My Dog Does the Galloway Method

Well today went much better than yesterday! No dropping my iPhone fiascos or scuffing up brand new shoes! Plus I was in a much better mood all around. I was fairly busy at work with a few meetings and desk work, so it passed by pretty quickly, which was A-OK with me!

I decided I was going to go on a 5 mile steady-paced run after work today, which I just got back in from! Holy crap it was freezing! I dressed in less clothing than I did for Saturday’s long run since I was a little warm, but it was also a little colder and later in the day today! My ears, hands and nose were cooolllld the whole 5 miles. It must be that I’m just a little wuss, though, because I saw plenty of runners out with just shorts and a long-sleeved tee!

My speed during the run surprised me, and I finished 5 miles in 45:51 with a breakdown that goes a little somthin’ like this:

Mile 1: 9:16IMG_0917

Mile 2: 9:15

Mile 3: 9:18

Mile 4: 9:14

Mile 5: 8:47 (I totally booked it the during the last leg of this mile)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was wore the f out when I got home. The sprint at that last half mile took everything I had. Somehow I mustered up enough energy to grab the dog and take her for a little poo walk after, though. Yeah, I totally wore what I wore running, not realizing that it’s even colder outside while just walking. To produce some heat and to speed up the walk home, Niko and I ran-walked it. I have to say, Niko is definitely not a running dog, but she can do one mean galloway method run. She enjoyed it thoroughly:)

 

Eats for the day were good and healthy!

 

I had a turkey sandwich with spinach, sprouts, and mustard on an Arnold’s sandwich thin for lunch:

IMG_0907 IMG_0908  

Alongside were some more of my pumpkin tofu dip with Stacy’s Cinnamon Pita Chips:

img_0840_thumb So freaking good. If you haven’t made any yet, do so ASAP!

Then before I left work, I had a pre workout snack of Vanilla Oikos and Raspebrries!

 

IMG_0912

 

I gotta jet because now I’m about to go out to eat! Not sure where yet, but I’m sure I’ll be posting about it by tomorrow 😉

5 Responses

  1. Pumpkin tofu dip… I’m intrigued! I can’t decide if that would be awesome or… not. 🙂

  2. Hee hee, glad your dog got some running in there. Your last mile is GREAT!!

    And I hope you got to go somewhere mighty tasty! 🙂

  3. Running in the chillier weather is the best; my times are always so much better! I use cheapo gloves (like the two pair for 1.50$ at Target) when I run and either stick them in my waistband or pockets of my jacket if I get too hot. I also have a cool stocking cap with headphones for my Ipod. If it is too hot, but still chilly out, I use one of the stocking cap material that is like a headband, it just goes around your ears. I usually just end up with a cold butt and everything else is totally warm!

  4. Haha, picturing Niko running just made my morning! Sorry about the cold run.

Leave a Reply

