Cookie Dough Almond Butter & a POM Review

Happy Friday lovely blogettes! (and bloggers if any males are reading!) I’ve had a wonderful Friday so far. Actually, it started off rough with a somewhat rude email I got when I got to work, but I eventually let it rolllll off my back 😀 Plus, I get off of work at 10:30 on Fridays, so it really can’t be that bad, right?!

I decided to pick up a few things at the grocery store after work, and I got some really good deals that I could be showing you right now, if Live Writer didn’t eat my photos. *Ahem* moving on…

Since I’m on a budget as most of you know, I decided not to pick up the tub of Barney Butter that was crying out, “See me, Paige?!? Why aren’t you putting me in your cart?!?” Well, because you’re 11 dollars, Barney, and I can make my own almond butter at home. So this is what I did.

 

Cookie Dough Almond Butter

 

 

I started out with about a half a cup of raw almonds and my food processor:

 

IMG_0969

 

I didn’t want to use them all up in case my recipe was a big fat FAIL. I processed the crap out of them until they looked about like this:

 

IMG_0970

 

Then I did a little taste test, and thought it was good, but needed a little somethin’ somethin’. Enter maple syrup and sea salt:

 

IMG_0985

 

I added a few grinds of sea salt and about a tablespoon of maple syrup, and then processed the mixture for about a minute longer, and the results almost knocked my head off!

 

IMG_0984

 

 

It literally tastes like cookie dough!! (Hence the name) SO good, SO easy, and SO cheap! It’s awesome! I will be making my own almond butter from here on out. OK, perhaps I’ll go back to Barney Butter in a moment of weakness, but those will be far and few between!

 

Apparently all of that suzy homemaker-ness worked up my appetite, and after my successful almond butter extravaganza (yes, it just switched from a process to an extravaganza) I made myself a little snack and started on the daunting task of laundry.

 

IMG_0983

 

 

Just some whole grain pita chips with some edamame hummus and roasted pepper hummus. Yum:) And some Honest Tea on the side. Well..in this picture it’s on the behind, but I digress… It was a yummy snack! And it was a vegetarian-friendly snack 😉

 

 

POM Iced Coffee Review – the New Bean on the Coffee Scene

 

A couple week’s ago, Blue, from POM Wonderful offered to send me some samples of their new Iced Coffee. Of course I said, “heck yea!!” I’m a big coffee drinker and will try anything related to coffee. Plus, this isn’t just any old iced coffee; it’s infused with POMx – a potent antioxidant rich extract from POM Wonderful pomegranates. Additionally, it contains shade-grown Arabica coffee beans, hormone-free milk, and no preservatives. Gotta love those stats 😉

 

IMG_0852

  

 

He sent three flavors: Chocolate, Vanilla, and Coffee Au Lait

IMG_0853

 

 

Fortunately for me, he sent two of the Coffee Au Lait flavors. I say fortunately, because this ended up being my favorite flavor. I love, love, lovvved this flavor. Not too sweet, but not too bitter.

 

IMG_0857

 

I wanted MOAR of them. This flavor clocks in at 170 calories, 7 grams of protein, and 20 grams of sugar.

Next up I tried the vanilla version.

IMG_0854 

 

I liked this version next best. It was a wee bit too sweet for my taste in coffee, and while I could definitely have it every now and then, I don’t think I’d have one every day. The vanilla flavor has 180 cals, 11 grams of protein, and 28 sugar grams.

 

Finally, I tried the chocolate flavor:

 

 

IMG_0980

 

I had high hopes for this flavor, as we all know how obsessed I am with chocolate! However, before I even tried it, I noticed the second ingredient was cane sugar. While that’s better than table sugar, it’s still sugar, and it’s still second on the ingredient list. As I expected, it was too sweet for my tastes. I think it’d be a great treat, though, or maybe a good post-workout or pre-workout drink? This flavor has 190 cals, 10 protein grams, and 30 grams of sugar.

All in all, I’d definitely pick one of the POMx iced coffees if I was pressed for time. They kind of remind me of the Starbucks frappucinos sold in stores, but better – and better for you.

 

After my afternoon of experimenting, it was finally time for a workout. My original plan was to go for a four mile run. But I could tell my body was achy and I just wasn’t up for it. So I turned to my trusty elliptical:

 

 

IMG_0974

 

Only to change my mind again – and finally decided that yoga was the best option for today. So I popped in a random Chalene Johnson yoga workout and got my stretch on:

 IMG_0978 

 

What’s everyone’s plans for the weekend? tomorrow I’m going to Body Pump, then Shane and I are in an afternoon-long euchre tournament! It’s for cash prizes, so I’m hoping we have our game faces on! Then Sunday I have an 8 miler planned.

 

How do you like your everyday-coffee? If you don’t drink coffee, what’s your everyday drink? I drink mine with a splash of half and half and a pinch of stevia. mmmm:)

13 Responses

  1. Mmm, sounds good. I tried to make almond butter once and all I got was almond flour. It was still good but wasn’t really wet like a nut butter.

    I don’t really have an everyday drink. Water? I’m boring.

  2. I love the idea of making your own almond butter! And cookie-dough flavored? yum!

    I will definitely try this 🙂

  3. I’ve recently been drinking plain old black coffee, size small. Nothing exciting. =P

    That maple syrup/almond butter mix looks amaaaazing. I REALLY need to get a food processor! Almond butter is so expensive (*weep* ) but making it on your own seems to be a good way to go!

    Glad I found your blog =) Keep writing!

  4. I’m a tea addict. I have a drawer at work just for tea, and my collection at home is ridiculous… it’s the only way I get in enough water. 😉

  5. cookie dough almond butter!!? its like this post was made for me 😀

  6. My everyday drink is Shaken Black Tea ala Starbucks…it’s pretty much my only vice.

  7. That almond butter makes me wanna drool. 🙂 My everyday coffee is just a good ol’ cup or two with some half and half. I don’t really like the flavored creamers, and I don’t want to add a lot of extra sugar, so I like it pretty plain.

    I think I’m going to run the 15K for the Hot Chocolate run. I haven’t signed up yet, but I see they have cute hooded sweatshirts in the goodie bags now!

  8. I like my every day coffee with a bit of fat free half and half.

    The almond butter sounds great! How resourceful of you 🙂

    I loved the Cafe au Lait flave too!

  9. […] other news, I finally got around to trying my cookie dough flavored almond butter! I tried it on some toasted Ezekiel Bread. Did you know sprouted grains are a complete set of amino […]

  10. […] became disillusioned with the ‘just-like’s. But when Paige wrote about Almond Butter that tasted just like cookie dough (!) I couldn’t resist giving it a […]

  11. The Almond Butter Cookie Dough is FABULOUS! Tricked my two kids too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

