Trainer Shadow with BOSU!

Mornin’ all! I went to bed with the intention of waking up and practicing some yoga like I did yesterday, but my body promptly said, “Paige, you need the sleep more, woman!” I couldn’t argue, so I let the dog out, and got back in my warm bed. I think it was right, because now I’m bright eyed and ready to go keep drinking coffee!

Last night I had my first trainer shadow! In my personal training class I’m taking through my local community college, our instructor let us know how important it is to build up some hours shadowing trainers before we sit for the exam. Well, yesterday after signing up for the CPR/AED certification class, I realized how quickly this was all coming to be!

The training session started at 6:00 at the Gold’s here in town. Luckily, I had met the trainer I was shadowing, Cathy, a couple weeks ago at a breast cancer awareness fundraiser. Cathy is super sweet and awesome at what she does!

We spent the hour doing a BOSU workout customized for her client. This client really loves to push herself – so it was very informative to watch and learn. Cathy also gave me some great tips, and answered any questions I had. The workout was a series of 8 different strength training moves involving the BOSU, but they also kept her heart rate super high:

base_media

 

 

The client did great, but you could tell the workout was booty kicking. Believe me, I tried a couple of the exercises and she didn’t go easy on her 😀

Overall it went great! I’ve never had a personal trainer myself, so I really had no clue what to expect. And guess what – it got me even more excited to pursue the field. 😀 They invited me back next week, and I can’t wait to go.

Dinner was random and haphazard, as was the my entire day of eating. I was an insatiable being yesterday! And I kept craving sugar and carbs! Tis that time o’ the month, so it’s expected a little bit, but it was outta control! I’ll just say it involved several of these:

IMG_0900

 

It’s weird, because usually I don’t have “bad” eating days where I feel out of control. I typically don’t even think about it. Sure I’ll overeat or maybe splurge on a sweet now and then, but I rarely consider it a “bad eating day.” I probably shouldn’t even consider today one, because it’s not good – mentally – to do so, but I can’t explain it except that my willpower was definitely MIA today.

Since I had my trainer shadow at 6, I decided to split dinner up into two parts. Before I went to shadow Cathy, I made a quick veggie wrap in a flat out with some sabra:

IMG_2014IMG_2015IMG_2016

Hummus, tomato, yellow pepper, broccoli, portabella, and spinach. Twas an amazing creation. I’m definitely hoping all those nutrients keep this sickness that’s coming on to me very, very mild. Usually my body is pretty good at that…but we’ll see.

When I got home, I had the second half of dinner:

IMG_2018IMG_2017

Some greek yog with some zucchini bread (aka the best nut bread EVER – found at Fresh Market.)

Other Cool and Exciting Stuff:

We are going on our cruise is in less than a month! How in the world is it almost mid-November!? Where was I? Anyway, the hubski and I met over lunch and finally to pick out the excursions we are going to do at each island. Since we both love to be as active as possible on vacations, some of the fun we’re getting into include are:

  • Snuba diving
  • A bus tour of Belize
  • Snorkeling in the Great Barrier Reef
  • Touring the mayan ruins

I need to start packing asap! I’ve already got out the bins for summer clothes, and I need to get crackalackin’! Now if only I could find a few more hours a day. Anyone have any they want to lend me? No? hehe

Also, did I tell you guys I’m running in a 5K this weekend? It’s the 5K Jingle Bell Run for Arthritis.       I know I said my last race was the last one of the year, but I unknowingly lied. I got a group of girlfriends to join the Jingle Bell Run for Arthritis this Sunday! I’m super excited. I’m not sure that I’m going to set a goal… I haven’t been doing too much speed work for it, so I don’t want to set myself up for disappointment. Who knows though – I just might surprise myself 😀

Have a happy Tuesday, everyone!

Have you ever worked with a personal trainer? What was your experience like?

12 Responses

  1. That cruise sounds awesome!
    I loved the personal trainer I had before I moved to the UK. I saw him twice a week for ages. He really knew how to push me without being arrogant. I really miss having a PT.

  2. I’ve never had a PT, but there are two at my club. The guy is really nice and understanding, but the girl seems a bit like she could sub in on The Biggest Loser!
    You’ll have to take lotsa pics on that trip including what they have for working out for us stay-fit-wherever folks.

  3. I am a trainer! I’ve worked out with other trainers before that I worked with and I love it. Especially BEING a trainer. After I’d train 10-15 a day, I’d already feel like I worked out. It was nice to have someone else there for me. 🙂

  4. A cruise to Belize sounds like so much fun! I’m a bit jealous. You have to let us know how snuba diving is! I want to learn to scuba this year but snuba’s probably a lot cheaper and easier.

  5. Your cruise sounds like so much fun!!! That’s something I definitely want to do someday…

    Good call on shadowing a trainer, best way to learn about a job before you start doing it (plus, it looks great on a resume). I’ve never had a trainer session before, but I’ve been really tempted since joining a new gym. I’m just scared I’ll get some jerk who just throws me on the curl machine and won’t push me or teach me anything new!

  6. I’ve never worked with a trainer, although I secretly want to.. Do you like the Brown Cow Greek yogurt? I just found the plain in my grocery store and I really like it!

    Btw, I’m glad you stopped by my blog! 🙂

    ( http://www.joelygolightly.wordpress.com )

  7. OOOH a cruise.. how fun. YA for you guys. You’ll have to take lotsa pics 🙂 🙂

  8. That’s so cool that you got to shadow a trainer! Sounds like fun!

  9. What a great experience with the trainer! I’ve never been to one personally, but it would be fun to try it out for a few sessions!

    Sounds like you have a great cruise in store for you! I went on West Caribbean cruise almost 2 years ago and Belize was definitely my favorite stop. I would REALLY reccomend doing a “Beach Day” at one of your stops… the beaches are seriously AMAZING!

    xxoo
    Heather

Leave a Reply

