The Dessert of Yoga

Good morning! I’m still waking up – *yaawwwn.* I have to be at the gym from 8-12 today for class. I’m super pumped because today we’re actually diving head first into the equipment (not literally, ow) and doing some workouts! Hooray 😀

Like every other Friday spent running around like a crazy person, yesterday was no different. Right after I got off work, I had to go to Target to a gift for a baby shower I’m going to today after class. After Target, I just kept of driving to a couple other various stores…Sam’s, Von Maur, Fresh Market…

and came with this!

IMG_2089

It’s more than it looks. Oh, and see that 3 pack of DiGornio pizzas? Well, ever since I’ve been busy and gone about every night, I don’t have time to cook dinner for Shane and I about 3 or 4 of the 5 nights. He always says, “oh, I’ll fix something myself.” However, “fix something” to my husband (God bless him) means either a.) sticking in microwave or b.) sticking in oven – aka frozen. Before I just had Amy’s burritos or veggie frozen veggie meals, but now he has himself three 3-meat pizzas to go to town on.

Some highlights of the haul:  IMG_2090 IMG_2091 After putting the groceries away, I made a wonderfully nutritious lunch:

 

IMG_2092 IMG_2093 IMG_2094  Zucchini, tomato, and carrots, which I then topped with Annie’s Goddess dressing. Yum yum 😀

It was my turn to bring dessert to Bunco that I had last night, and I decided to be brave, and try a recipe I haven’t tried before out of Vive le Vegan!’>Vive le Vegan!:

IMG_2104

Peanut Butter Bars!!

 

Started with the dry, base layer:

 

IMG_2096

And then made the middle peanut butter layer:

IMG_2097  And chilled, before adding…IMG_2100

the CHOCLATE layer!!!

IMG_2101IMG_2102IMG_2103

While the bars were cooling, it was time for me to twek it out! I didn’t have much time to play with, so I did an easy breezy 35 minutes on the elliptical while watching Keeping Up with the Kardashians: Wedding Special, while I heated up my yoga studio of an office as high as the space heater would go. It was wonderous! It was the first time in a loooong time where I’ve felt that “outside of body experience” during yoga. I ended up with a heavenly shavasana, aka the dessert of yoga, and then got dinner ready before I left for Bunco night! (aka Wine-o night)

Part of dinner was a recipe from Dreena Burton’s Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan 😀 (Don’t expect to stop seeing her name soon by the way.)

Autumn Puree

I cooked a sweet potato until soft, and then put it in the food processor, along with Thursday night’s butternut squash,with some other secret ingredients you can access if you happen to own this cookbook.

IMG_2106

Then I took out a portion for me, added brown sugar (Shane’s crack) and set it aside for Shane.

IMG_2107

While the sweet potato was baking, I also had some cod baking in the oven, which I marinated in some Saucy Mamaaa sauce:

IMG_2105

Perfect meal!! Delicioso to the max.

IMG_2108

 

(Remember – I’m in a vegetarian transition – not quite 100% yet, but it’s the first time I’ve had fish in a long time.)

Then I left for Bunco, which I was late for, of course (can I ever leave the house not running towards the door?!) I didn’t win any money, but I did get an ab workout in from laughing so hard. While consuming Moscato d’Asti. Good times, good times. Oh, and the bars were a hit!! There were NONE left – NONE! I let on that they weren’t so bad for you, and the girls loved it. Plus, there was a vegan there who I got to introduce to Dreena Burton’s cookbooks! I said go to Borders, pick up off of shelf, buy, cook.

I’ll leave you with our first Christmas decoration put up today:

 

IMG_2112

 

This is probably my favorite decoration of ours. Shane and I love Christmas, but we don’t have gobs upon gobs of decorations out every year. We are kind of minimalists when it comes to interior decorating.

 

Off to class! See you tomorrow with a recap of training, baby showers, and dinner out!

How was your start to the weekend? Have anything fun coming up today or tomorrow? I have a race on Sunday – a 5K, and I can’t decide if I want to run it for fun or run it to get a PR. I’m running it with a group of girlfriends, so I’m leaning towards fun, but I keep going back and forth! We’ll see 😀 Have a fab day!

9 Responses

  1. I don’t know where you find time to do all you do!! Reading about your Friday burns vicarious calories.

    We went to our friends’ place in Morton, got Chinese food for the gals and pizza for the guys, played ping pong, and played a new board game called THINGS. Fun game, and we got home about 11:30! That’s late for us old folks.

    Good luck with the race…I hope the weather turns out better than usual for Illinois:-)

  2. Oh wow those peanut butter bars look amazing!

  3. Haha, peanut M&Ms sound like the perfect decoration to me 😉 And those PB bars look diviiiine! Have fun with the machines today. I’ve already put in an 8-hour work day (ugh) but I’m off to celebrate being off with a run! Good luck on the 5k tomorrow too! 🙂

  4. Have a wonderful time at your class today! I can’t wait to hear how it went.

    I’ve never seen those Voskos greek yogurts before! I definitely request a review on them! 🙂

    The bars look FABULOUS… what a great cookbook! And you know I love my sweet potato and squash.

    xxoo
    Heather

  5. All your food looks amazing. the autumn puree looks & sounds amazing. And I love your pretty and colorful salad. And I would love a peanut butter bar, please! 🙂

  6. They make almond M&Ms?!?! Yum!
    I have a cross country race tomorrow. We’re having gail force winds here so I’m just hoping to survive it 🙂
    Enjoy your race!!

  7. Those are VERY good looking eats. Your autumn puree looks fantastic. I should make something like that tomorrow… hm.

  8. […] won’t eat tortured animals, but I’ll eat products that contain their byproducts (unfortunately, almond mnm’s are not vegan. hmph.) So I thought I’d jump on board with the other bloggers who are taking up the challenge of […]

Leave a Reply

