I Can Save Your Life

Morning bloggies! You’re looking at a newly certified CPR/AED…er!

IMG_2185

 

I can save yo life. More on that later 😀

Today is my last of the crazy days I have this week, that goes from 6:30 in the morning until 9:00 at night. I don’t know what I’ll do next week when I get home from work/gym and don’t have to go anywhere else! I have to say, as much as I wine, I don’t mind being busy, and I kind of work best in that environment. (I know I’ll come to regret that statement, btw ;))

Surprised at the ease of being Vegan for a Day on Tuesday, I was a little apprehensive about delving right back into dairy yesterday. Alas, the apprehension didn’t last, and I consumed some half and half in my coffee and this little gem of a cottage cheese snack:

IMG_2090

 

Then blamed my cough/runny nose on it. Heh. The cottage cheese was actually very delicious! It didn’t have too much sweetness to it at all – a bonus in my opinion.

After chipping away at some work I need to have done by Thanksgiving, Shane and I went out for lunch to one of my favorite local restaurants for lunch, Skewers:

IMG_0923

Skewers has amazing food at great prices, and is only about 5 minutes away from work.

We each started with a salad. Pretty good for a restaurant salad – not too much nutritionally devoid lettuce, so that’s a bonus. The house dressing was super yummy to boot!

IMG_0924

For the entrée, I went with my ush – the avocado veggie burger. Mmm. They make it with fresh veggies and beans, and it’s the best veggie burger I’ve tasted probably.

IMG_0926

The husband decided on a po boy sandwich. He cannot resist any type of po boy sandwich ever. Look how pretty it came out!

IMG_0925

We got in and out and back to work in less than an hour, which was nice. However, whenever I go out for lunch, it’s always SO hard to make it back to work. Luckily, I didn’t stuff myself, so at least I had that advantage.

After work, I made a quick trip to el Fresh Market and Naturally Yours to pick up some essentials:

IMG_2177IMG_2179

Plus some crackbucha, and some dinner

IMG_2178IMG_2180

IMG_2182 IMG_2181

Brown rice sushi that about knocks my head off = a good way to take the edge off of a long Wednesday, because, directly after consuming, I jetted over to a local health care facility to take CPR/AED training!

Thankfully, there were two other girls who have very fun personalities at the class. Oh, and per husbands rules, I “didn’t go CPR-ing any mens (such a cheese)” and walked out certified for CPR/AED. Holla! I actually enjoyed the class, and take very seriously the concept of saving someone’s life through CPR. The class actually ended an hour short, which was fine with me because I had someone special waiting for me!!!!

I raced home, because my bestie, Destiny was there waiting for me!! Her train came in from Chicago around 7:30, and because I have an alright husband, he agreed to pick her up for me and take her to our house. I immediately opened a bottle of red to drink as we caught up:

IMG_2188

Cheers to girlfriends!

 I love this girl! Do you want to know why she’s a bestie? Well, THIS is why:

IMG_2190

OK, and other reasons, like waking up at the ass-crack of dawn to watch me run my first 10K. She knows Shane and I are OBSESSED (as is she) with this TJ’s soup, so she brought some down from Chicago for us. She knows thy way to my heart. Haha..and I was just saying yesterday at work how awesome it’d be if she happened to bring some with her.

Destiny has also recently gotten into yoga a lot lately (she actually was the one who inspired me to pick it back up) and she gets yoga journals and mags, and brought me one 😀

             IMG_2191 Thanks, love! Sadly, she was only able to stay for a short time before she had to head to her ma’s. No worries, though, a full-fledged girls’ night with her and another bestie, Kim, is being held on Friday 😀 And I can’t wait.

Other bloggie news:

  • Tomorrow is Vegan for a Day day!! For more information, visit Michelle or Katy’s blog. I am going to go ahead and do it again, because as I said, it was easier than I thought! Although, I’m not sure how easy it would be to be vegan every day, I’ll definitely give another day a go! It would take some hard work, dedication, and creativity – that’s for sure!

 

  • Katie, from Vita-Mix, emailed me about a contest Vita-Mix is hosting, called “Pitch Me!”image001

Pitch me is “a national video competition to discover the next great Vita-Mix TV demonstration star. The winner, voted on by the public and chosen by Vita-Mix, receives a Grand Prize of $10,000 and may star in upcoming Vita-Mix television commercials and web-based videos.Vita-Mix will air highly-rated submissions on national commercials, to drum up support for the leading videos and further publicize the contest. Vita-Mix is offering over $20,000 in total prizes including the single Grand Prize of $10,000 cash.”

          And for readers who don’t own a vita-mix, I asked Katie what options there were: As part of the promotion, you can do a no-risk 30 day trial of the Vita-mix 5200 to use to create and submit your video! For more     details on the contest, click here.

 

 

 

Are you more productive when you have a packed-to-the-max schedule? Or do you thrive in a calmer environment with more free time?

13 Responses

  1. I love brown rice sushi!

    Skewers looks fun.. what a cool name for a restaurant. lol 🙂

    I do better when my schedule is packed BUT I wish it wasnt.. I would love a “down day”!!

  2. I do way better when I am busy busy busy. Better organization and time management.

  3. I have a packed schedule today, and I do think I get more done when I am very busy. When I have lotsa time, I waste most of it. And yes, I whine too when I’m ultra busy:-)

    I also whine when it rains for four days in a row! I hope it’s nice and sunny out for our fun Friday coming up soon.

  4. Yay for getting certified! The CPR thing was always so boring and I’d put it off til the last minute. But we need it!! 🙂

  5. Congrats on the certification!

    I’m WAY more productive when I’m busy. If I have a lot of free time I tend to just lay around and do nothing.

  6. Congrats for getting certified! I am more productive when I have a packed-schedule. I’ve been that way ever since I did sports in school. I got higher grades when I was participating. I just lay around otherwise. 🙂

  7. 1. I love a good veggie burger, but they’re pretty tough to come by!

    2. I just bought that soup for the first time this weekend and now I’m so excited to try it!

  8. congrats girl! I did CPR training about a year ago, and it’s a great feeling to know you kind of know what to do in an emergency 🙂

    have fun with your bestie!!!always a good time.

  9. I love reading Yoga Journal

  10. That’s awesome that you’re certified! Good skill to have.

    Yay for bestie time 🙂

  11. hey hey hey! i just caught up on SEVEN of your posts.. phew. took a chuck of time but i am glad i did.. highlights? your chili you made, wowww.. and niko in the PBoikos hahahah.. and sorry about the kitty claw catastrophe! hope you are having a great day paige!

  12. OH…..I definately thrive in a calmer environment!! Right now …. I am drinking some vino…listening to jazz and sitting by the fireplace!! That is pure relaxation to me:)

  13. Yay! Congratulations on being certified!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

