If It Hatha be Monday…

Good morning! I can’t believe it’s already Monday again! And so the cycle re-starts. I just finished a wonderful Gentle Hatha yoga session to help bring me into the work week. I just love this little yoga habit I’ve gotten myself into 😀 If it hatha be Monday, might as well start it with peace and calmness.

I think I did pretty good with my back on track goals – I know I got in my fruits and veggies, and I definitely gave Niko her share of walkies. It was absolutely gorgeous out in central Illinois yesterday – with the temperature reaching 70 degrees!

I had plans yesterday morning to meet my friend, Heidi at the gym when I woke up. But first, I wanted to make the hubski some pancakes using some of Trader Joe’s pumpkin pancake mix I scored a few weeks ago:

 

IMG_1996IMG_1999

He gobbled them up as soon as I snapped a picture! I snagged a bite, too, and I must say, they’re quite delicious.

I however, wanted some toast and jam – the simple route. So I got out the whole wheat Great Harvest bread I got a couple days ago, and wrapped a couple pieces in tinfoil to toast in the oven.

IMG_1997

Slathered in black cherry jam, basking in they’re deliciousness, gym fuel:

IMG_2000 

Gym workout  cardio-wise was an easy 20 minutes of incline walking on the treadmill (didn’t want to over do it after my cardio party from Saturday) and the following full body workout:

Bicep curls: 2 sets of 12 @ 15 lbs.

Chest press: 2 sets of 12 @ 15 lbs.

Overhead tricep extension: 2 sets of 12 @ (one weight) 15 lbs.

Bent row: 2 sets of 12 @ 20 lbs.

Lat pull down: 2 sets of 12 w/ 45 lbs.

Pushups: 10

Squats: 2 sets of 12 w/ 2 15 lb. dumbbells

Roman Deadlift: 2 sets of 12 w/ 2 15 lb. dumbells

Crunches: 25 on stability ball

I was pretty beat and shaky after this workout, and needed to get some protein to these muscles, and I did just that. We drove over to Starbuckie’s where we each got a latte and chit chatted for about an hour. And made got some humor out of a few Starbuck’s go-ers who were just too cool for school. You know what I’m talking about! mahaha

Got some housework and odds and ends done, and then fried up some lunch.

Two egg, one egg white omelet, fried in butta, with tomato, yellow pepper, and spinach:

 

IMG_2001 Made with Free Range (and happy!) chicken’s eggs.

IMG_2002IMG_2004

Is it sad that my Great Harvest bread is almost gone? hehe

IMG_2003

Fueled and ready to learn, I set up shop for the rest of the afternoon for some studying:

IMG_2005

I have to learn these neurons, muscles, joints and tendons! ack!!

Oh, on an exciting note, I signed up for a CPR/AED course to be certified so I can sit for the fitness certification exam. Holla! Not so exciting: I sit for the exam the day after I get back from my cruise in December. Looks like someone will be toting around a study guide while basking in the sun. It’s a rough life, no? 😉

A little while into studying, I did not feel well at all. I felt tired (and even fell asleep,) weak, and lethargic. I’m pretty sure I was dehydrated. After all the workouts I did this weekend, I don’t think I took in enough fluids at all. Plus, I haven’t been making a conscious effort to drink lots of water lately. Don’t want to slack in that department! Perhaps I should add “drink more water” to the back on track list? 🙂

After several cups of this:

IMG_2006 And a couple other methods of hydration: IMG_2008

IMG_2010

IMG_2011

IMG_2009  

I felt quite better, and was able to finish my study time.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get all of it done that I wanted to (do we ever??) but it was then time for the last event of the hubski’s birthday weekend celebration! His fam and mine all got pizza from the best pizza place in this city:

IMG_0898

Lucca Grille – mmmm!

I didn’t take a picture, but I got what I get every. single. time. Veggie pizza with extra tomatoes. Yumtopia, my friends. Afterword, we all sat around and had a beer while we caught up – and a good time was had by all 😀

Time to go make some moneys –  off to that work place!

How was your weekend? Did you have awesome weather, too?! It seems like almost every blog I read this weekend mentioned something about the great weather!

19 Responses

  1. What a beautiful pomegranate, love them! I start my Monday around 6:30, but it’s still warm and nice here. Outside I go for a walk-run. Have a good work week:-D

  2. Beautiful pics!! Loving that pompegranate! I wanna go to that pizza place… looks super cute!! 🙂

  3. I love that TJ’s pumpkin pancake mix. So good!

  4. I’ll have to keep my eyes open for that pancake mix. Perfect for the season 🙂

    Good luck studying!

  5. I fell asleep while studying yesterday too! Guess I needed rest more than I needed to write that paper 😉

    That bread looks delicious!

  6. Mmm I’ve seen that pancake mix in the store and have been so tempted!! My weekend was Okay – nothing too exciting…it was just normal weather here. Glad it’s not freezing yet though!!

    Have a great Monday 🙂

  7. I have those bride & groom tumblers too!

  8. Still having good weather here, it’s so great!

    I love your bride cup 🙂

  9. Hmmm pancakes. 😀
    I’m glad you had a good weekend. Mine was pretty uneventful and it was cooold and rainy (on sunday) so I just stayed in. 🙂

  10. I did have great weather! It was lovely 🙂

    Your omelet looks professionally made – very impressive!

  11. i am pretty sure that is the most gorgeous pomegranate i have ever seen!

    no worries about falling asleep – i have been doing a lot of that lately too 🙂

  12. Love your pom pictures. And it was hatha monday for me too!

  13. I am embarrassed to admit, we had great weather this weekend too but I was so wiped out, I barely enjoyed it! I had one of the laziest weekends of my life. 🙂 Oops!

  14. I’m with ya! I’m about to head to yoga right now.

  15. yeah, we had nice weather here – but that’s kinda typical of los angeles…not that i’m complaining!!!

  16. I’ll have to try that pancake mix…..I’ve been putting Trader Joe’s pumpkin butter in my bisquick mix and it’s soooo good!

  17. It was warm where I live too, aw doesn’t it just make your day when it’s like that?
    pumpkin pancakes? yum!
    I’m learning about neurons at the moment as well in my physiology class..or at least supposed to be learning, haha I still couldn’t tell you what a golgi apparatus does..:)

  18. That omelet looks delicious. Surprisingly WalMart carries those eggs.. and if ever WalMart’s my only option for shopping, I can get those. 🙂

Leave a Reply

