No Pressure Run

What a laaazy day today has been. Well, except for the fact the I have a new Personal Distance Record! Yep, I ran eight miles today in 1 hour 20 minutes and 17 seconds. I actually went back and forth about 5 times on whether I would run it today or tomorrow, but ultimately (and obviously) decided I’d do it today. I woke up with a major head and cramps, because ya know, I picked Day One of TOTM to run my longest distance. Plus, it was 40 degrees outside! However, I thought of Caitlin’s post about not putting any pressure on making any certain time, and decided I’d make this run the same. I decided to call it a No Pressure Run. I just ran at whatever speed felt right, and didn’t care if I was running an X minute mile. I just wanted to finish and enjoy the run. I also new I had to wear layers since it was a cold one!

 

IMG_0858

I think I over dressed just a wee bit, but I wasn’t super hot or anything. I had on some lulu pants, a long sleeved nike shirt with a lulu jacket over it. Hey, I wanted to be prepared.

 

So that’s what I did.

 

  • Mile 1: 9:55
  • Mile 2: 9:57
  • Mile 3: 10:02
  • Mile 4: 10:11
  • Mile 5: 10:06
  • Mile 6: 10:09
  • Mile 7: 10:07
  • Mile 8: 9:50

 

It was actually an easy run for 8 miles! Or at least a lot easier than I thought it’d be. I knew I would have to stay hydrated for 8 miles, so I had originally planned to do my 6 mile route, which has a drinking fountain at the end, get a drink, and then do the route again but cut it in half (or a little under.) But I knew I could reach ISU and run around there (which I love doing) with 8 miles to use up. I also knew there was a Potbelly’s about a mile away when I reached mile 3, so I decided to just run in the Potbelly’s and jam out to some acoustic Jimmy Buffet cover singer, and gulp water in the bathroom sink. Surprisingly, the water tasted very good!

I felt much better and hydrated, and I was on my way. Then I ventured to ISU, which is nice, because it’s so pedestrian friendly because of all the students. They even have a cool tunnel underground so pedestrians don’t have to walk across a super busy street. I ran past all the buildings I used to go to class at, and then ran on over to Uptown Normal to see the progress they’ve made on “redoing it” and it looked awesome! I kinda got lost in the construction, but I eventually found my way out and back to the main road, and back to my street at exactly 8 miles. It was such a nice, no pressure run. It was also a beautiful run. Due to the freeze we had last night, all the trees are shades of bright red, orange and green. So beautiful.

There ends my productiveness. The rest of the day has been spent in the theatre downstairs watching Close Encounters of the Third Kind with my lovely husband. It’s a pretty good movie!

Actually, I did end up getting the Halloween decorations out today, so that counts as productiveness, right?

 

IMG_0862

 

IMG_0863

IMG_0865

 

Now I’m trying to get up the motivation to go to the grocery store and the car place to get some windshield wiper blades with the hubski.

Surprisingly, I’m not a hungry beast today. After burning almost 1,000 calories on my run, you’d think I would be, right? I’ve been refueling, nevertheless, but not eating everything in sight like I usually do.

Today’s eats include some hemp toast with the rest of my Barney butter and black cherry jam:

 

IMG_0856

Doesn’t the banana look like the little guy from the Geico commercials?

 

IMG_0855

I ran out of Barney Butter, and it was a sad moment.

 

I’m in a such a toast phase lately.

Some brown sludge/green monster, which included a half of a frozen banana, one carrot, one scoop of Amazing Grass Superfood, almond milk, and a packet of this protein powder I picked up at Naturally Yours:

 

IMG_0860

It was pretty good! The strawberry taste was a bit overbearing, but with the other stuff mixed in, it was pretty OK.

Some quick n easy chili with a Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Peanut Butter sandwich:

 

IMG_0861

The chili had didney beans, crushed tomatoes, chili powder and coriander.

 

I have a feeling tonight’s going to be continued with some laziness. I might get up the motivation to do a load of laundry. Maybe 😉

Is your appetite typically suppressed or rearing to go after a rigorous workout?  I know I need to eat back those calories I burned off, but I’m just not that hungry today! Maybe it will kick in tomorrow :)       

7 Responses

  1. Funny, seems like we ran about the same distance in about the same time today! I’m usually famished after a long run but haven’t been yet surprisingly. Have a great Sunday!

  2. Congrats on the distance!
    As my distances have increased, I’ve noticed the hungry monster has reared its ugly head. I’m still trying to figure out the refueling and how it fits into my weight loss.

  3. Congratulations on the run! sometimes I have a delayed hunger after a hard workout – I wonder if you’ll be famished tomorrow! 😉

  4. Great run!! Sounds like the perfect fall day to go out for a nice 8 miler. 🙂

    I’ve found that it really varies whether I’m hungry or not after a long run. Sometimes I am famished after 9 or 10 miles, but after my last half marathon, I had a couple snacks and not even half of my dinner and I was full. Not sure what I may be doing differently to make me more or less hungry for long miles….

  5. Great job on your run! I know running in 40 degree weather isn’t all that great, but I’m so jealous! It’s going to be nearly 90 degrees with 100% humidity when I do my six mile run tomorrow morning. ICK!

    I agree with runninginpink, sometimes I’m a hungry beast right after and sometimes it hits me later that evening or the next day.

    Oh, and you can have your breakfast oats in your empty Barney Butter jar tomorrow if you saved it! Super yum!

    Danielle

  6. My appetite is always suppressed right after I work out and then later it comes on like a starving lion!

  7. Are you going to use the Barney Butter Jar for jarred oats brekkie? 🙂 My appetite is always less after a hard workout, but I’m also more aware of my hunger cues when I am working out 🙂

Leave a Reply

