Embarking on a New Journey and a Review!

Hi everyone! I intended on posting about today’s food day at work, but instead, I have something much, much more exciting to report! Remember how in yesterday’s post, I told you that I might be embarking on a new journey that’s fitness/health related? Well, now I am for certain!! I didn’t feel like waiting anymore to find out if I got in, so I called myself and found out!

Let me explain. I was feeling kind of overwhelmed with starting the Food, Nutrition, and Dietetics program next semester. Shane and I talked it over, and there’s pretty much no way I’ll be able to quit my full time job to go back to school. I’ll have to do both. That’s still the plan, and I still plan on going back to school next semester, but I wanted to start on my new career path immediately. I’ve also had in my mind that I want to become an RD and become a certified personal trainer. I think they’ll go hand in hand in many situations, such as working in a wellness center.

Well, I was walking around work the other day, and found a class catalog. I picked it up, because last year, this school offered a wine connoisseur class I was interested in, and thought about doing it this year. However, the first page I flipped to hit me – it was a personal trainer certification class – and it started October 20th!! I immediately researched it, and the more I found out about it, the more I wanted to take the class. I mean, why not take it this semester before the classes start piling on next semester? So I did it. I signed up! There was a 2-3 day wait to see if I got in or not, but today I just said “screw it” and called them, and I GOT IN!!! I start personal training classes THIS MONTH.

I’m finally embarking on my passion, and it feels pretty damn good. I actually can’t wait until class starts! 😀

To celebrate, instead of going to Body Pump class, I worked it out with my all time favorite personal trainer (well, tied with Chalene Johnson,) Jillian Michaels:

 

base_media

 

The class will be pretty intense. It’s only a month long, but has three hour classes two nights a week, plus two all-day sessions on a couple Saturdays. I say BRING IT. 😀

 

VitaBrownie Review

Remember a while back when Katie from Vitalicious sent me a sample pack of Vitalicious products? Well, I’ve been so excited about trying the VitTops on the blog, that I haven’t even tore into the VitaBrownies that came in the sample pack. Well, until today, that is.

 

IMG_0824

 

First off, some background info on VitaBrownies.  You get a good sized brownie for only 100 calories. Secondly, the VitaBrownies, like the VitaTops, have to be frozen, because they don’t contain any preservatives – a huge plus in my eyes. Additionally, they contain a good amount of nutrients (15 vitamins and minerals) and fiber (4-7 grams.)

 

IMG_0825

Sexy stats, eh? 😉

I got to sample the Deep & Velvety Chocolate brownies, but there’s also a dark chocolate pomegranate flavor.

Why oh why didn’t I open these sooner?! I know I’ve raved about the VitaTops, but the VitaBrownies are even better! In my opinion, they didn’t have a trace of that “fake taste” in them. Since I’d forgotten about the brownies until last night, I decided I’d try one crumbled in some Fage for breakfast today.

 

IMG_0815

But before I did that, I figured I should try it alone, so I could review the brownie without any other variables relying on it.

 

IMG_0817

 

SO good! Yumtopia good! I couldn’t believe it, but it was actually better on its own than in Greek yogurt! I will definitely be scouring the grocery stores for more of these when I run out. One brownie would be a perfect night time dessert. I have a dessert pretty much every night, and one of these babies would be a very healthy option for just 100 cals.

 

Well I’m off to cook some dinner and catch up on Glee! 😀 I’m not sure what’s on tap for dinner tonight. I’ll be cooking for one, so I’m foreseeing a vegetarian meal/opposite of Shane meal in my future!

 

Ready for Friday?! I sure am!

14 Responses

  1. That is so exciting! I think that you have to follow your heart. You have to do what you want to do in life. Shut off the rational training that we’ve endured our whole life and go for Gold –they’d say that in Oz. It’s what I am doing with nursing…I am going to be in debt up and beyond my ears, but it’s where my heart is..and for that I can’t stop my dream.

    WOO HOO! ~M

  2. Paige, I am so so excited and happy for you!! i can’t wait to hear all about everything you learn!! Congrats 🙂

  3. Congrats on your new journey!!! I am so excited for you!! They do go hand in hand. On a lighter note, when do those brownies hit the shelves? They look awesome!

    • Thanks 🙂 I believe they already are on the shelves! If you can’t find them anywhere, they also sell them online, or if you want, you can email me and I can give you the name of someone who could probably help you out:)

  4. Congrats on getting in Paige – I can’t wait to read about what you’ll be up to in your classes! Sounds fun! And good on you for getting on to it asap – why wait!

  5. DEFINITELY ready for Friday! 🙂

    Oh Jillian. I cant’ get past Level 1. She scares me too much. Got the husband to do Level 2 though, and that was very entertaining!

    How wonderful about your decision! Congrats to you! Can’t wait to hear about your journey 🙂

  6. Oh my goodness Paige!!! Congratulations!!! What an exciting journey to embark upon. I’m sure you’ll handle everything just fine… you are such a strong, determined young woman. Good luck girl! 😀

    xxoo
    Heather

  7. woah that is SO exciting about the personal trainer idea!! yayyy 🙂

    love me some vita brownies!

  8. Gotta love Glee 🙂 Congrats on your upcoming journey!! New life changes are always so exciting!

  9. congrats girl, that is so exciting!!!!

  10. Congratulations! 🙂 I’m so happy for you–it’s so exciting when you go for something you’re truly passionate about!

  11. Congratulations on your new adventure! Good job going out for what you want to do; and I can’t wait to hear all about your certification!

  12. Congrats girl! That’s so awesome!

  13. I’m so proud of you for finding something that you wanted to do and GOING FOR IT! Go you!

    I love how scientific you were when you tested your VitaBrownie – especially since we just finished up the scientific method in my science class.

Leave a Reply

