Push it Real Good!

Morning morning!

IIt’s Wednesday, so naturally, I’m beginning to think about the weekend (already) and I just realized how busy I will be! Here’s my schedule for this weekend:

Friday – work til 10:30, get hair cut and highlights at 11:15; Race for the Cure event from 6:00 – 11:00

Saturday – wake up bright and early to workout before going to a personal training workshop from 8:00 until noon, prepare for Halloween festivities

Sunday – Help Shane get ready to go to Chicago, go for an 8 mile run, go to a birthday dinner at 6:00

Whew! Busy, busy!

 

Last night after I left you all, I dashed upstairs to our work out room to get in a super quick 30 minute circuit training workout! 

I used my elliptical for the cardio parts, but if you’re at home,  but don’t have an elliptical, you can substitute elliptical (or treadmill or what have you) for jumping jacks, running in place, punches, dancing…anything that gets your heart rate up!

Push it 30 Minute Circuit Workout    

I started with a 5 minute warm up on the elliptical, then did this sequence…

  • 10 pushups
  • 30 crunches
  • 2 sets of 10 triceps dips

—-4 minutes on the elliptical at a high intensity—–

  • 10 pushups
  • plank, right side plank, left side plank
  • 2 sets of 10 triceps extension on each arm

—-3 minutes on the elliptical at a high intensity—-

  • 2 sets of 10 pec flies
  • 2 sets of 10 shoulder press

—90 second cool down on the elliptical—-

It was 30 minutes of sweaty glory! Oh, and I called it “Push it Circuit Training” because the strength training I chose to do focused mostly on push muscles (tri’s, chest, shoulders)

By the time I was done I was, of course, ravenous, and cooked myself up a yummy veggie burger:

IMG_1286IMG_1284IMG_1288

Love that Foreman. Sunshine veggie burger, portabella mushroom, sun dried tomatos, ketchup, spinach on an Arnold’s sandwich thin!

Alongside was some Trader Joe’s Tomato and Roasted Red Pepper bisque:

IMG_1287

Nom to the nom nom! Soooo good:D I’m going to miss this soup. Destiny, I will be back soon to get MOAR! 🙂

Hmm..just noticed I didn’t get in many veggies today – just what’s piled on here and what went in to this morning’s green monster. I’ll work on that;)

For Shane was a couple Monterrey jack and Swiss grilled cheeses, with some soup as well. We’re obsessed!

IMG_1285

Then it was off to class! Which, by the way went fabulously. We have a quiz this Thursday, so I need to get my rear in gear! I love the material, but I hardly have any time to study. So tonight after my run = studious Paige. We’re also covering the nutrition chapters, which I’m SUPER excited about. As you know, I’m pursuing a dietetics degree in the future, so this, as a little prologue, gets me goin! 😀

After learning about the movement of muscles, joints, and laws, I came home, showered up, and snuggled in on the couch to delete a few brain cells while watching the Hills (gotta balance it out with the brain cells I had just created in class, y’know)

I capped the night off by sipping on some delicious wine, and nibbled on some delicious dark chocolate:

IMG_1289

x’s 2. Of both 😉

And just because it made me gush, I’ll leave you with this picture. I looked over and saw Shane had fallen asleep on the couch, which doesn’t surprise me since he despises The Hills, but then a couple minutes later, Niko decided to use him as a bed:

IMG_1290

Side note: She’s been working on that bone for about 9 and a half months, now.

11 Responses

  1. That is one busy, fitness-y weekend you have ahead of you! I love your push it circuit. Circuit training is the best! I’m gonna try this one out 🙂

  2. Love all your muscle/workout terms in this post, you can tell you are learning a lot from that ACE book:)
    The sunshine burger/portabello combo looks amazing!

  3. Sounds like a great workout!! Hmm it’s only 9am and that glass of wine is lookin gooooooood! lol

  4. you have quite the schedule this weekend! so.. i FINALLY mailed your package today. haha. i have been so busy with the move! and then i realized that i left the card out. woops. so yeah, i fail. and there is totally something halloweeny in there, so i hope you get it before halloween.. but i guess it really doesn’t matter since it is for your kitty 🙂 i have been carrying it around in my car foreva!! but i am glad i finally got to the post office.

    anyway! i caught up on your posts and loved the bit about exercising in the cold. the only exercise i do outside in the winter is snowboarding, and i can be totally bundled up for that!

    as far as tofu goes, every time i make it i hate the way it tastes but i love eating it when i am at a restaurant.. so maybe there is hope for you as a vegetarian just yet!

    annnnd i love vino 🙂

    xo!

    • I totally understand about the package – you are one busy woman!! But I can’t wait to see what it is 😀 I guess I’ll have to try tofu in a restaurant…then ask their secret!

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. Niko- you are so freaking adorable! You keep working on that bone 😉 Great job on the fast and furious workout and a lovely quick din din! It does sound like you have a busy weekend ahead but its filled with lots of fun/healthy activities. Enjoy it 🙂

  6. Great workout! Niko is toooo cute!

  7. sounds like some good times ahead! I love being busy 🙂

    great workout! I love a short, high intensity workout to break up my usual running routine.

    red wine + dark chocolate = doesn’t get much better!

  8. […] zipped home, because I knew I wanted to put together another circuit workout using the “pull muscles” this time before heading off to […]

Leave a Reply

