Nuances of Running in the Cold

Good evening bloggy friends 🙂 If you haven’t already, please make sure to update your Google reader for my new blog here on WordPress!

I’m happy to say today I did not get stressed out once! I completely evaded it. Actually, there weren’t as many stressful situations as I thought. You know how sometimes we create our own reality? Well I think because I went into the day with a good attitude, it brought a good reality 😀 Gotta love it. Work went by pretty steadily, actually. Can’t kick.

After work, I had some speed work to do. I know I said on this morning’s post that it would probably end up being done on the treadmill, but as I was leaving work, it occurred to me. Why shouldn’t I train outside in this icky, cold weather? The chances of it being warm and sunny on October 25th in Chicago are pretty slim, so why not prepare for it? So I braved the cold. I wasn’t really sure what to wear, as I’ve never been an outside runner in colder weather, so I went with 3/4 length spandex and a T-shirt. Twas perfect. I have to say, there were some new “features” of running in the cold that I noticed today. Running in the cold was harder on my lungs, and I had my first “ew I have to spit” (and did) moment, but all in all it wasn’t too bad. The wind was blowing something fierce!

Stats:

  • 4.3 miles in 39:52
  • Mile 1: 9:32 best pace – 8:07
  • Mile 2: 9:29 best pace- 7:14
  • Mile 3: 9:39 best pace- 7:57
  • Mile 4: 9:29 best pace- 7:23
  • Mile 4.2: 8:44 best pace- 6:58 (yeah baby!)

My goal was to have my rest pace around 9:45 and my speedy pace around 8:45. I think my rest pace ended up being around 10:00-ish and my speedy pace was around 8:30 – I did jog 2 minutes, run 1 pattern.      

Not too shabby! I did get discouraged when running uphill against the wind, and I looked down at my Garmin and saw a pace of 10:10, but that were just every now and then.

After running, I came home and made a quick and easy dinner of Cod, a green beans salad, and pasta.

Dinna

The cod came from this lovely bag:

IMG_0094

Then turned out like this!

IMG_0100

So while that was cooking, I started making the green beans.

IMG_0099

I just sauteed some red onion and white mushroom in some oil, then added the green beans, salt, and pepper.

IMG_0095

Next, I prepared the pasta. There was hardly anything to it. I just toasted some slivered almond, cooked some bow tie pasta, and to the pasta I added one minced garlic clove, some olive oil, and a wee bit of chicken broth. When combined, I finally added some parmesan cheese.

IMG_0098

And washed everything down with some boxed chardonnay, because I’m klassy like that 😉

IMG_0096

The star of the meal was actually the pasta. Shane and I both agreed that the Cod’s seasoning was the loser of the three. Bagged grocery store fish, 0, Paige, 1. I’m liking the process of cooking more and more lately. It’s getting to be almost therapeutic, whereas a couple years ago, I’d probably describe it as chaotic! haha

Now it’s time to go catch up on Gossip Girl so I can talk about it at work tomorrow!

I hope you all had a lovely Tuesday! “See” you in the morning!

9 Responses

  1. I find cooking to be therapeutic too. It’s a good way to unwind after a stressful day. Too bad the cod didn’t taste too good… it’s a hit or miss with those kind of producta~

  2. too bad about the cod – i need to find a straight-from-the-freezer fish for myself!

  3. Cooking is theapeutic for me too :).

  4. Good work on the outdoor run. I am a big whiney wuss when it comes to the cold. I hate the burning lung feeling.
    Your dinner looked yum. I like cooking but I’ve had shoes come in boxes bigger than my kitchen so I find it a little stressful. I cooulld be tidier but that doesn’t sound fun.

  5. I am all for outside walk/runs too, but in Illinois watch out later. When the ice, slick spots, and YUK snow starts, it is not worth getting hurt. It’s actually kinda nice to mix it up with some indoor, health club machines at those times.
    Your dinner looked good. It’s hard to find fresh fish in IL. Even in restaurants it’s a gamble when ordering a fish dish:-(

  6. great job on the run!

    I find that as long as my hands are warm, my running is better in a little bit of a chill than steamy hot weather. so I have running gloves for colder times 😉

  7. The fish looks delicious–so does that pasta mmmmm!
    And I really like your plates!

  8. 1) LOVE the new setup (mostly b/c now I can comment at work hehe). Was it super easy to transition? I really do love the wordpress tab feature :\

    2) Awesome job on the run! I love running in the fall weather – capris, a thin fleecy type thing over a tshirt or tank, maybe some gloves and you’re set! It might take a little getting used to, but it definitely beats the treadmill!

  9. I used to hate training in the cold, but started to really enjoy it last year. It takes some time and definitely must invest in the right winter running gear…gosh an excuse to shop!

Leave a Reply

