Moscato and Cado Love

I had myself a nice little Sunday yesterday! Shane’s friend ended up picking him up from the Bear’s game, so I took off to meet my friend Heidi at the gym. It’s super funny/cute, because she’s due with her first child in December, and her belly is getting SO big. She’s all belly though. I know a lot of people say that, but I honestly don’t think she’s gained an ounce anywhere else (perhaps busting her booty at the gym 8 months pregnant has something to do with that;)) Well, she had two people come up to her and ask her about 5 questions, then tell her just how awesome it is she was at the gym. I told her I thought that was so nice, and definitely a confidence booster. She then told me after hearing it multiple times at the gym every. single. day. it gets old. I can only imagine! I still think it’s cute though;)

Anyway, I got to the gym about 20 minutes before Heidi, so I did some strength training:

 

  • 3 sets of 15 lat pull downs
  • 3 sets of 15 bicep curls
  • 3 sets of 15 rows
  • 3 sets of 15 lower back extension

I can already feel the burn in my lats. Burn, baby, burn!

When Heidi got there, we did 50 minutes of cardio, split up between:

  • 20 minutes of the treadmill
  • 10 of the stairmill
  • 20 on the elliptical

Then it was Starbucks time!!! This is becoming quite the ritual of ours. I ordered a nonfat latte, and since I hadn’t eaten breakfast time, I figured it’d be the perfect time to try out one of their pumpkin scones!

(not my picture)

star

source

After we finished our coffee and scones, I drove across town to get a new light bulb for one of my headlights. Hubski tried replacing it for me last night, but he got the wrong side, so I went ahead and exchanged it out for the right one. After that excitement (ha) I went to Borders, and read a little bit of Alicia Silverstone’s new book, the Kind Diet.

Fun Fact: Did you know that carnivore’s intestines are much, much shorter than ours? It’s a reason she believes that humans weren’t supposed to eat meat in the first place. Because food is able to pass quickly through the short intestines, but spends a lot longer time getting digested and setting in longer intestines. Interesting, eh?

I’d like to buy this book soon, but for now, I just got Dreena Burton’s “Vive Le Vegan!”

IMG_1119

And as you can see, I also got her other book, Eat, Drink & be Vegan (thanks, mom and dad!) My parents’ got me that one, and came over today and gave it to me. I’m so excited to try out a recipe. And you can definitely expect a recipe from EDABV this week, per RAN dad’s orders! So far, my dad’s LOVED every healthy/vegan/gluten free dessert I’ve made him, so perhaps I’ll make a dessert in case I see them again next weekend!

So my dad watched the Bear’s game while my mom and I hit up Von Maur (duh) and Fresh Market. I got a beautiful sweater at VM, which I’ll post tomorrow, and a couple Christmas presents that went home with my madre.

At Fresh Market, we got tons of fresh fruit, and a couple desserts. I also got some sushi:

IMG_1118

Raw tuna-cado roll. Mmm, mm, mm!

IMG_1117  

My parents’ got Potbelly’s, but it was already 3, and I had to go to a birthday dinner at 6, so I stuck with something light. This worked perfectly!

I said my goodbyes to the parental unit, did a little housework, and was on my way to Biaggi’s for a birthday celebration! Celebration it was, indeed!

 

IMG_0881

Oh, moscato, d’asti. How I adore thee.

After I got back to the homefront, I kicked back, did a little leisurely reading (as opposed to homework reading – which is leisurely as well, I guess. But I digress..) and watched me some Desperate Housewives. Good epi btw 😉

 

IMG_1120

Now it’s time for some before-work-yoga! The candles are lit, and the room is filled with vanilla-lavender scent. Yogadownload, here I come:) I’m really getting to like this little ritual, by the way! It really sets the tone for the work day, and helps me to keep the calmness with me throughout the entire day. Love it:D

 

How was your weekend? Any good Halloween stories or any super cool costumes??

18 Responses

  1. Good for your friend to take care of herself when she is pregnant. I remember getting lots of comments when I walked up the stairs to my gym. Most people (pregnant or not) take the elevator…

    Your sushi looks great!

    Have a great week! 🙂

  2. I’ve heard a lot about the Kind Diet now… glad you added to the review! That sushi looks so yummy.

  3. Mmmmm your sushi looks awesome! Yeah I have been wanting to get the Kind Diet book too, it looks really good :). I wonder if she has a website…

  4. I love raw tuna. Yum.

  5. What do you think of New Rules of Lifting for Women so far? I did the whole 6-month training program last winter and LOVED it. It totally upped my weight lifting confidence at the gym and increased my strength by leaps and bounds. Even if you don’t want to commit to the program, I still recommend trying out the workouts! 🙂

  6. AAAAAAAhhhhhhhhhhhh sushiiiiiiiiiiiii… Me wants!

  7. So jealous you got Eat Drink & Be Vegan! Can’t wait to see what you make out of there 🙂

  8. mmm i love biaggis! and sushi. and i want both of those books~the lifting one and the cookbook. great picks!

  9. I’ve never tried sushi ever, but friends tell me I would love it if I gave it a chance. I do love Biaggis though.

    No Halloween stories this year; we only had three kids come to the door. Now I have two bags of my favorite candy in my house! Next year I’ll give them dollar bills and save myself some money and calories.

  10. ooh, I’m interested to hear what you think of the lifting book! and, of course, to see what you make from your new cookbooks 🙂

    my weekend was mellow, especially given the holiday. it was very enjoyable, though!

  11. Working out with a friend + Starbucks + sushi? Yep, perfect sunday 🙂

  12. Tuna rolls….my favorite. I think I need sushi ASAP! I worked out through my 7th month during my first pregnancy….I got weird looks all the time. Oh well. Good for her!

  13. Big yumm-o to the sushi! I definitely am missing sushi up here in the boonies. Also, I LOVE Moscato!! The best one I’ve tried so far is Sorocco Moscato, and I’ve only been able to find it at World Market. Highly recommend it!

  14. I need to try their pumpkin scone before the seasons over!

  15. I am DYING to get ED&BV!! So so jealous. Fresh Market sushi is pretty good, huh? I just made some pumpkin scones tonight–I’m milking this season of flavors!

  16. yum! tuna avocado and salmon avocado rolls are my faves…there’s just something about the avocado in a sushi roll that makes it so much better!

Leave a Reply

