Fiesta, Fiesta!

Hola blogitos! Happy Thursday, and happy actual birthday to my wonderful husband, Shane! He turns the big 2-8 today!

Yesterday I decided to leave work a couple hours early to get some stuff taken care of. Since last night was my only free night, I wanted to make use of it! After I left, I stopped by the store to get some last minute birf day goodies. I also got some Kombucha in a new flavor (to me)

IMG_2047 

I can honestly say I like the flavor of this stuff now! Shane, not so much. I asked him if he wanted to try, not letting him know what it was. His face was priceless. Muahaha. I’m evil.

Getting off work early also allowed me to get in an amazing workout. I wanted to incorporate strength training, cardio, and yoga, and I only had about an hour and a half. I also wanted my yoga to be hot. So I went in to the office where I do my yoga, turned on the space heater, and went to the workout room.

In our “gym” I did the following:

  • 15 minutes @ high intensity on the elliptical
  • 1 set of 12 bent rows
  • 1 set of 12 bicep curls- repeat both sets (of strength training)
  • 10 mins @ high intensity on elliptical
  • 1 set of 12 rows with band
  • 1 set of 12 chest press with dumbells – repeat both sets of strength training
  • 10 mins@ high intensity on elliptical
  • 1 set of 12 posterior delt fly
  • 1 set of 10 push ups – repeat both sets
  • 5 minutes @ high intensity on elliptical
  • planks and side planks – 3 each for 20 seconds
  • 2 minute cool down on elliptical

By then the office was nice and toasty, and I proceeded to do a wonderfully windy-bendy heart-opening 20 minute session.

I was drippy and content when I finished 😀

Since I’ll be busy with class all night tonight, Shane and I decided to go out to eat for his birthday tonight. His choice – Fiesta Ranchera.

IMG_2050

Fiesta Ranchera is a Mexican restaurant with chains around central Illinois. It’s safe to say it’s Shane’s absolute favorite.

We started out with margaritas and chips n’ salsa, per the ush.

 

IMG_2051

Don’t worry, the kombucha negated any negative effects the marg had on me 😉

I went with the veggie fajitas which were absolutely glorious! Look at the mix of color on my veggie plate!

IMG_2053 IMG_2054

Add some guac and tortillas, and I had myself a scrumptious little meal 😀 We both had a good time and had happy bellies full or margs and mexican when we got home.

Then it was time to do one last thing for the husband’s birthday. His most favorite cookie in the WORLD is an oatmeal scotchie cookie. It’s a very simple cookie – oatmeal and butterscotch chips. Nothing fancy – just make oatmeal cookies and fold in the chips before stickin’ them in the hot box.

 

IMG_2058

So I made up a batch for him as a surprise. You probably know by now we work at the same company (he’s directly four floors above me.) So I’m going to make sure I leave a few minutes before he does, so I can stick these on his desk as a last minute birthday surprise:

 

IMG_2057 

These cookies sure are phenomenal…but I made them, so I know how…not healthy they are, and it kinda turns me off, so I didn’t leave any for myself, haha (read one whole stick-a butta – said in appropriate Paula Dean fashion.)

So instead, I have this little surprise waiting for me in the fridge.

IMG_2055

Breakfast cookie!! Except it’s not really surprise, ‘cause I made it, and didn’t forget it’s in the fridge, haha 😉

What’s in it?

Pumpkin carob raisin breakfast cookie:

1/2 c. oats

1/4 c. pumpkin

1 T. flax meal

1 T. carob chips

1 T. golden raisins

Then top with pumpkin butter goodness. Best combo I’ve had. I always come back to it lately. LOVE it!

 

Well I’m going to go devour said breakfast cookie. See you all tomorrow! Have a wonderful Thursday!

What’s the most creative thing you’ve done for a significant other’s birthday?

22 Responses

  1. Hmmm…I surprised two relatives by driving… one time to Toluca and another time to Chicago for a few hours of special birthday celebrations. No drinking and driving back in the same evening, now that’s a sacrifice! Then, I think a few surprise birthday cars for my two kids could be included as special:-)

    I’m going to try a veggie fajita next time we Fiesta. Your picture looks awesome.

    Happy 28th Shane!!

  2. awwwww Happy Birthday to Shane! Very sweet of you to bake him up some cookies. Those veggies look awesome- our mexican restaurants make nothing that looks that FRESH. Still haven’t tried the Kombucha….

    YES- Body Attack is an INCREDIBLE workout. Let me know if you take it 😉

  3. Happy bday to your hub!! 🙂 Amd what’s wrong with sticks of butter?? I love ’em!! 🙂

  4. Great dinner. Happy bday to your main squeeze!

  5. Hope Shane has a lovely birthday. I’m sure those cookies will help 🙂
    To be fair I’d choose your breakfast over the cookies, it looks amazing.
    Creative present – I made my sister a pair of pyjama shorts when she was about 12. She was tiny and they were about 5 sizes to small for her. I have not sewed since then.

  6. that bfast cookie looks AMAZING!
    thank you for the shout out 😀
    have a wonderful day ❤

  7. Aww happy birthday to hubby!! Hope he enjoyed his cookies (I’m sure!). Your pumpkin breakfast cookie looks fab – I still need to try that combo.

    Have a wonderful day!!

  8. Happy Birthday to him!!!

    I love oatmeal cookies with butterscotch – they’re the best 🙂

  9. happy bday to shane! looks like a yummy mexican meal. i always get the fajitas! seems to be the healthiest (is that possible) option at mexi places. great cookies and great workout! not that it is creative, but once i scoured the internet for 3 months trying to find marshall’s fave pumas that were no longer being made. i did end up finding them and it was a happy bday for sure! have a great dayyyy

  10. Happy bday to your husband! 🙂
    I’ve never had a breakfast cookie but they do look awesome. My warm oatmeal is just so good right now that it’s a bit colder 😀

  11. Awww, you are such a good wife with the cookies! They sound amazing! And HAPPY BIRTHDAY to Shane. 🙂

    I LOVE that Synergy flavor. I think it’s better to start with the more “normal” berry-like flavors, then start trying the more unique ones once you’re used to the taste. I am absolutely addicted!

    xxoo
    Heather

  12. Mmmm I love butterscotch. Happy Birthday to Shane! Looks like you made it great for him!

  13. Happy Birthday to the hubby!
    Mmmm Mexican is my fave!

  14. Happy Birthday Hubster!

    I’ve only tried Komboucha once–I’m not sure when I’ll muster the courage to try it again 🙂

  15. Sounds like your husband had a very “sweet” birthday! The most creative thing I did was take my husband to London and celebrate his bday on a Thames boat cruise. It was so romantic and fun, albeit a little touristy 😉

  16. oh how I just adore waking up to a nice breakfast cookie in the am.

    sounds like a great workout at the gym too!

  17. Happy birthday to Shane! Your veggie fajitas and cookies look so yummy!

  18. Hi there! I’m a new commenter, but not a new reader. As I finish up my first semester of being a student again, I am trying to connect with as many people as I can who are also studying dietetics or are already in the field.

    You were sweet to make your hubby’s favorite cookies. It’s the simple things like that that make birthdays special.

    By the way…your cruise and trip to Belize sound amazing! My husband and I go every year!

Leave a Reply

