Hot Bod…National Love Your Body Day!

Hello everyone. How was your Wednesday? Mine ended up being not too shabby! Work sped by, and I was even treated to lunch where I enjoyed a fresh veggie burger (not frozen;))

Did you know today is National Love Your Body Day? Let’s celebrate!

header

                          [source]

Our bodies do so much for us and we spend way too much time harboring negative energy towards it! Today’s a day to recognize that our body does so much for us, and we need to appreciate it, and take care of it, and best of all – celebrate it!

 

I’m celebrating by recognizing several things I love about my bod

  • It’s carried me through miles upon miles of running this year – farther than I ever thought it would
  • Because of all that running, my legs have developed some pretty awesome muscles I never thought I’d have!

IMG_1110

 

  • I love my back! I used to think it was “too hard” or too muscular. Plus my scalpulas protrude more than the average person’s (I call them my chicken wings!) I’ve learned to love it, now. It looks great in tanks and dresses!

 

IMG_1109

 

  • My height. I used to hate my height – as I kid I’d even wish I’d wake up shorter. I hated being taller than boys in middle school, thinking I couldn’t wear cute tall heels in high school, and having people tell me, “wow, you’re tall!” (to which I always wanted to reply, “I am?! Who told you that?!”) At almost 5’10, I can now say I love being this tall! I can reach things other people can’t, I have confidence, I can wear most clothing, and you bet I sport cute heels.

 

  • I rarely get sick. I totally credit this to how I treat my body: I work out 5-6 times per week, and try to get in as many fruits, veggies, and superfoods as possible each day – including a daily green monster. And when I do get sick, I’m only down for the count for a day or two. Thanks, bod!

I’m also going to practice some body appreciation by doing the following:

  • Feeding it extra fruits and veggies today! (I had an extra green green monster this morning and double veggies with my lunch so far)
  • Getting in an upper body strength training session
  • Drinking two cups of super antioxidant green tea
  • Eating a Glo Endure bar

 

IMG_0859

Muhaha…I appreciate my taste buds, too 😉

So tell me, how are YOU celebrating YOUR fantastic body today?

11 Responses

  1. haha, you go girl.

  2. :)! Yay! I am going to rest my body today!

  3. I also celebrated my body by giving it lots of fruits and veggies too!!! I also took my bod to spin class. Now I’m treating it with vanilla tea. Happy body!!!

  4. I’m 5 feet, 0 inches tall, and I have the same reaction when people are like “oh! you’re so short!” Really?? I hadn’t ever noticed, thanks so much, lol.

    Your arms look awesome in the picture of your back!!

    • It is irritating when people say obvious statements like that. Thanks for the arm compliment. I just got done doing upper body weights, but we’ll pretend it’s totally natural 😉 Sent from my iPhone

  5. I had no idea it was National Love Your Body Day! How neat! 🙂

    1) I overcame an eating disorder and am now SO self-confident and comfortable with who I am mentally and physically.

    2) I love scars… they have such stories to tell. I have a scar on my leg from when I was 7 years old and walking through our woods when a branch snapped up, dug into my leg, then slid about 5 inches up my thigh. My oldest brother who was 13 years old and with me at the time, carried me all the way home and to our living room couch. Every time I see that scar, I think of my wonderful brother! 🙂

    xxoo
    Heather

  6. I did what any woman would do to appreciate her body, I rested in bed after I got home from graduate school. I didn’t push myself at all and let my body have some time to regain strength. It was much needed and this morning my body said a big “thank you” to me for it.

  7. Yay for this post! I also rarely get sick – a nasty cold hits me once a year, but that’s just from being around all the nasty germies. It’s still amazing to me that people don’t see how what you eat and exercise affect your immune system. Hooray for strong bodies! Glad you’re loving yours 🙂

  8. i love this post & used to hate my height too (i’m 5’7”). i always felt way taller than guys – like i couldn’t wear heels to homecoming! you have pretty awesome legs there lil’ lady!

  9. Love the body love! Great post 🙂

  10. […] do you love your body? Check out last year’s post on National Love Your Body Day, when I talked about how my view has changed about my body – what I used to hate, now I love! […]

Leave a Reply

