Spoil Me Rotten

 

Hey party people! I had a wonderfully spoiled day. After work, I ventured to the Work Out Company and ran an easy three miles before I did some tricep, shoulder, and chest work. It was a glorious gym sesh – just what I needed. I had to make it semi-quick, because I had to head to my hometown for a girls day with my madre followed by a girls night with my hometown girlfriends!

When I got home my mom treated me to a fabulous manicure and pedicure!

IMG_0841

I opted for the vampy dark look, seeing as it’s freezing and gray here in Illinois. It was every bit of relaxing as I anticipated, too! I kept saying, "I feel so pretty!" haha Typically I’ll get a pedicure every month on the dot (the very girly side of me) but this month I think it’s been 5 or 6 weeks, so my feet were looking rather mangy. How’s that for a descriptive word?

 

Afterward, my mom had to get some groceries, so I very willingly tagged along and scored some goodies for myself 😀

 

IMG_0844

 

Plus some hummus, Amy’s burritos, and spinach in the fridge. Holler! 🙂 They had a wicked sale on bars, so I stocked up on a good variety. I’ve never had the Clif Mojo or Z bars, so I’m excited to try ‘em out!

Then we came home, unloaded the groceries, and my ma got started on dinner:

 

IMG_0845

 

It was really good. She made sweet potatoes, baked chicken, and gorgonzola pasta:

 

IMG_0846

 

 

The pasta dish is whole wheat pasta with gorgonzola, tomatoes, olive oil, and broccoli – SO good. And so easy! Genius:) I definitely had seconds.

See why I feel so spoiled now? It’s great coming home 😀 Not to mention, I get to see my awesome fam!

Then it was off to my girl, Mel’s house for girl’s night! I haven’t seen these girls in forever, so it was so nice seeing everyone! We drank a little wine and played a view games like Apples to Apples and Categories I Think it’s called? The game you pass around and it gives you a word your trying to guess (kind of like I’m doing right now! LOL) It’s funny, because these girls were my friends from back in the day, and we used to get in so much trouble together – the rebels we were, and now half of us are married, and most on our way there, and then there’s even a few with babies! So instead of bar hopping or partying all night, we now spend a quiet night in drinking wine and playing games. Oh…growing up 🙂 haha There really is a big difference between 19 and 25. I can’t remember the last time I saw 3 or 4 a.m. except to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night – bahaha.

Eats

Besides the yummy home-cooked dinner, and a couple cookies had over at Mel’s, I had…

Green Monster with a special guest of a frozen peach:

IMG_0837

Some hemp bread with black cherry jam and Barney butter:

 

IMG_0836

Oatmeal:

 

IMG_0839

This was actually a new variation. I still had a banana and peanut butter in there, but I also added some of my pumpkin tofu mousse for some sweetness and a wee bit of egg whites for a protein boost 😀

Raspberries:

 

IMG_0842

And of course, a cocktail, because that’s how we roll in this house!

 

        IMG_0848

 

Yes, my parents own a kegerator. And it’s glorious.

 

Catchya on the flipside, homeslices!

How often do you get to go back to your hometown? As much as you’d like?

7 Responses

  1. Awww, there’s no place like home! Love the mani/pedi color. And a kegerator?! Your parents sound awesome 😉

  2. Hello! Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂
    Love the dark nail polish! I live in my hometown, so I visit often haha. However, I don’t see my parents a whole lot, maybe once a week at most. I’m seeing them today though!

    Have a great weekend 🙂

  3. What a wonderful Friday! I see most of my close family pretty often, but I do have an older sis in Florida. I don’t get to see her as often as I’d like, but when I do, it’s a blast. She lives within walking distance of a gorgeous beach, and her hubby has a boat. I can’t wait to see her and experience the whole Florida thing again this winter. That, of course, includes shopping in an awesome outlet mal that has Banana Republic, Coach and more:-)

  4. Manicures/Pedicures with mom are the best! My husband and I are heading home to our hometown today – so excited!

    Have a great weekend 🙂

  5. I pretty much moved back to my hometown after finishing grad school. It’s a cute, quaint little college town in the middle of BFE, so I definitely miss the creature comforts of shopping (thank God we at least have a Target around here, haha), ethnic restaurants, and culture. I guess we have our own little culture up here in the U.P!

    On a side note, I think I need to have a kegerator in our home!!

  6. I live about 20 minutes from my home town, so I go pretty often 🙂

    How do you like the hemp bread? I’ve been thinking of getting some

Leave a Reply

