been my mistake. I Googled what causes calf cramps, and pretty much got these three answers:

  • Dehydration
  • Over-training
  • Not enough rest or sleep

I think I could pretty much check all of those off. So I’ll take er easy tonight and see how I feel tomorrow. Gah. I’m falling apart!

On a better note, instead of actually running, I can just read about running!

Yay! I love, love, love this magazine. I usually flip though magazine pretty quickly, but I tend to savor this one, reading each and every article. Well, this one and Clean Eating.

And speaking of eating! My eats today weren’t anything fancy. I intended on fueling myself up for a good run, but hey, what can ya do.

a Kitchen Sink cookie from Fresh Market. Can you say yumtopia?


Not pictured were two slices of veggie pizza. By the way, that was my first time trying the sample of that flavored (Deep Chocolate) vitatop, and it was SO good. The best yet, by far.

Well, I’m off to finish cleaning up Niko droppings (sorry, tmi) and probably scrub the floors. Then finally, I have an amazing sounding dinner to cook tonight! Can’t wait to tell you about it tomorrow!

Do you treat your pets like kids? What’s the craziest thing you’ve done in the name of your pet?

10 Responses

  1. Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog!!! I don't currently have a pet, so I can't comment there but your dog is super cute.
    I have those Vitatops in my freezer and I agree, that one is good!!!!
    I love your pumpkin rule….that's so funny. I agree about squeezing every bit of summer out as you can!! I think summer this year went the fastest ever!!

  2. I brought home pumpkin ice cream today!!

    My dog has seen an opthamologist and a neurologist…he definitely gets better medical care than I do!

  3. Awww poor Niko! I hope she feels better soon!

    I totally treat my dogs like kids.

    One time Bailey got sick in the middle of the night. He woke me up because he was crying and when I tried to pick him up he got worse. I couldn't figure out what was wrong so I stayed up all night with him. I took the next day off of work to go to the vet. The only thing they could figure out was that he pulled a muscle or something.

  4. what do you mean? My pet IS my kid! haha I'm very obsessed with him – craziest thing? I dunno! Some think it's odd that we take him everywhere and when we leave the house he wears clothes. I think that's standard….

    I hope little Niko gets better soon – eek! And she does look SO pitiful – poor baby!

    Glad denial is working for you!

  5. I totally treat my dog like my baby. I've recently started making her food myself because her dog food was making her sick. She's the most pampered pooch ever now. LoL

    Hope Niko is feeling better soon!

  6. Aww, poor doggie. I've had to clean up my fair share of doggie sickness and it's no fun.
    I'm not sure I've done anything crazy for my dog – does spending $2000 on surgery count? She's my baby though. I knew I loved her, but didn't realize how attached I was until she was sick.

  7. Aww your poor pup! 😦 I'm sorry.

    Ooo a new runners magazine is out? I've GOT to check my mail 🙂

  8. Aw, poor puppy.

    I never find that magazine here, I'm always looking for it because I've heard great things about it.

  9. Oooh that tea is intriguing, do you recommend it?

  10. Awww, poor sick Niko. I always hated when my pets got sick cuz you could see how sad they were in their little eyes but they couldn't tell you what's wrong. I hope he gets better soon!

Leave a Reply

