Chocolate Pumpkin Bread from Libby’s Farm

 

Hey, hey, hey! Thursday’s here! The end of the week’s in sight 😀 I had a niiiice, relaxing night last night. After getting home from the gym and promptly showering and reading blogs, I got started on a lazy dinner. When I say lazy dinner, I mean one that started like this:

 

IMG_0934

 

Then four minutes on high later, looked like this:

 

IMG_0936

 

I picked up this dinner a while ago, because I love, love, love me some Indian. This resembled Chicken Tikka Masala, so I picked ‘er up. The verdict? Meh. It didn’t really have enough flavor for me. I wouldn’t buy it again. It did the job and made me full, though. Plus, I made it a little more interesting with a glass of Chardonnay on side:

 

IMG_0937

 

I ate this “TV dinner” while catching up on Gossip Girl. Regina really grinds my gears!!

 

Anywho, then I got to baking because guess what! We’re having yet another food day at work? Seriously when will this stop. It’s just getting ridiculous. But…I played my part and baked something yummy to share. And it is boss’s day… even though the boss that will be eating it isn’t really my boss anymore, but that’s a whole other story. Since it was already 8, I knew I wanted to make something easy peasy. I found just what I was looking for on Tina’s blog and made a:

 

Chocolate Pumpkin Loaf

I made it because A. I had all the required ingredients, and B. there were only 3 instructions!

 

IMG_0939

 

Combine everything in a bowl and mix well. Check.

Then ya just pour it in a loaf pan and bake on 325º for 45 minutes! See? Easy peasy!!

 

IMG_0942

 

Oh, then sprinkle on powdered sugar if desired. I did indeed desire. I most likely won’t have any – I’m bringing my own food today.

On a side note, see the pumpkin in that mixing bowl? Well, that pumpkin came from this Libby’s Pure Pumpkin can:

 

  IMG_0938   

 

Did you know Libby’s farm where they grow all those pumpkins is only 20 minutes from where I live?? Remember my 10K last month? Well that was in this town (Morton) and the name of that race was “Libby’s Pumpkin Festival 10K.” In fact, Morton declares itself the pumpkin capital of the world! Cool, huh?

Well I must go finish getting ready for work before I’m late! I hope you all have a fantastic Thursday!

 

Does anywhere near where you live deemed the _____ of the world? Or at least of the country or state?

8 Responses

  1. OH this looks incredible!!! I want to eat the contents of the bowl stuffed with ingredients.

  2. That pumkin loaf looks really good!
    I live 20 minutes from LeMars, Iowa and that is the home of Blue Bunny and they are the Ice Cream Capital of the World, weird that something this cool is in Iowa, but when you go there it’s like an old ice cream parlor and you can tour the plant!

  3. yay it worked! we are now back in touch via google reader 🙂 thanks for the tips! i didn’t know to put “feed” at the end. that chocolate pumpkin loaf looks unreeeal. yumm. i love baked goods in the fall! i live in the mormon capitol of the world.

  4. i keep forgetting i can comment on your blog at work now! haha. that pumpkin loaf looks yummy AND super easy…definitely going on my list of possible office breakfast items (o yes, there’s nothing wrong with chocolate for bfast)!

  5. That is really cool! The loaf looks GOOD!.

  6. Your cooking concoctions always look great, but good luck on that vegetarian experiment. A multi-vitamin might help too. How wonderful that your husband is supportive. Years ago when I eliminated red meat, I started getting all sorts of negative comments and occasionally still do. It’s kinda like the comments we receive because we believe in daily exercise.

    • Yep- just gotta deal with those negative people. I’m trying not to think of vegetarianism as an experiment, though- that leaves too much room for failure, and I don’t really feel like i’m experimenting with it this time – I feel like that’s what I did the first 2 times:-)

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

