Adventures in (fur) Baby-Sitting

If you still haven’t, update your readers! www.runningaroundnormal.com/feed

Good morning! Happy Time change day!! Or if you’re like me, I’m sorry for your loss…of daylight. Yes, I like springing ahead much more than falling back. That extra hour of sleep just might have been worth it. I have to drop off the hubski in an hour to his buddies so they can get up to Chicago for a Bear’s game!! I’m so jealous that I’m not going by the way. The only Bears game I’ve been to is in St. Louis:(

Yesterday morning, I was off to an early start as well!  I had to wake up and get ready for my four hour personal training class workshop, and I was and excited as a kid on her first day of kindergarten. Well…ya know, the ones that aren’t super duper sad to let go of mom’s leg. (ahem..like me..ahem.) Anyway, I was up here blogging up a storm, when Shane had hollered from downstairs that he cooked me eggs! My husband makes the best scrambled eggs! Or maybe mine are so crappy, his taste amazing. Either way, I was excited for the random breakfast:

IMG_1853 With some Ezekiel toast with TJ pumpkin butter and half White Chocolate Dreams. Just because it’s wrong to have toast without a nut butter!

IMG_1855

IMG_1854 

Then I was off to the gym class! Our workshop was at ISU’s rec center, and the entire four hours were spent doing assessment tests that we would do when we first get a client. We did things like cardio respiratory tests, muscular endurance tests, flexibility tests, body fat analysis tests, BMI tests, body measurement tests, blood pressure tests, and the list went on. In my opinion, it was very, very beneficial. Besides, our instructor absolutely rocks! 😀

I snapped a picture of the gym we did all of our work in:

IMG_1856

But then got too carried away in the work fun to remember to snap anymore. It was a lot of fun, and the people in the class are wonderful. If you plan on getting certified to be a personal trainer, I (so far) recommend taking a class on it first😀

After class, I drove home, strapped on my running gear, and got ready to run for the first time since the race last Sunday. I took Niko for a warm-up walk, and then pounded out 5.01 miles in 47:20 with the following splits:

Mile 1: 9:23

Mile 2: 9:13

Mile 3: 9:40

Mile 4: 9:33:

Mile 5: 9:26

I have to say, I am a wee bit sore in the calves this morning. It felt good to pound out some miles though. It was a cod, but sunny, run and it was good to get out and enjoy the fresh air!

I came home, showered and chugged an Amazing Meal Green Monster, and got prepared to (fur)baby-sit for the rest of the day! Can you guess who it is?!

If you said Arizona, you’re right!!

IMG_1872

The besties (she and Niko) ran and played and rough-housed the first couple hours non stop:

IMG_1875

They like to go under that table for some reason and bonk their heads. Who knows. Little brains, little brains.

Then she took a break to help me make Halloween Dog Treats!

IMG_1869 They were made out of pumpkin, eggs, whole wheat flour,natural peanut butter, and a little sea salt. Healthy treats make healthy pups!

IMG_1870  Yes, I realize what that looks like. It’s dough!! I promise!

IMG_1876

After they came out of the oven, I put some unsweetened carob chips on half.

IMG_1877IMG_1878IMG_1879

Aren’t they adorable?! and the dogs both LOVED them.

Since Niko gets a little sassy when other dogs are around her treats, I split them up to enjoy their Halloween Treats.

IMG_1880IMG_1883

Yum, yum! I then split the treats into three bags. One to take home with Arizona, one for Niko, and one for my parents’ dog.

IMG_1884

I split the recipe in half, so unless you plan on making a huge batch, I’d suggest the same.

Arizona kindly helped me with the dishes afterward.IMG_1874

And then they helped  pass out candy!!

IMG_1888 

Zona’s a pumpkin, and Niko, as you know, a witch. Te hehe! Shane and I decided to just stay in, watch the dogs, pass out candy, and watch movies while we all bundled up.

And to eat, we were craving Indian takeout!  Since they were out of Baigan Bhartha, the owner let me try two different menu items, and gave me one for free. I have absolutely no idea what they were called, but they’re good!

IMG_1891

Actually, this one wasn’t so good. I think it was peppers of some sort, but there were tons  of seeds in them! Yummy, but not as yummy as…

This spinach/tofu dish! Holy delicious! SO good. I even saved some for leftovers.

IMG_1890

With of course naan and a glass of red.

IMG_1889   I was very surprised that neither of the dishes contained meat (thankfully!) I didn’t even tell him I was a vegetarian! Maybe he assumed since I wanted eggplant? Oh well! Hopefully I’ll be able to explain myself enough to order the tofu dish again. Everyone who commented on my post about how tofu is not fo’ me was right! It is so good  when you eat it from a restaurant! Amazing!

I better get off of here so I can get Shane to his friends on time! Then I’m headed to the gym to meet my friend, Heidi for some cardio weights, and then perhaps a little Starbucks action afterward. Ohh yeah;)

14 Responses

  1. That gym look amazing! Sounds like an awesome workshop.

    Awww, the “besties” are just adorable!!! And how sweet of you to make them some delicious treats. Haha, yeah not the most appetizing-looking for humans, but I’m sure the dogs loved them!

    Hope Shane has a good time at the game!

    xxoo
    Heather

  2. Omg you are so cute with the dogs! I’ve always wanted to make dog treats (weird I know but it was my bf’s puppy’s bf last month). I love the idea of putting carob chips in!

  3. Those are doggy treats?! Aw you have lucky dogs 🙂

    And that indian dish looks amazing! I loooove baigan bhartha. it’s usually so spicy, which is my fave type of dish!

  4. Hi Paige! Your haircut looks great! I have a recipe for Palak Paneer if you want to try it 🙂 you can use tofu if you can’t find paneer.
    Have a great day!

  5. Oh my gosh- Arizona is soooo tiny. What a cutie! Glad the class and the run went well 🙂 I love going to fitness training sessions (I have a major 3 days one next weekend). Love love the idea of making puppy cookies- I have to get on this for the Frankster

  6. Yum Indian Food!!! What cute little puppers!!

  7. Wow, Amazing looking gym!! And how cute that you made doggie treats.. they look edible! lol
    Im obsessed with Indian food.. delicious and so flavorful!! 🙂

  8. Yay for doggie treats and doggie playtime. Love it!

  9. Yum! Are you sure that was tofu? I once made that mistake with Indian food – but it was an Indian dish of spinach with cubes of a mild cheese. Wonder if that’s what it was!?

  10. Sorry this is so late. I had a fun, busy day yesteday, so I just checked your blog. Keep up the good work with your class. I bet it will really help keep you focused with all the holiday temptations coming up.

  11. oooh! did you get saag paneer?? i love!

    the wedding i went to this weekend was all vegetarian and i learned a little more about paneer (which i thought was just cheese). apparently it’s more like cottage cheese tofu? (so tofu made of milk instead of soy?) and it makes it a little denser. SO yummy.

  12. […] might remember my friend, Missy’s new puppy, Arizona? Well poor AZ broke her paw last week, and she had to have surgery! Poor little pup is […]

Leave a Reply

