The Frank Lloyd Wright 10K

What a beautiful race! The 10K I ran today was absolutely gorgeous – in more ways than one!

Since the 10K start time was at 8:45, I woke up bright and early at 6:00, to find that my wonderful bestie Destiny, had coffee ready for me!

 

IMG_1198

What a wonderful hostess she is!

After gulping it down, I force-swallowed my pre-race breakfast:

IMG_1199

Flat out wrap, smushed banana, and almond butter – yum, yum! Then I started to get ready, and read some of your lovely blogs for inspiration! I was still feeling full and sluggish from all of Saturday’s meals!

We headed out around 7:45, but had plenty of time to spare, so we walked up and down the street where they had all of the tents and goodies for the runners:

IMG_1205IMG_1207

 

I was still pretty chilled at this point, so I bundled in my gloves and North Face to keep warm.

IMG_1203

Per usual, the hubski was a phenomenal race photographer!

Finally around 8:30, it was time to shed some clothes and get in some stretches:

IMG_1212IMG_1210

Look! Operation Beautiful!

IMG_1211

 

Brrrr:

 

IMG_1215IMG_1214

Ready:

IMG_1221

Set:

IMG_1217

GO!

The husband appreciates FLW homes, too, so he was snapping pictures of them and other sweet houses the whole time I was running:

IMG_1209IMG_1229       IMG_1223IMG_1224

IMG_1228

IMG_1232

Cool story about this house – Shane’s uncle used to be a caretaker in this one! And one time, he took a seed from this tree:

IMG_1227

and gave it to Shane, and now Shane has that tree growing up in the yard of his childhood home! Cool, huh? 😀

IMG_1229

Then he found me around mile 3!

 IMG_1225 IMG_1226

Around this time, I was running merrily along, listening to the Glee Soundtrack (I can see your halo, halo, halo!) I made sure not to take off to fast in the beginning, too. My first mile was at 9:30, and then I slowly decreased my time with each mile. The last one was under 9 minutes! I’m pretty sure I beat my first 10K of about 57 minutes, but I still have to check my chip time.

With the houses, the trees, architecture, and operation beautiful note, the whole race was absolutely beautiful to the very last leg:

IMG_1233

Smiling at the site of the finish sign: IMG_1234 IMG_1235 IMG_1236

I made it!!! They had awesome goodies right at the finish line – bananas, Trader Joe’s snacks, bagels, water, etc.. Made out like a bandit!

 IMG_1237   

Now we’re in the car on the way back home, and the lap tops about to die, and I’m about to take a little bitty car nap, so I hope you enjoyed the recap!

28 Responses

  1. Congrats on your race, so many beautiful pics of the neighborhood around.

  2. Haha I recently discovered the Glee soundtrack… I don’t watch the show but am in love with the music and was feeling totally lame for it, so I’m glad you like it too!!

    Beautiful houses!

    And of course CONGRATS on your awesome race!! Sounds like you did an awesome job, way to run those negative splits and you look so strong! Oh, and I love your purple top, is that the new one you got yesterday? It is super cute.

  3. What a great race, and good job with your negative splits! I love the FLW pics as well, and now, a well-deserved rest for you. Congrats!

  4. Congrats on a great race! That place looks beautiful 🙂

  5. What great pictures!! I feel like, vicariously, I was there too. How exciting. Congrats. I LOVE your race outfit. I’ll have to make a trip to Evanston. My niece knows where the lu lu lemon store is near her place.

  6. Awesome race Paige!!! The scenery does look fantastic. It’s always funny to look at the random shots my boyfriend takes at my races while he’s waiting for me to run by. He always likes to get action shots of the fastest racers! 😛

    Also, I’m with Pam – love that running shirt!

  7. YAY congrats on that!!! So happy for you 😀

  8. congrats on the race! what pretty scenery- the houses and the gorgy fall colors!

    yep, love that lulu top 🙂

  9. Loved this recap Paige! Sounds like a chilly, but totally fun race. Those buildings are all gorgeous… such amazing architecture! And that’s so neat about the seed. 🙂

    xxoo
    Heather

  10. CONGRATS! That is wonderful. Looks like a beautiful course

  11. what a lovely day for a race! great job, you looked really cute in your running gear 🙂

  12. Congrats on your race!! Looks like a beautiful day (although chilly!) Im loving your race outfit.. ya pink! 🙂

  13. Congrats on the race!! It looked like a gorgeous course!

  14. Looks like you had a beautiful day for a run! Congrats!!

  15. I love all the houses. Congrats on the run!

  16. Wooohoooo! Congratulations! Sounds like you had a great race, and still managed to enjoy the scenery. Awesome!

  17. Congratulations!! Looks like you had a good time, your outfit is adorable too!

  18. Looks like a nice race! Congrats on a great time!

    CJ

  19. congrats on the race! Sounds like it was a good one – it looks like such a fun one to run!

  20. Looks like it was a beautiful and fun race!! Wooo!!

  21. […] of working out in cold weather…you know how I said the Frank Lloyd Wright 10K I ran in this past weekend was going to be my last race of the season? Well, I didn’t know it […]

  22. […] class, I drove home, strapped on my running gear, and got ready to run for the first time since the race last Sunday. I took Niko for a warm-up walk, and then pounded out 5.01 miles in 47:20 with the following […]

  23. Hey, that’s some hot information you got there. I subscribed to your feed, hope to hear more soon!

  24. […] in my first 10K and then another one a month […]

  25. […] year I ran in the Frank Lloyd Wright 10K in Oak Park and it was absolutely […]

  26. […] ran this race last year, and it remains to be the most beautiful race I’ve ever done to date. What made it even more […]

Leave a Reply

